DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODAKA EP Publication No. EP 3975049 cited by Applicant.
Re Claim 1, ODAKA discloses an anisotropic conductive film comprising:
a solder particle that is a non-eutectic alloy or an eutectic alloy;
and a thermoplastic resin, and a viscosity of the solder particle at a solidus temperature is 1,000 to 100,000 Pa*s (P24, P29, P30, P31, , P38, P41, P43, P52, P59-60, P77-P78. .
ODAKA fails to disclose wherein an area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%,
ODAKA discloses Insufficient blending amount of the solder particles will degrade the conductivity, and excessive blending amount of the solder particles will make adhesive force insufficient and tend to degrade the insulation property (P45).
ODAKA discloses materials a polyamide-/polyester-type thermoplastic binder having a density of about 1.1 g/cm³ and an Sn-Bi solder having a density of about 8.5 g/cm³, the solder volume fraction corresponding to D1's mass ratio is given by:
A volume fraction = (m_solder / p_solder) / [(m_solder / p_solder) + (m_binder /
p_binder)].
Applying this formula to D1's preferred mass ratios per 100 parts by mass of
binder gives:
ODAKA more preferred mass by binder gives more preferably 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder at 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA more preferred lower bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 9.4%; at 300 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA’ s more preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 28%; at 500 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, corresponding to ODAKA’s broader preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 39%.
ODAKA further discloses discloses that the average particle diameter of the solder particles is preferably 70% or more, more preferably 80% or more, and still more preferably 95% or more of the thickness of the conductive particle-containing hot-melt adhesive sheet (P47), the plan view area ratio of the solder particles is of the same order as the calculated volume fraction . Thus ODAKA discloses that the area ratio of approximates 9 to 20% and ODAKA’s preferred range extends the working region up to approximately 39%. Which lies within the claimed range 8 to 50 percent. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention for the area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art , discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alier, USPQ 233.
Re Claim 2, ODAKA discloses a method for producing an electronic component, the method comprising: interposing an anisotropic conductive film that comprises a solder particle that is a non-eutectic alloy or an eutectic alloy, and a thermoplastic resin, and has a viscosity of the solder particle at a solidus temperature of 1,000 to 100,000 Pa*s between an opaque first electronic component and an opaque second electronic component; and bonding the first electronic component and the second electronic component by hot press-bonding (P4, P6, P16, P20, P24, P29, P30, P31, , P38, P41, P43, P52, P59-60, P77-P78).
ODAKA fails to disclose wherein an area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%,
ODAKA discloses Insufficient blending amount of the solder particles will degrade the conductivity, and excessive blending amount of the solder particles will make adhesive force insufficient and tend to degrade the insulation property (P45).
ODAKA discloses materials a polyamide-/polyester-type thermoplastic binder having a density of about 1.1 g/cm³ and an Sn-Bi solder having a density of about 8.5 g/cm³, the solder volume fraction corresponding to D1's mass ratio is given by:
A volume fraction = (m_solder / p_solder) / [(m_solder / p_solder) + (m_binder /
p_binder)].
Applying this formula to D1's preferred mass ratios per 100 parts by mass of
binder gives:
ODAKA more preferred mass by binder gives more preferably 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder at 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA more preferred lower bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 9.4%; at 300 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA’ s more preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 28%; at 500 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, corresponding to ODAKA’s broader preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 39%.
ODAKA further discloses that the average particle diameter of the solder particles is preferably 70% or more, more preferably 80% or more, and still more preferably 95% or more of the thickness of the conductive particle-containing hot-melt adhesive sheet (P47), the plan view area ratio of the solder particles is of the same order as the calculated volume fraction . Thus ODAKA discloses that the area ratio of approximates 9 to 20% and ODAKA’s preferred range extends the working region up to approximately 39%. Which lies within the claimed range 8 to 50 percent. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention for the area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art , discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alier, USPQ 233.
Re Claim 3, ODAKA discloses the method for producing an electronic component according to claim 2, wherein the electronic component is a dual interface card (P13).
Re Claim 4, ODAKA discloses the method for producing an electronic component according to claim 2, wherein the first electronic component is a biometric sensor (P13).
Re Claim 5, ODAKA discloses a card laminate, comprising: a first electronic component; a second electronic component; a base substrate having the second electronic component disposed (P13) ; and an anisotropic conductive film that comprises a solder particle that is a non-eutectic alloy or an eutectic alloy, and a thermoplastic resin, and has a viscosity of the solder particle at a solidus temperature of 1,000 to 100,000 Pa*s, wherein the first electronic component and the second electronic component are bonded by the anisotropic conductive film.
(P4, P6, P16, P20, P24, P29, P30, P31, , P38, P41, P43, P52, P59-60, P77-P78).
ODAKA fails to disclose wherein an area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%,
ODAKA discloses Insufficient blending amount of the solder particles will degrade the conductivity, and excessive blending amount of the solder particles will make adhesive force insufficient and tend to degrade the insulation property (P45).
ODAKA discloses materials a polyamide-/polyester-type thermoplastic binder having a density of about 1.1 g/cm³ and an Sn-Bi solder having a density of about 8.5 g/cm³, the solder volume fraction corresponding to D1's mass ratio is given by:
A volume fraction = (m_solder / p_solder) / [(m_solder / p_solder) + (m_binder /
p_binder)].
Applying this formula to D1's preferred mass ratios per 100 parts by mass of
binder gives:
ODAKA more preferred mass by binder gives more preferably 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder at 80 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA more preferred lower bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 9.4%; at 300 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, equivalent to ODAKA’ s more preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 28%; at 500 parts of solder per 100 parts of binder, corresponding to ODAKA’s broader preferred upper bound, the solder volume fraction is approximately 39%.
ODAKA further discloses that the average particle diameter of the solder particles is preferably 70% or more, more preferably 80% or more, and still more preferably 95% or more of the thickness of the conductive particle-containing hot-melt adhesive sheet (P47), the plan view area ratio of the solder particles is of the same order as the calculated volume fraction . Thus ODAKA discloses that the area ratio of approximates 9 to 20% and ODAKA’s preferred range extends the working region up to approximately 39%. Which lies within the claimed range 8 to 50 percent. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention for the area ratio of the solder particle is 8 to 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art , discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alier, USPQ 233.
Re Claim 6, ODAKA discloses the card laminate according to claim 5, wherein the first electronic component is a biometric sensor (P13).
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876