DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception unit”, “detection unit” in claims 1-2, 5, 11, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11, and 13 limitation “reception unit” and “detection unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim nor no association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US 2019/0149562 A1) (Maeda hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses a relay device that, in an in-vehicle network to which a plurality of in-vehicle devices are connected, relays frames among the plurality of in-vehicle devices, the relay device comprising:
a reception unit configured to, in a case where an unauthorized frame is detected by an in-vehicle device among the plurality of in-vehicle devices, receive a request to start detecting an unauthorized frame from the in-vehicle device (Fig. 3, frame transmission/reception unit 310; [0082], [0165] – [0167]; the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 receives a message from the frame processing unit 350), and
a detection unit capable of executing detection processing that detects an unauthorized frame among frames transmitted over the in-vehicle network, wherein in a case where the request to start is received by the reception unit in a stopped state in which the detection processing is stopped, the detection unit transitions from the stopped state to an executing state in which the detection processing is executed (([0082], [0091] – [0092], [0168] – [0170], [0198]; the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 that has received the message used various types of determining functions, such as ID determining function and so forth, to determine whether that message is an attack message or a normal message ... by the communication pattern determining unit 375).
Regarding claim 2, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the relay device is connected to a plurality of communication lines constituting the in-vehicle network (Fig. 1, the onboard network system 10 is configured of a CAN network, and includes ECUs 100), and the detection unit takes frames transmitted on a communication line, among the plurality of communication lines, to which the in-vehicle device that transmitted the request to start is connected, as a subject of the detection processing (Fig. 3, the gateway 300 includes a frame transmission/reception unit 310, a frame interpreting unit 320, a reception ID determining unit 330, a reception ID list storing unit 340, a frame processing unit 350, a transfer rule storing unit 360, an unauthorized activity detection processing function group 370, and a frame generating unit 380).
Regarding claim 3, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the request to start includes specifying information specifying a communication line, among the plurality of communication lines, to which the in-vehicle device that has detected the unauthorized frame is connected (Fig. 6, the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 requests the communication pattern determining unit 375 for determination of whether or not the received message matches the communication pattern of an attack message).
Regarding claim 4, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the request to start includes a result of detecting the unauthorized frame by the in-vehicle device ([0082], the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 determines whether or not a message received from the frame processing unit 350 is an attack message).
Regarding claim 5, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection unit takes the frames relayed among the plurality of in-vehicle devices as a subject of the detection processing (Fig. 7 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371).
Regarding claim 6, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection processing is processing that, in a case where the unauthorized frame is detected by the in-vehicle device among frames of a first type, detects the unauthorized frame among frames of the first type on the basis of frames of a second type different from the first type ([0083], the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 has six types of determining functions for checking predetermined points of messages).
Regarding claim 7, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection processing is processing that detects the unauthorized frame among frames of a plurality of types ([0082], the unauthorized activity detecting unit 371 has multiple types of determining functions).
Regarding claim 8, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection processing is processing that, on the basis of a timing of transmission of frames of a first type and a timing of transmission of frames of a second type different from the first type, detects the unauthorized frame among frames of the first type ([0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection processing is processing that detects the unauthorized frame on the basis of a number of frames of a first type, and a number of frames of a second type different from the first type, that are transmitted per unit of time ([0086]).
Regarding claim 10, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the detection processing is processing that detects the unauthorized frame by comparing a first data value included in a frame of a first type with an estimated from a second data value included in a frame of a second type different from the first type ([0102]).
Regarding claim 11, Maeda discloses the relay device according to claim 1, as stated above, further including a transmission unit configured to, in a case where the unauthorized frame is detected by the detection unit, transmit display information for displaying a notification screen indicating that the unauthorized frame has been detected ([0084]).
Regarding claim 12, the elements contained in claim 12 are substantially similar to elements presented in claim 1, except that it set forth the claimed invention as a method rather than a device and is rejected for the same reasons as applied above.
Regarding claim 13, the elements contained in claim 13 are substantially similar to elements presented in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as applied above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/LUKE HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
07/28/2026