DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 May 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “in a case where” is not definite. The term raises issues regarding uncertainty if the event will happen or will not happen. Claims should be positively recited in an active voice. To expedite prosecution, Examiner will not give substantial patentable weight to this term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0022346).
For claim 1, Shibata discloses a motor controller that is installed on a vehicle and configured to collectively control propulsion motors that apply a driving force to the vehicle, wherein the vehicle: includes a continuously variable transmission (see para. 0066) interposed between the propulsion motor (see Fig. 7, M1, M2) and a wheel shaft of the vehicle (see Fig. 7, #32); and the continuously variable transmission is configured to continuously change a transmission gear ratio as a ratio of a motor speed that is a rotational speed of the propulsion motor (see paras. 0111-0112), with respect to a wheel speed that is a speed of a wheel coupled to the wheel shaft (see para. 0114, element #32 equivalent to wheel speed), wherein the motor controller is configured to perform a first control for adjusting the transmission gear ratio to be instructed to the continuously variable transmission, based on wheel diameter information that is information regarding lengths of a plurality of the wheels in a radial direction (see para. 0114).
Shibata does not explicitly disclose a railroad vehicle that is towing another railroad vehicle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of railroad propulsion at the effective date of filing and would have had the requisite knowledge to apply such teachings from Shibata to modify a railroad vehicle to include the transmission of Shibata based on an expectation of success and the motivation to improve when an output of an engine is reduced in presence of a failure in hydraulically operated frictional engaging devices of a continuously variable shifting portion (see para. 0006).
With reference to claim 2, Shibata further teaches wherein in a case where the first control is performed, a ratio of the transmission gear ratio is adjusted so that rotational speeds of the plurality of propulsion motors become the same (see para. 0099).
Pertaining to claims 3 and 4, Shibata does not explicitly disclose that the wheel information is stored electronically. However, because Shibata uses the diameter of each wheel, it must be stored or known within the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing that the system of Shibata would have stored the wheel diameter data somewhere in the system based on an expectation of success and the motivation to improve when an output of an engine is reduced in presence of a failure in hydraulically operated frictional engaging devices of a continuously variable shifting portion (see para. 0006).
Claim 8 contains substantially similar elements and subject matter to elements and subject matter defined in claim 1. Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected based on the citations and reasoning applied above for claim 1.
Claim 9 contains substantially similar elements and subject matter to elements and subject matter defined in claim 2. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected based on the citations and reasoning applied above for claim 2.
Claims 10 and 11 contain substantially similar elements and subject matter to elements and subject matter defined in claims 3 and 4. Accordingly, claims 10 and 11 are rejected based on the citations and reasoning applied above for claims 3 and 4.
With regards to claim 12, Shibata further teaches wherein a transmission gear ratio instructor configured to receive information regarding an instruction value of the transmission gear ratio output from the motor controller is installed on the railroad vehicle (see para. 0100), and the transmission gear ratio instructor is configured to instruct the received instruction value of the transmission gear ratio to the continuously variable transmission (see para. 0100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner would like to point out that any reference/citation to specific figures, columns and lines should not be considered limiting in any way. The entire cited reference, as well as any secondary teaching reference(s), are to be included in considerations of relevant disclosure relating to the claimed invention. Applicant is herein considered to have implicit knowledge of all cited teachings of the prior art of record.
/ADAM D TISSOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663