DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference number “4” in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 5, the word “accomodate” has been used. This appears to be a misspelling of the word “accommodate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 9, line 9, the word “whrein” has been used. This appears to be a misspelling of the word “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“clamping devices” in claim 8. The specification only discloses “clamping and feed devices”, however, Figure 1 shows the structure of clamping devices 200, 201 as blocks or block objects that clamp an extruded section 1, and therefore the corresponding structure is a block structure that clamps and feeds the extruded sections.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or generic placeholder thereof (such as the term “device”) but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a laser or water jet machining device in claim 10. Although the term “device” is a generic placeholder for means, the term “laser or water jet” are structural terms which are sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "connecting surfaces" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the same connecting surfaces originally introduced in line 3, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “the connecting surfaces”.
Claims 2-7 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Vaccari (US 20150101746 A1).
As to claim 1, Vaccari discloses method for producing a connection between two hollow extruded sections (1) made of plastic and/or composite materials (see paragraph 0013, disclosing “method and relative device for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC,”; paragraph 0035, disclosing “[0035] The plastic material from which the profiled elements 3 are made is, e.g., PVC, but plastic materials of the heat-sealable type other than PVC cannot be ruled out.”) and having visible surfaces and connecting surfaces (see Figure 14), the method comprising:
pressing connecting surfaces of the extruded sections (1) against a welding plate (such as “hot-plate heat-sealing element 12”) that has been heated to a predetermined welding temperature, which produces a first length reduction (which is a portion of “predefined distance 34”) and forms a welding bead composed of the material that is displaced during the length reduction (“a bead or welding bead produced during the melting of the respective profiled elements 3”);
removing the welding plate, these and joining the extruded sections are joined by means of pressure and with an additional, second length reduction (an additional portion of “predefined distance 34”), wherein before or after the extruded sections (1) are placed against the welding plate, the extruded sections are machined with a material-removing process in a region of their visible surfaces and/or connecting surfaces in order to prevent the formation of a welding bead that emerges from the visible surfaces during the joining;
wherein before the welding plate is inserted and the extruded sections (1) are pressed against its surface, a locally limited corner region (“a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).”) of a respective connecting surface of at least one of the extruded sections is removed by an associated machining tool (“the removal means 18 by milling preferably comprise a pair of machining tools 21, each of which equipped with an active head 21a on the peripheral edge of a respective zone to be welded 4.”) with a corresponding locally limited working region by a predetermined amount in relation to a remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate.
See paragraphs 0033-38 and 0101-0103, disclosing:
[0033] With particular reference to figures from 1a to 3, indicated by 1 is a device or method for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC.
[0034] Such device implements a method, or procedure, for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC, wherein are arranged at least two profiled elements 3, with respective zones to be welded 4 facing one another.
[0035] The plastic material from which the profiled elements 3 are made is, e.g., PVC, but plastic materials of the heat-sealable type other than PVC cannot be ruled out.
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
[0037] Subsequently, the zones to be welded 4 are heated and coupled, or joined, by pressing the profiled elements 3 one against the other to keep the zones 4 in reciprocal contact. This way, the groove 19 or the grooves 19 of the two profiled elements 3 define a containing compartment 19a for containing a bead or welding bead produced during the melting of the respective profiled elements 3.
[0038] In the rest of the present description, a single welding device 1 will be illustrated suitable for welding the extremities of the two respective profiled elements. Nevertheless, the present invention can comprise a series of devices 1, each of which operating on a respective extremity of a profiled element 3. For example, to make a rectangular frame to be used as a door or window frame, four devices 1 are used, each intended to weld the profiled elements 3 in correspondence to right angles of the mentioned frame.
…
[0101] The predefined distance 34 is determined according to the quantity of plastic material to be melted during the coupling step of the profiled elements 3 and to the volume at disposal in the undercut portions 30 of the grooves 19 which, as will be better described below, is designed to collect the melted material at the end of the coupling step of the profiled elements 3.
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
[0103] Alternative embodiments of the present invention cannot however be ruled out wherein the grooves 19, and in particular the undercut portions 30 thereof, have a different conformation, e.g., curved or the like.
See Figures 7a-b, below:
See also Figures 8a-c, below:
Figures 9a-d show a similar variation, wherein a step-shaped shoulder is made.
See also Figures 17 and 18, below:
As to claim 2, Vaccari wherein the locally limited corner region (100) of the at least one of the extruded sections (profiled elements 3) includes a profile groove provided to accommodate a sealing profile and the associated machining tool (at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter)) machines a working region correspondingly limited to the profile groove to accomodate the sealing profile.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
As to claim 3, Vaccari discloses further comprising removing the welding bead, to prevent the emerging welding bead after the removal of the welding plate, in the region of the visible surfaces of the extruded sections (profiled elements 3; 3a, 3b; 60, 61), forming a step-shaped shoulder in the extruded section (see Figures 9a-d) at a transition between the visible surfaces and the connecting surfaces of the extruded sections, wherein the step-shaped shoulder is dimensioned such that the material of the extruded sections that is displaced under pressure during the subsequent joining of the extruded sections fills the step-shaped shoulder between the extruded sections. See Figures 7a-b and 9a-d, showing this arrangement.
See also paragraphs 0023, 0025,
[0023] FIGS. 7a and 7b show schematically two subsequent steps of the welding of the head extremities of the profiled elements according to the invention wherein the formation of beads is highlighted only on the internal sides of the profiled elements, i.e. on the sides delimiting the internal space of the profiled element;
…
[0025] FIGS. 9a, 9b, 9c and 9d show schematically four subsequent steps of the welding of the head extremities of the profiled elements according to the invention wherein the formation of a containing barrier is highlighted defined by a receding corner moving closer to a relief corner and which determines the formation of beads on the internal sides only of the profiled elements, i.e. on the sides delimiting the internal space of the profiled element;
…
[0088] With reference to the solution schematically shown in the FIGS. 7a and 7b, the compartment 19a previously made by the grooves 19 is open, meaning it has a side turned towards the outside which remains substantially accessible and visible.
[0089] In the solution shown in the FIGS. 7a and 7b, therefore, the welding bead is retained within the volume of the compartment 19a by means of the presser 27 which closes one of its sides.
[0090] It will be noted in fact that when the profiled elements 3 are moved closer, the grooves 19 coincide with one another to define the compartment 19a. Furthermore, the presence of the presser 27 determines the closing of the compartment 19a which keeps the welding bead on the same level as the external visible surfaces of the profiled elements 3.
[0091] The step of making the groove 19 is implemented by means of a removal operation of material on the peripheral edges defined by the head extremities of each profiled element 3. This way, the groove 19 obtained has a substantially stepped conformation in square, i.e., shaped at 90.degree., which extends along the entire extension of the zone to be welded 4. Before the step of heating the zones to be welded 4, and in particular during the removal by milling step, the step is implemented of the retention of the shavings by means of the cutter tool 21 with helical shape and the axial suction which conveys the removed shavings towards the inside of the chamber 29a.
…
As to claim 4, Vaccari discloses wherein to prevent an emerging welding bead after the removal of the welding plate, only the outer welding beads produced on the visible surfaces in the region of the visible surfaces of the two extruded sections (1) are pressed inward to form a beveled edge (“second surface 36 substantially oblique”) and then removed to join the connecting surfaces of the two extruded sections (1).
See Figures 8a-c, showing bevel edges at location 36
See also paragraph 0102, disclosing:
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
As to claim 5, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate. See the variation in Figures 17-18.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
As to claim 6, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (100) is removed in a step- shaped way or by forming a beveled surface extending at an angle of 35 to 65 in relation to the visible surfaces of the extruded sections (1).
See also paragraph 0102, disclosing:
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
The range of recesses disclosed in paragraphs 0152 would result in an angle of about 45 degrees, as shown in Figure 18.
As to claim 7, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (groove 19) is removed by milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
As to claim 8, Vaccari discloses a device for producing a connection between two hollow extruded sections (“profiled elements 3”) made of plastic and having visible surfaces and connecting surfaces the device comprising:
clamping devices and feed devices (“movement means 7 of the retaining members 2”) for two respective extruded sections (“profiled elements 3”) that are aligned with each other and are to be connected;
a heatable welding plate, removably insertable into an intermediate space between the extruded sections (1);
material-removing tools configured to prevent an emergence of a welding bead that emerges from the visible surfaces during the joining ; and
a machining head (300) which, before the welding plate is inserted, is insertable into the intermediate space and supports at least one machining tool (3) configured to remove a locally limited corner region (100) of the connecting surface of at least one extruded section (1) by a predetermined amount in relation to a remaining cross-section of the connecting surface.
See, for example, Figure 1:
See also paragraphs 0039-0087
[0039] With reference to FIG. 1 it should be noted that the device 1 comprises a base frame 38 that supports a pair of retaining members 2 of respective profiled elements 3 in PVC, suitable for engaging the profiled elements 3 themselves with corresponding zones to be welded 4 facing one another.
[0040] In particular, each retaining member comprises a base portion 5 on which the profiled element 3 is positioned, and a mobile portion 6 arranged above the base portion 5. The mobile portion 6 is suitably moved to shift towards the base portion 5 and thus retain the profiled element 3.
[0041] As can be seen on the attached illustrations, each profiled element 3 is therefore arranged between the base portion 5 and the mobile portion 6, with the respective head extremity protruding. The head extremities of the profiled elements make up the zones to be welded 4 and for this reason they are facing one another.
[0042] It should also be noted that the zones to be welded 4 are suitably cut at 45.degree. to define a coupling between two right-angled profiled elements.
[0043] Moreover, the device 1 comprises movement means 7 of the retaining members 2, to shift the profiled elements 3 between a first reciprocal away direction and a second reciprocal closer direction wherein the zones to be welded 4 are coupled together.
[0044] In particular, for each retaining member 2, the movement means 7 have a sliding guide 8, extending parallel to the longitudinal extension of the profiled element 3. On the sliding guide is fitted a carriage 9 integral with the aforementioned base portion 5. Furthermore, each carriage 9 is coupled with a movement system 10 (not described in detail because of known type and not forming a part of the present invention) suitable for moving both the carriages 9 of the retaining members 2 reciprocally closer/away. The device 1 also comprises heating means 11 for heating the aforementioned zones to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 in PVC. The heating means 11 are preferably mobile between an active condition wherein they are placed between the profiled elements 3, and a non-use condition wherein they are spaced at a distance from the profiled elements 3.
[0045] In particular, it should be noted that when the profiled elements 3 are arranged by the movement means 7 in reciprocal away direction, they define a transit zone of the heating means 11. This way, once the zones to be welded 4 have been heated, the profiled elements 3 are moved closer together and pressed with the respective extremity heads against one another.
[0046] Advantageously, the heating means 11 comprise a hot-plate heat-sealing element 12, made up e.g. of a substantially plate-shaped electric resistance 12, fitted on a movement system 13. Preferably, the movement system 13 is composed of a pair of carriages 14 mounted sliding in respective rails 15 and each of which arranged on opposite sides of the aforementioned resistance 12. This way, the resistance 12 is fastened to the carriages 14 and moved by these along the rails 15. The carriages 14 are also operatively connected to a motor 16, by means of a connecting rod-crank 17. Advantageously, the connecting rod-crank 17 transforms the rotary motion given by the motor 16 into a back and forth motion of the carriages 14 and of the resistance 12 to insert/remove the resistance 12 between/from the above-mentioned profiled elements 3.
[0047] The device 1 is also equipped with removal means 18 to make at least one groove 19 on the peripheral edge of at least one zone to be welded 4.
[0048] The removal means 18, e.g., are composed of means of removal by milling; alternative embodiments cannot however be ruled out wherein the removal means are of a different type and envisage, e.g., one or more hot points, which remove the plastic material by melting, or one or more ultrasonic points.
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
[0050] The tool 21 is moved by a motor part 22 preferably of the electric type and miniaturized, brushless sensorless with very high rotation speed.
[0051] Furthermore, the tool 21 is moved by a movement member 23, between a first idle condition (position in which it is placed between the profiled elements 3) and a second working condition in which it is placed between the profiled elements 3 in PVC.
[0052] In greater detail, the removal means 18 by milling preferably comprise a pair of machining tools 21, each of which equipped with an active head 21a on the peripheral edge of a respective zone to be welded 4.
[0053] As illustrated in the detail views, the tools 21 are opposite one another to work at the same time on both the profiled elements 3.
[0054] Furthermore, the frame 20 has a supporting bar 24 arranged above the retaining members 2 and designed to sustain the tools 21 which in this situation are mounted on a lower extremity of the bar 24 itself.
[0055] The bar 24 is operatively connected to the movement member 23 to be moved in correspondence to the zones to be welded 4.
[0056] Advantageously, the tools 21 are positioned in correspondence to the side edge of the zone 4 by means of the movement of the above-mentioned movement member 23.
[0057] In particular, the member 23 comprises a pair of supporting guides 25 on which the bar 24 is mounted sliding and moved by a known motor not described in detail.
[0058] Furthermore, the bar 24 is moved vertically by means of an axis with wormscrew 26 arranged in correspondence to the supporting frame 20.
[0059] Advantageously, both the tools 21 and the motor part 22 are supported by the bar 24 and are mobile with it both horizontally (along the guides 25) and vertically (by means of the wormscrew 26).
[0060] The movement of the bar 24 is by means of a controlled-axis system which enables the tools 21 to shift along the peripheral edge of the profiled elements 3 to obtain the grooves 19.
[0061] Thanks to the controlled-axis system, furthermore, the tools 21 are moved between an idle position, wherein they are not placed between the profiled elements 3, and a working position, wherein they are placed between the profiled elements 3.
[0062] The device 1 is also equipped with a containing presser 27 mobile along a direction transversal both to the direction of movement of the profiled elements 3 and to the lying plane on which they lie, to abut on the grooves 19 made in the respective zones to be welded. Such presser can be heated to better shape the plastic material underneath and can have protrusions or recesses to reproduce a special shape on the hot piece just machined. The still hot material is in fact easy to shape.
[0063] In particular, in the welding condition of the zones 4, i.e., when they are brought into contact and pressed with each other, the grooves 19 define a containing compartment 19a in reciprocal collaboration.
[0064] Depending on the shape of the grooves 19, the compartment 19a can be open or closed, as will be better described below.
[0065] In the event of the compartment 19a being open, it can be delimited by the containing presser 27 which prevents the melted material coming out of the compartment 19a. Preferably, two containing pressers 27 are prepared, each of which associable with a respective pair of opposite grooves 19 to define two containing compartments 19a for respective welding beads.
[0066] In particular, a first presser 27 is arranged above the profiled elements 3, while a second presser 27 is arranged underneath the profiled elements 3.
[0067] It will in fact be noted that the grooves 19 are applied for the externally visible portions of the profiled elements 3, i.e., the side edges cut at 45.degree. which when welded together determine the formation of a protruding welding bead.
[0068] In this situation, the bead does not come out of the compartment 19a but is contained inside it.
[0069] In this context, the pressers 27 are mobile by means of suitable movement elements not described in detail and able to move closer to/away from the pressers 27 themselves during the various welding steps of the profiled elements 3.
[0070] The device 1 is furthermore equipped with an electrostatic part 28 for retaining the shavings that form during the removal operation by milling.
[0071] The electrostatic part 28 is made up of an electrode connected to the work tool 21 and connected to a high-voltage generator. This way, the shavings charged with negative polarity are retained by the head 21a of the cutter (which acts as an electrode) charged positively to avoid the dispersion of the mentioned shavings.
[0072] In collaboration with or alternatively to the electrostatic part 28, the device 1 has a vortex suction system 29a, 29b concentric with the tool 21 which permits removing the shavings which form during the removal operation by milling.
[0073] The suction system 29a, 29b, e.g., consists in a chamber 29a which is arranged around each tool 21 and which is connected to a suction duct 29b which moves the shavings away.
[0074] For this purpose, furthermore, the tool 21 consists of a helical-shaped cutter that conveys the removed shavings towards the inside of the chamber 29a to make suctioning the shavings easier.
[0075] Advantageously, all the PVC shavings produced by the removal operations by milling are easily suctioned.
[0076] The device 1 described above in prevalently structural terms implements a welding method which is also the subject of the present invention.
[0077] The method comprises the steps of preparing at least two profiled elements 3, arranged with the respective zones to be welded 4 facing one another, in correspondence to the retaining members.
[0078] Then, the grooves 19 are made in correspondence to each zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3. The zones to be welded 4 are subsequently heated and coupled together by pressing the profiled elements 3 one against the other. This way the zones 4 are kept in reciprocal contact to melt the zones 4 together thus defining the welding bead.
[0079] In this respect, the fact is underlined that the step of making the grooves 19 also comprises leveling the parts of the zones to be welded 4 not occupied by the grooves 19.
[0080] In practice, the tools 21 are made to pass over the substantial totality of the zones to be welded 4 at different work depths: [0081] in correspondence to the peripheral edges of the profiled elements 3, the work depth of the tools 21 is greater and such as to define the grooves 19; [0082] in correspondence to the remaining parts of the zones to be welded 4, instead, the work depth of the tools 21 is less and such as to only remove a small layer of plastic material, enough to flatten and even out the zones 4 to be welded.
[0083] In other words, the purpose of the tools 21 is not only to shape the grooves 19 but these are also fundamental for evening out the walls and correcting any cutting errors. In the absence of such leveling, the zones to be welded 4 would be too irregular and therefore not weldable.
[0084] It is also underlined that the grooves 19 and the leveling of the zones to be welded 4 are made by the tools 21 of the device 1 when the profiled elements 3 are already mounted on the retaining members 2 and the zones to be welded 4 are coupled and melted together without demounting the profiled elements 3 from the retaining members 2.
[0085] In other words, the tooling of the profiled elements 3 on the retaining members 2 occurs just once and the device 1 is able to execute all the steps of the method according to the invention without the profiled elements 3 having to be prepared and/or machined on other machines.
[0086] Such peculiarity, besides ensuring very fast execution, permits avoiding welding errors due to the incorrect mounting of the profiled elements 3 on the retaining members 2.
[0087] In fact, if the zones to be welded 4 were leveled on a different machine and then mounted on the device 1 to be welded, the risk would exist of badly welding, the profiled elements 3 because the zones to be welded 4 might not be perfectly facing and parallel.
As to claim 9, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (100) of the extruded section comprises a profile groove (groove 19) provided to accommodate a sealing profile. See Figures 7a-b, 8a-c, and 9a-d, as well as Figures 17 and 18, cited above.
As to claim 10, Vaccari discloses wherein the machining tool (machining tool 21) comprises an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Vaccari (US 20150101746 A1) as applied to claims 1-10 above.
As to claim 5, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate. See the variation in Figures 17-18.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
In any event, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); See generally MPEP 2144.05 for additional citations.
In this case, modifying Vaccari such that the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate would have been optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine optimization under MPEP 2144.05 II A because Vaccari teaches dimensions that vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate as a routine optimization of Vaccari’s disclosure of dimensions that vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
As to claim 6, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (100) is removed in a step- shaped way or by forming a beveled surface extending at an angle of 35 to 65 in relation to the visible surfaces of the extruded sections.
See also paragraph 0102, disclosing:
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
The range of recesses disclosed in paragraphs 0152 would result in an angle of about 45 degrees, as shown in Figure 18.
In any event, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); See generally MPEP 2144.05 for additional citations.
In this case, modifying Vaccari such that the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate would have been optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine optimization under MPEP 2144.05 II A because Vaccari teaches that the angle is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the locally limited corner region is removed in a step- shaped way or by forming a beveled surface extending at an angle of 35 to 65 in relation to the visible surfaces of the extruded sections as a routine optimization of Vaccari’s disclosure that the angle is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Vaccari (US 20150101746 A1) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Hiebeler (EP 3072668 A1).
As to claim 7, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (groove 19) is removed by milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Vaccari does not disclose sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
However, Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
See the translation, disclosing both “The machining tool 2 is guided so that the central end mill 24 processed only at certain locations the profile piece 1, namely in the receiving groove 12 or only the outer walls 19 a, 19 b, 19 c, 19 d of the profile bar 1.” and “Furthermore, it is advantageously provided that a milling tool, saw blade, laser or water jet cutting device is provided as the machining tool.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized sawing or by laser or water jet cutting because Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
As to claim 10, Vaccari discloses wherein the machining tool (machining tool 21) comprises an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Vaccari does not disclose a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device
However, Hiebeler discloses that an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
See the translation, disclosing both “The machining tool 2 is guided so that the central end mill 24 processed only at certain locations the profile piece 1, namely in the receiving groove 12 or only the outer walls 19 a, 19 b, 19 c, 19 d of the profile bar 1.” and “Furthermore, it is advantageously provided that a milling tool, saw blade, laser or water jet cutting device is provided as the machining tool.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an end mill or milling cutter, a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device because Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaccari (US 20150101746 A1) and Daun (US 20200386041 A1).
As to claim 1, Vaccari discloses method for producing a connection between two hollow extruded sections (1) made of plastic and/or composite materials (see paragraph 0013, disclosing “method and relative device for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC,”; paragraph 0035, disclosing “[0035] The plastic material from which the profiled elements 3 are made is, e.g., PVC, but plastic materials of the heat-sealable type other than PVC cannot be ruled out.”) and having visible surfaces and connecting surfaces (see Figure 14), the method comprising:
pressing connecting surfaces of the extruded sections (1) against a welding plate (such as “hot-plate heat-sealing element 12”) that has been heated to a predetermined welding temperature, which produces a first length reduction (which is a portion of “predefined distance 34”) and forms a welding bead composed of the material that is displaced during the length reduction (“a bead or welding bead produced during the melting of the respective profiled elements 3”);
removing the welding plate, these and joining the extruded sections are joined by means of pressure and with an additional, second length reduction (an additional portion of “predefined distance 34”), wherein before or after the extruded sections (1) are placed against the welding plate, the extruded sections are machined with a material-removing process in a region of their visible surfaces and/or connecting surfaces in order to prevent the formation of a welding bead that emerges from the visible surfaces during the joining;
wherein before the welding plate is inserted and the extruded sections (1) are pressed against its surface, a locally limited corner region (“a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).”) of a respective connecting surface of at least one of the extruded sections is removed by an associated machining tool (“the removal means 18 by milling preferably comprise a pair of machining tools 21, each of which equipped with an active head 21a on the peripheral edge of a respective zone to be welded 4.”) with a corresponding locally limited working region by a predetermined amount in relation to a remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate.
See paragraphs 0033-38 and 0101-0103, disclosing:
[0033] With particular reference to figures from 1a to 3, indicated by 1 is a device or method for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC.
[0034] Such device implements a method, or procedure, for welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC, wherein are arranged at least two profiled elements 3, with respective zones to be welded 4 facing one another.
[0035] The plastic material from which the profiled elements 3 are made is, e.g., PVC, but plastic materials of the heat-sealable type other than PVC cannot be ruled out.
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
[0037] Subsequently, the zones to be welded 4 are heated and coupled, or joined, by pressing the profiled elements 3 one against the other to keep the zones 4 in reciprocal contact. This way, the groove 19 or the grooves 19 of the two profiled elements 3 define a containing compartment 19a for containing a bead or welding bead produced during the melting of the respective profiled elements 3.
[0038] In the rest of the present description, a single welding device 1 will be illustrated suitable for welding the extremities of the two respective profiled elements. Nevertheless, the present invention can comprise a series of devices 1, each of which operating on a respective extremity of a profiled element 3. For example, to make a rectangular frame to be used as a door or window frame, four devices 1 are used, each intended to weld the profiled elements 3 in correspondence to right angles of the mentioned frame.
…
[0101] The predefined distance 34 is determined according to the quantity of plastic material to be melted during the coupling step of the profiled elements 3 and to the volume at disposal in the undercut portions 30 of the grooves 19 which, as will be better described below, is designed to collect the melted material at the end of the coupling step of the profiled elements 3.
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
[0103] Alternative embodiments of the present invention cannot however be ruled out wherein the grooves 19, and in particular the undercut portions 30 thereof, have a different conformation, e.g., curved or the like.
See Figures 7a-b, below:
See also Figures 8a-c, below:
Figures 9a-d show a similar variation, wherein a step-shaped shoulder is made.
See also Figures 17 and 18, below:
As to claim 1, Vaccari has been treated as disclosing the extruded sections (1). However, Vaccari only discloses “welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC” and does not recite that these elements are extruded sections.
However, Daun, which is also directed to a device and method for connecting profiled parts, discloses that PVC profiles are typically extruded. See paragraph 0083:
[0083] In this case, the profiled part 1 is a profiled element 1 made of a thermoplastic material, for instance, PVC, that serves for the manufacture of a window casement. The profiled part 1 is configured as an extruded profile having several walls 23 which run parallel, crosswise and at an angle to each other, and whose outermost rim forms the profile edge 21. Here, the profiled part 1 has exposed surfaces 11 and functional surfaces 12 that form the outer surfaces of the profiled part 1. The exposed surfaces 11 are the surfaces that are visible on the outside when the window is in its completely installed state. The functional surfaces 12 are the surfaces needed for the various functions of the window casement such as, for example, the overhang 13 which seals the window relative to the window frame, the support surface 14 which supports a window pane installed in the window as well as other functional surfaces 12 on which, for instance, window pane gaskets are arranged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized extruded sections as suggested by Daun because Daun teaches that profiled PVC parts similar to that in Vaccari are frequently configured as an extruded profile having several walls which run parallel, crosswise and at an angle to each other, and whose outermost rim forms the profile edge.
As to claim 2, Vaccari wherein the locally limited corner region (100) of the at least one of the extruded sections (profiled elements 3) includes a profile groove provided to accommodate a sealing profile and the associated machining tool (at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter)) machines a working region correspondingly limited to the profile groove to accomodate the sealing profile.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
As to claim 3, Vaccari discloses further comprising removing the welding bead, to prevent the emerging welding bead after the removal of the welding plate, in the region of the visible surfaces of the extruded sections (profiled elements 3; 3a, 3b; 60, 61), forming a step-shaped shoulder in the extruded section (see Figures 9a-d) at a transition between the visible surfaces and the connecting surfaces of the extruded sections, wherein the step-shaped shoulder is dimensioned such that the material of the extruded sections that is displaced under pressure during the subsequent joining of the extruded sections fills the step-shaped shoulder between the extruded sections. See Figures 7a-b and 9a-d, showing this arrangement.
See also paragraphs 0023, 0025,
[0023] FIGS. 7a and 7b show schematically two subsequent steps of the welding of the head extremities of the profiled elements according to the invention wherein the formation of beads is highlighted only on the internal sides of the profiled elements, i.e. on the sides delimiting the internal space of the profiled element;
…
[0025] FIGS. 9a, 9b, 9c and 9d show schematically four subsequent steps of the welding of the head extremities of the profiled elements according to the invention wherein the formation of a containing barrier is highlighted defined by a receding corner moving closer to a relief corner and which determines the formation of beads on the internal sides only of the profiled elements, i.e. on the sides delimiting the internal space of the profiled element;
…
[0088] With reference to the solution schematically shown in the FIGS. 7a and 7b, the compartment 19a previously made by the grooves 19 is open, meaning it has a side turned towards the outside which remains substantially accessible and visible.
[0089] In the solution shown in the FIGS. 7a and 7b, therefore, the welding bead is retained within the volume of the compartment 19a by means of the presser 27 which closes one of its sides.
[0090] It will be noted in fact that when the profiled elements 3 are moved closer, the grooves 19 coincide with one another to define the compartment 19a. Furthermore, the presence of the presser 27 determines the closing of the compartment 19a which keeps the welding bead on the same level as the external visible surfaces of the profiled elements 3.
[0091] The step of making the groove 19 is implemented by means of a removal operation of material on the peripheral edges defined by the head extremities of each profiled element 3. This way, the groove 19 obtained has a substantially stepped conformation in square, i.e., shaped at 90.degree., which extends along the entire extension of the zone to be welded 4. Before the step of heating the zones to be welded 4, and in particular during the removal by milling step, the step is implemented of the retention of the shavings by means of the cutter tool 21 with helical shape and the axial suction which conveys the removed shavings towards the inside of the chamber 29a.
…
As to claim 4, Vaccari discloses wherein to prevent an emerging welding bead after the removal of the welding plate, only the outer welding beads produced on the visible surfaces in the region of the visible surfaces of the two extruded sections (1) are pressed inward to form a beveled edge (“second surface 36 substantially oblique”) and then removed to join the connecting surfaces of the two extruded sections (1).
See Figures 8a-c, showing bevel edges at location 36
See also paragraph 0102, disclosing:
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
As to claim 5, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate. See the variation in Figures 17-18.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
In any event, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); See generally MPEP 2144.05 for additional citations.
In this case, modifying Vaccari such that the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate would have been optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine optimization under MPEP 2144.05 II A because Vaccari teaches dimensions that vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate as a routine optimization of Vaccari’s disclosure of dimensions that vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
As to claim 6, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (100) is removed in a step- shaped way or by forming a beveled surface extending at an angle of 35 to 65 in relation to the visible surfaces of the extruded sections.
See also paragraph 0102, disclosing:
[0102] Before the heating step, furthermore, the grooves 19 are delimited by a first surface 35 substantially at right angles to the head surfaces 33 and by a second surface 36 substantially oblique in correspondence to which said undercut portion 30 is defined. The second surface 36 is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree. with respect to the visible surface portion 32 of the profiled elements 3.
See paragraph 0152, disclosing:
[0152] In the embodiment shown in the illustrations, the recesses 64a, 65a and the protrusions 64b, 65b of the two faces 64, 65 extend along rectilinear lines parallel to one another. Usefully, the dimensions of the recesses 64a, 65a and protrusions 64b, 65b made this way vary between 0.5 and 2 mm of thickness and between 1 and 4 mm of depth and are preferably equal to about 1 mm of thickness and 2 mm of depth.
The range of recesses disclosed in paragraphs 0152 would result in an angle of about 45 degrees, as shown in Figure 18.
In any event, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); See generally MPEP 2144.05 for additional citations.
In this case, modifying Vaccari such that the locally limited corner region is removed by a predetermined amount of 0.5 to 5 mm relative to the remaining cross-section of the connecting surface that is to be pressed against the welding plate would have been optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine optimization under MPEP 2144.05 II A because Vaccari teaches that the angle is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the locally limited corner region is removed in a step- shaped way or by forming a beveled surface extending at an angle of 35 to 65 in relation to the visible surfaces of the extruded sections as a routine optimization of Vaccari’s disclosure that the angle is substantially sloped by an angle between 10.degree. and 80.degree.
As to claim 7, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (groove 19) is removed by milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
As to claim 8, Vaccari discloses a device for producing a connection between two hollow extruded sections (“profiled elements 3”) made of plastic and having visible surfaces and connecting surfaces the device comprising:
clamping devices and feed devices (“movement means 7 of the retaining members 2”) for two respective extruded sections (“profiled elements 3”) that are aligned with each other and are to be connected;
a heatable welding plate, removably insertable into an intermediate space between the extruded sections (1);
material-removing tools configured to prevent an emergence of a welding bead that emerges from the visible surfaces during the joining ; and
a machining head (300) which, before the welding plate is inserted, is insertable into the intermediate space and supports at least one machining tool (3) configured to remove a locally limited corner region (100) of the connecting surface of at least one extruded section (1) by a predetermined amount in relation to a remaining cross-section of the connecting surface.
See, for example, Figure 1:
See also paragraphs 0039-0087
[0039] With reference to FIG. 1 it should be noted that the device 1 comprises a base frame 38 that supports a pair of retaining members 2 of respective profiled elements 3 in PVC, suitable for engaging the profiled elements 3 themselves with corresponding zones to be welded 4 facing one another.
[0040] In particular, each retaining member comprises a base portion 5 on which the profiled element 3 is positioned, and a mobile portion 6 arranged above the base portion 5. The mobile portion 6 is suitably moved to shift towards the base portion 5 and thus retain the profiled element 3.
[0041] As can be seen on the attached illustrations, each profiled element 3 is therefore arranged between the base portion 5 and the mobile portion 6, with the respective head extremity protruding. The head extremities of the profiled elements make up the zones to be welded 4 and for this reason they are facing one another.
[0042] It should also be noted that the zones to be welded 4 are suitably cut at 45.degree. to define a coupling between two right-angled profiled elements.
[0043] Moreover, the device 1 comprises movement means 7 of the retaining members 2, to shift the profiled elements 3 between a first reciprocal away direction and a second reciprocal closer direction wherein the zones to be welded 4 are coupled together.
[0044] In particular, for each retaining member 2, the movement means 7 have a sliding guide 8, extending parallel to the longitudinal extension of the profiled element 3. On the sliding guide is fitted a carriage 9 integral with the aforementioned base portion 5. Furthermore, each carriage 9 is coupled with a movement system 10 (not described in detail because of known type and not forming a part of the present invention) suitable for moving both the carriages 9 of the retaining members 2 reciprocally closer/away. The device 1 also comprises heating means 11 for heating the aforementioned zones to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 in PVC. The heating means 11 are preferably mobile between an active condition wherein they are placed between the profiled elements 3, and a non-use condition wherein they are spaced at a distance from the profiled elements 3.
[0045] In particular, it should be noted that when the profiled elements 3 are arranged by the movement means 7 in reciprocal away direction, they define a transit zone of the heating means 11. This way, once the zones to be welded 4 have been heated, the profiled elements 3 are moved closer together and pressed with the respective extremity heads against one another.
[0046] Advantageously, the heating means 11 comprise a hot-plate heat-sealing element 12, made up e.g. of a substantially plate-shaped electric resistance 12, fitted on a movement system 13. Preferably, the movement system 13 is composed of a pair of carriages 14 mounted sliding in respective rails 15 and each of which arranged on opposite sides of the aforementioned resistance 12. This way, the resistance 12 is fastened to the carriages 14 and moved by these along the rails 15. The carriages 14 are also operatively connected to a motor 16, by means of a connecting rod-crank 17. Advantageously, the connecting rod-crank 17 transforms the rotary motion given by the motor 16 into a back and forth motion of the carriages 14 and of the resistance 12 to insert/remove the resistance 12 between/from the above-mentioned profiled elements 3.
[0047] The device 1 is also equipped with removal means 18 to make at least one groove 19 on the peripheral edge of at least one zone to be welded 4.
[0048] The removal means 18, e.g., are composed of means of removal by milling; alternative embodiments cannot however be ruled out wherein the removal means are of a different type and envisage, e.g., one or more hot points, which remove the plastic material by melting, or one or more ultrasonic points.
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
[0050] The tool 21 is moved by a motor part 22 preferably of the electric type and miniaturized, brushless sensorless with very high rotation speed.
[0051] Furthermore, the tool 21 is moved by a movement member 23, between a first idle condition (position in which it is placed between the profiled elements 3) and a second working condition in which it is placed between the profiled elements 3 in PVC.
[0052] In greater detail, the removal means 18 by milling preferably comprise a pair of machining tools 21, each of which equipped with an active head 21a on the peripheral edge of a respective zone to be welded 4.
[0053] As illustrated in the detail views, the tools 21 are opposite one another to work at the same time on both the profiled elements 3.
[0054] Furthermore, the frame 20 has a supporting bar 24 arranged above the retaining members 2 and designed to sustain the tools 21 which in this situation are mounted on a lower extremity of the bar 24 itself.
[0055] The bar 24 is operatively connected to the movement member 23 to be moved in correspondence to the zones to be welded 4.
[0056] Advantageously, the tools 21 are positioned in correspondence to the side edge of the zone 4 by means of the movement of the above-mentioned movement member 23.
[0057] In particular, the member 23 comprises a pair of supporting guides 25 on which the bar 24 is mounted sliding and moved by a known motor not described in detail.
[0058] Furthermore, the bar 24 is moved vertically by means of an axis with wormscrew 26 arranged in correspondence to the supporting frame 20.
[0059] Advantageously, both the tools 21 and the motor part 22 are supported by the bar 24 and are mobile with it both horizontally (along the guides 25) and vertically (by means of the wormscrew 26).
[0060] The movement of the bar 24 is by means of a controlled-axis system which enables the tools 21 to shift along the peripheral edge of the profiled elements 3 to obtain the grooves 19.
[0061] Thanks to the controlled-axis system, furthermore, the tools 21 are moved between an idle position, wherein they are not placed between the profiled elements 3, and a working position, wherein they are placed between the profiled elements 3.
[0062] The device 1 is also equipped with a containing presser 27 mobile along a direction transversal both to the direction of movement of the profiled elements 3 and to the lying plane on which they lie, to abut on the grooves 19 made in the respective zones to be welded. Such presser can be heated to better shape the plastic material underneath and can have protrusions or recesses to reproduce a special shape on the hot piece just machined. The still hot material is in fact easy to shape.
[0063] In particular, in the welding condition of the zones 4, i.e., when they are brought into contact and pressed with each other, the grooves 19 define a containing compartment 19a in reciprocal collaboration.
[0064] Depending on the shape of the grooves 19, the compartment 19a can be open or closed, as will be better described below.
[0065] In the event of the compartment 19a being open, it can be delimited by the containing presser 27 which prevents the melted material coming out of the compartment 19a. Preferably, two containing pressers 27 are prepared, each of which associable with a respective pair of opposite grooves 19 to define two containing compartments 19a for respective welding beads.
[0066] In particular, a first presser 27 is arranged above the profiled elements 3, while a second presser 27 is arranged underneath the profiled elements 3.
[0067] It will in fact be noted that the grooves 19 are applied for the externally visible portions of the profiled elements 3, i.e., the side edges cut at 45.degree. which when welded together determine the formation of a protruding welding bead.
[0068] In this situation, the bead does not come out of the compartment 19a but is contained inside it.
[0069] In this context, the pressers 27 are mobile by means of suitable movement elements not described in detail and able to move closer to/away from the pressers 27 themselves during the various welding steps of the profiled elements 3.
[0070] The device 1 is furthermore equipped with an electrostatic part 28 for retaining the shavings that form during the removal operation by milling.
[0071] The electrostatic part 28 is made up of an electrode connected to the work tool 21 and connected to a high-voltage generator. This way, the shavings charged with negative polarity are retained by the head 21a of the cutter (which acts as an electrode) charged positively to avoid the dispersion of the mentioned shavings.
[0072] In collaboration with or alternatively to the electrostatic part 28, the device 1 has a vortex suction system 29a, 29b concentric with the tool 21 which permits removing the shavings which form during the removal operation by milling.
[0073] The suction system 29a, 29b, e.g., consists in a chamber 29a which is arranged around each tool 21 and which is connected to a suction duct 29b which moves the shavings away.
[0074] For this purpose, furthermore, the tool 21 consists of a helical-shaped cutter that conveys the removed shavings towards the inside of the chamber 29a to make suctioning the shavings easier.
[0075] Advantageously, all the PVC shavings produced by the removal operations by milling are easily suctioned.
[0076] The device 1 described above in prevalently structural terms implements a welding method which is also the subject of the present invention.
[0077] The method comprises the steps of preparing at least two profiled elements 3, arranged with the respective zones to be welded 4 facing one another, in correspondence to the retaining members.
[0078] Then, the grooves 19 are made in correspondence to each zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3. The zones to be welded 4 are subsequently heated and coupled together by pressing the profiled elements 3 one against the other. This way the zones 4 are kept in reciprocal contact to melt the zones 4 together thus defining the welding bead.
[0079] In this respect, the fact is underlined that the step of making the grooves 19 also comprises leveling the parts of the zones to be welded 4 not occupied by the grooves 19.
[0080] In practice, the tools 21 are made to pass over the substantial totality of the zones to be welded 4 at different work depths: [0081] in correspondence to the peripheral edges of the profiled elements 3, the work depth of the tools 21 is greater and such as to define the grooves 19; [0082] in correspondence to the remaining parts of the zones to be welded 4, instead, the work depth of the tools 21 is less and such as to only remove a small layer of plastic material, enough to flatten and even out the zones 4 to be welded.
[0083] In other words, the purpose of the tools 21 is not only to shape the grooves 19 but these are also fundamental for evening out the walls and correcting any cutting errors. In the absence of such leveling, the zones to be welded 4 would be too irregular and therefore not weldable.
[0084] It is also underlined that the grooves 19 and the leveling of the zones to be welded 4 are made by the tools 21 of the device 1 when the profiled elements 3 are already mounted on the retaining members 2 and the zones to be welded 4 are coupled and melted together without demounting the profiled elements 3 from the retaining members 2.
[0085] In other words, the tooling of the profiled elements 3 on the retaining members 2 occurs just once and the device 1 is able to execute all the steps of the method according to the invention without the profiled elements 3 having to be prepared and/or machined on other machines.
[0086] Such peculiarity, besides ensuring very fast execution, permits avoiding welding errors due to the incorrect mounting of the profiled elements 3 on the retaining members 2.
[0087] In fact, if the zones to be welded 4 were leveled on a different machine and then mounted on the device 1 to be welded, the risk would exist of badly welding, the profiled elements 3 because the zones to be welded 4 might not be perfectly facing and parallel.
As to claim 8, Vaccari has been treated as disclosing the extruded sections. However, Vaccari only discloses “welding profiled elements in plastic material, in particular PVC” and does not recite that these elements are extruded sections.
However, Daun, which is also directed to a device and method for connecting profiled parts, discloses that PVC profiles are typically extruded. See paragraph 0083:
[0083] In this case, the profiled part 1 is a profiled element 1 made of a thermoplastic material, for instance, PVC, that serves for the manufacture of a window casement. The profiled part 1 is configured as an extruded profile having several walls 23 which run parallel, crosswise and at an angle to each other, and whose outermost rim forms the profile edge 21. Here, the profiled part 1 has exposed surfaces 11 and functional surfaces 12 that form the outer surfaces of the profiled part 1. The exposed surfaces 11 are the surfaces that are visible on the outside when the window is in its completely installed state. The functional surfaces 12 are the surfaces needed for the various functions of the window casement such as, for example, the overhang 13 which seals the window relative to the window frame, the support surface 14 which supports a window pane installed in the window as well as other functional surfaces 12 on which, for instance, window pane gaskets are arranged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized extruded sections as suggested by Daun because Daun teaches that profiled PVC parts similar to that in Vaccari are frequently configured as an extruded profile having several walls which run parallel, crosswise and at an angle to each other, and whose outermost rim forms the profile edge.
As to claim 9, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (100) of the extruded section comprises a profile groove (groove 19) provided to accommodate a sealing profile. See Figures 7a-b, 8a-c, and 9a-d, as well as Figures 17 and 18, cited above.
As to claim 10, Vaccari discloses wherein the machining tool (machining tool 21) comprises an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are further alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Vaccari (US 20150101746 A1) and Daun (US 20200386041 A1) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Hiebeler (EP 3072668 A1).
As to claim 7, Vaccari discloses wherein the locally limited corner region (groove 19) is removed by milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Vaccari does not disclose sawing or by laser or water jet cutting.
However, Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
See the translation, disclosing both “The machining tool 2 is guided so that the central end mill 24 processed only at certain locations the profile piece 1, namely in the receiving groove 12 or only the outer walls 19 a, 19 b, 19 c, 19 d of the profile bar 1.” and “Furthermore, it is advantageously provided that a milling tool, saw blade, laser or water jet cutting device is provided as the machining tool.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized sawing or by laser or water jet cutting because Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
As to claim 10, Vaccari discloses wherein the machining tool (machining tool 21) comprises an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device.
See paragraph 0036, disclosing milling and paragraph 0049, disclosing a cutter for milling:
[0036] As will be better specified below according to the method, before the step of heating and welding the profiled elements 3, a groove 19 is made in correspondence to at least one zone to be welded 4 of the profiled elements 3 by means of a removal operation (milling, melting, chamfering, etc.).
…
[0049] The removal means 18 by milling comprise a supporting frame 20 placed above the retaining members 2, and at least one machining tool 21 (a cutter), facing a profiled element 3 to make the above-mentioned groove 19 on the zone to be welded 4.
Vaccari does not disclose a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device
However, Hiebeler discloses that an end mill or milling cutter (“cutter”), a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
See the translation, disclosing both “The machining tool 2 is guided so that the central end mill 24 processed only at certain locations the profile piece 1, namely in the receiving groove 12 or only the outer walls 19 a, 19 b, 19 c, 19 d of the profile bar 1.” and “Furthermore, it is advantageously provided that a milling tool, saw blade, laser or water jet cutting device is provided as the machining tool.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an end mill or milling cutter, a saw blade, or a laser or water jet machining device because Hiebeler discloses that milling or sawing or by laser or water jet cutting are all known substitutes for each other for creating profile grooves.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK