DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0172956 A1 to Dewaegenaere (Dewaegenaere).
Regarding claim 14, Dewaegenaere teaches a thermal pad configuration (therapeutic pad 10) for placement on a patient, comprising a fluid compartment configured to receive a TTM fluid from a TTM module to facilitate thermal energy transfer between the TTM fluid and the patient ([0071] which states in part “circulating fluid to read a therapeutic pad” and [0072] which states in part “circulation of the fluid from a thermal treatment device through the connectors (202, 204) to and through the therapeutic pad (10).”) configured to receive a TTM fluid from a TTM module to facilitate thermal energy transfer between the TTM fluid and the patient and a memory chip (a readable and writeable electronic memory chip, e.g. the data storage 310) attached to the thermal pad (Fig. 7), the memory chip configured to wirelessly exchange data with a console of the TTM module ([0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Dewaegenaere teaches the pad of claim 14 as well as the pad data including a status of the fluid compartment ([0056]) and the status includes one of an empty state ([0056]) or a full state.
Regarding claim 16, Dewaegenaere teaches the pad of claim 15 as well as wherein the status of the fluid compartment is changeable by logic of the console between the empty sate and the full state ([0056-0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Dewaegenaere teaches the pad of claim 14 as well as wherein the pad data include indemnification information including one or more types of thermal pad ([0047]), a model number, a size, a serial number ([0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a as being unpatentable over Dewaegenaere in view of US 2003/0074038 A1 to Gruszecki et al. (Gruszecki).
Regarding claim 1, Dewaegenaere teaches a target temperature management (TTM) system (Fig. 7), comprising a TTM module (medical treatment device (100) configured to provide a TTM fluid ([0071]), the TTM module including a console (hardware and software user interface 104) having a processor (316) and memory (318), including a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having logic stored thereon that, when executed by the processor performs operations of the system ([0043] which states in part “a computer program product is provided. The computer program product has one or more computer readable media having computer executable instructions for performing the steps of the method…”), and a thermal pad (therapeutic pad 10) having a fluid compartment ([0071] which states in part “circulating fluid to read a therapeutic pad” and [0072] which states in part “circulation of the fluid from a thermal treatment device through the connectors (202, 204) to and through the therapeutic pad (10).”) configured to receive the TTM fluid from the TTM module to facilitate thermal energy transfer between the TTM fluid and the patient, wherein the TTM module is configured to deliver TTM fluid to the thermal pad to transition the fluid compartment from an empty state to a full state (inherent in the start of the procedure) and the thermal pad includes a memory chip (a readable and writeable electronic memory chip, e.g. the data storage 310) having stored thereon pad data including a status of the fluid compartment ([0044] which states “In a particular embodiment, the data is a medical protocol information and/or a result of a medical treatment and/or an information relating to the performance and/or lifetime of the pad.”; [0075] which states “the thermal treatment device will start writing data onto the data storage tag (310). Once the treatment stops, and the user moves to another location, the therapeutic pad (10) will be connected to a new thermal treatment device. The latter will read the information from the data storage tag (310), and by doing so it will be able to implement the right treatment protocol without needing any manual input.”; [0078] which states “Also, because the thermal treatment device will also log on the data storage tag (310) information related to the therapeutic pad (10) performance, usage, quality, etc., the thermal treatment device will be able to control and regulate the use of expired or non-performing therapeutic pads (10).”), the memory chip communicatively coupled with the console ([0073]), and the operations include exchanging pad data with the memory ship ([0073-0074]).
However, Dewaegenaere does not explicitly teach the TTM module configured to extract TTM fluid from the thermal pad to transition the fluid compartment from the full state to the empty state.
Gruszecki teaches an analogous targeted temperature management system (title “Patient Temperature Control System with Fluid Preconditioning”) including a purge mode that automatically functions to empty water from the pads ([0107]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dewaegenaere to include the purge mode for emptying the pad as taught by Gruszecki to allow for the thermal fluid to be removed from the device when treatment is completed or the pad needs to be disconnected as an obvious matter of engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the system of claim 1 as well as Dewaegenaere teaching wherein the status of the fluid compartment includes at least one of the empty state ([0056]) or the full state.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the system of claim 1 as well as Dewaegenaere teaching wherein the operations further include receiving the status of the fluid compartment from the memory ship ([0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the system of claim 1 as well as Dewaegenaere teaching wherein the operations further include transmitting at least a portion of the pad data to the memory chip ([0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the system of claim 2 as well as Dewaegenaere teaching wherein the operations include transitioning the status of the fluid compartment from the empty state to the full state ([0056-0059]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the system of claim 2 as well as Dewaegenaere teaching wherein the operations include transitioning the status of the fluid compartment from the full state to the empty state ([0056-0059]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the system according to claim 1 as well as wherein the pad data include indemnification information including one or more types of thermal pad ([0047]), a model number, a size, a serial number ([0046]).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a as being unpatentable over Dewaegenaere and Gruszecki as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 2019/0133820 A1 to Jacobsen et al. (Jacobsen).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Dewaegenaere in view of Gruszecki teaches the system of claim 1, but not wherein the pad data includes a fluid capacity of the fluid compartment. Jacobsen teaches an analogous device (title “Devices, Systems and Methods for Endovascular Temperature Control “) that includes encoded information of the changeable components that is embedded in a chip or microchip mounted on the changeable components ([0008]), where the information includes volume of the changeable components ([0008]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dewaegenaere to include data related to the volume of the pad so as to provide the user with the fluid requirements of the connected components.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a as being unpatentable over Dewaegenaere in view of Jacobsen.
Regarding claim 17, Dewaegenaere in view of Gruszecki teaches the pad of claim 14, but not wherein the pad data includes a fluid capacity of the fluid compartment. Jacobsen teaches an analogous device (title “Devices, Systems and Methods for Endovascular Temperature Control “) that includes encoded information of the changeable components that is embedded in a chip or microchip mounted on the changeable components ([0008]), where the information includes volume of the changeable components ([0008]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dewaegenaere to include data related to the volume of the pad so as to provide the user with the fluid requirements of the connected components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art as set forth above does not teach the operations as set forth in claims 6, 7, 9 and 10.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794