DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of its improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (Chinese Patent Application CN 112389963A).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang teaches A granular material conveyance apparatus, the granular material conveyance apparatus comprising:(Page 1, lines 14-15: "The invention belongs to the technical field of pet food processing, and particularly relates to a conveying device for pet food production with a self-cleaning function.")a discharge conduit comprising a proximal end configured to receive granular material from a granular material source and a distal end separated from the proximal end along a longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit, (Figure 1: Cylinder 2 with feeding pipe 201 and opposite end)wherein the discharge conduit is movable with respect to the granular material source,(Page 1, lines 44-45: "The support is fixedly connected to the cylinder, and the cylinder is rotatably connected with a conveying shaft. ")an end effector engaged externally with respect to the discharge conduit so as to be translatable along the longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit,(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")wherein the discharge conduit further comprises a conveyor configured to move the granular material along a conveyance path disposed within the discharge conduit from the proximal end towards the distal end of the discharge conduit,(Figure 4: Spiral blade 301)wherein the end effector has an inlet in communication with the conveyance path at least at a plurality of positions of the end effector with respect to the discharge conduit to allow the granular material to be conveyed from the discharge conduit and into the end effector.(Figure 2: Arc sliding plate 6 and discharge tube 601).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang teaches the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the inlet of the end effector is in communication with the conveyance path continuously during translation of the end effector along the longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit.(Figure 2: Arc sliding plate 6 and discharge tube 601)
Regarding Claim 3, Kang teaches the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 2, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the discharge conduit comprises an elongate slot extending between the proximal end and the distal end, the elongate slot configured to permit discharge of the granular material therethrough to the inlet.(Figure 2: Arc sliding plate 6 and discharge tube 601)
Regarding Claim 4, Kang teaches the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 3, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the discharge conduit comprises an adjustable barrier configured to prevent discharge of the granular material from the elongate slot at locations other than the a location of the inlet of the end effector.(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")
Regarding Claim 5, Kang teaches the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 4, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the adjustable barrier is reversibly extendable with respect to the end effector.(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")
Regarding Claim 9, Kang teaches the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the discharge conduit is configured to receive granular material from the granular material source via a supply chamber having an outlet in communication with the proximal end of the discharge conduit and configured to contain granular material.(Page 5, lines 268-271: "During the working process, the conveying shaft 3 rotates under the action of external force, and then the raw materials are added into the cylinder 2 through the feed pipe 201. The raw materials are fully mixed and reacted in the spiral blade 301 while moving slowly, and finally discharged through the discharge pipe 601 , Enter the next station.")
Regarding Claim 13, Kang teaches A method of transferring granular material between a filling module and a receiving module, the filling module comprising:(Page 1, lines 14-15: "The invention belongs to the technical field of pet food processing, and particularly relates to a conveying device for pet food production with a self-cleaning function.")a transport chamber configured to store granular material;(Figure 1: Cylinder 2)a conveyor disposed in the transport chamber and configured to move the granular material along a conveyance path to an outlet of the transport chamber; and(Figure 4: Spiral blade 301 to push material to discharge tube 601)a cover disposed with respect to the transport chamber and movable between a closed position in which the outlet is sealed and an open position in which the outlet is open to permit discharge of granular material from the transport chamber,(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")the method comprising steps of:coupling the filling module to the receiving module; moving the cover from the closed position to the open position; and operating the conveyor to transfer granular material between the transport chamber and the receiving module via the outlet.(Page 5, lines 268-272: "During the working process, the conveying shaft 3 rotates under the action of external force, and then the raw materials are added into the cylinder 2 through the feed pipe 201. The raw materials are fully mixed and reacted in the spiral blade 301 while moving slowly, and finally discharged through the discharge pipe 601 , Enter the next station.").
Regarding Claim 14, Kang teaches the method according to claim 13, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the transport chamber has a peripheral wall surrounding the conveyance path and wherein the outlet is formed in the peripheral wall.(Figure 2: Walling around cylinder 2 with plate 6 formed within)
Regarding Claim 15, Kang teaches the method according to claim 14, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the cover comprises a sleeve moveable with respect to the peripheral wall of the transport chamber between the closed position and the open position.(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")
Regarding Claim 16, Kang teaches the method according to claim 15, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the filling module further comprises an end cap, wherein the sleeve is movable with respect to the end cap and configured to form a seal with the end cap in the closed position.(Figure 4: Slide plate 6 is slidable along end cap of cylinder 2)
Regarding Claim 17, Kang teaches the method according to claim 16, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the step of coupling the filling module to the receiving module comprises the end cap of the filling module fitting to a complementary port on the receiving module and wherein the step of moving the cover from the closed position to the open position comprises a subsequent relative movement between the filling module and the receiving module.(Page 5, lines 268-272: "During the working process, the conveying shaft 3 rotates under the action of external force, and then the raw materials are added into the cylinder 2 through the feed pipe 201. The raw materials are fully mixed and reacted in the spiral blade 301 while moving slowly, and finally discharged through the discharge pipe 601 , Enter the next station.")
Regarding Claim 18, Kang teaches the method according to claim 17, as seen above. Kang further teaches wherein the complementary port on the receiving module is moveable between a closed position in which the receiving module is sealed and an open position in which the receiving module is capable of receiving granular material from the filling module, wherein the complementary port on the receiving module is moved to the open position by said subsequent relative movement between the filling module and the receiving module.(Page 5, lines 268-272: "During the working process, the conveying shaft 3 rotates under the action of external force, and then the raw materials are added into the cylinder 2 through the feed pipe 201. The raw materials are fully mixed and reacted in the spiral blade 301 while moving slowly, and finally discharged through the discharge pipe 601 , Enter the next station.", wherein inherently the feed pipe 201 is open while recieving material, and closed when not recieving material)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (Chinese Patent Application CN 112389963A) in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Application CN 114408480A).
Claims 10-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (Chinese Patent Application CN 112389963A) in view of Schlimgen (United States Patent US 10,743,474 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kang discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, as seen above.
However, Kang does not disclose wherein further comprising a first extension and retraction mechanism coupled to a first end of the adjustable barrier and configured to pay out and store the adjustable barrier along the longitudinal direction.
Wang discloses a similar apparatus further comprising a first extension and retraction mechanism coupled to a first end of the adjustable barrier and configured to pay out and store the adjustable barrier along the longitudinal direction.(Page 2, lines 80-84: "Optionally, the material blocking mechanism includes winding rollers located at both ends of the material conveying chute, and a material blocking cloth is wound on the winding roller to prevent the material from splashing from the slot of the material conveying chute, and the material blocking cloth is far away from the material conveying chute. One end of the take-up roller is connected with the side wall of the unloading car, and the rotating shaft of the take-up roller is fixed with a servo motor for driving the take-up roller to rotate.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to include the extension and retraction mechanism as taught by Wang. The motivation for the modification would have been to prevent the loaded material from escaping the drum by reducing the separation of the unloading mechanism from the material trough (Page 1, lines 58-60).
Regarding Claim 7, Kang in view of Wang discloses the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 6, as seen above. Wang further discloses further comprising a second extension and retraction mechanism coupled to a second end of the adjustable barrier and configured to pay out and store the adjustable barrier along the longitudinal direction in concert with the first extension and retraction mechanism.(Page 2, lines 80-84: "Optionally, the material blocking mechanism includes winding rollers located at both ends of the material conveying chute, and a material blocking cloth is wound on the winding roller to prevent the material from splashing from the slot of the material conveying chute, and the material blocking cloth is far away from the material conveying chute. One end of the take-up roller is connected with the side wall of the unloading car, and the rotating shaft of the take-up roller is fixed with a servo motor for driving the take-up roller to rotate.")
Regarding Claim 8, Kang in view of Wang discloses the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 7, as seen above. Wang further discloses wherein the adjustable barrier comprises a tape, the tape being configured to extend along the elongate slot of the discharge conduit and to be coiled within the first and second extension and retraction mechanisms.(Page 2, lines 80-84: "Optionally, the material blocking mechanism includes winding rollers located at both ends of the material conveying chute, and a material blocking cloth is wound on the winding roller to prevent the material from splashing from the slot of the material conveying chute, and the material blocking cloth is far away from the material conveying chute. One end of the take-up roller is connected with the side wall of the unloading car, and the rotating shaft of the take-up roller is fixed with a servo motor for driving the take-up roller to rotate.")
Regarding Claim 10, Kang discloses the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 9, as seen above.
However, Kang does not disclose wherein the discharge conduit is coupled to the supply chamber via a rotatable joint, the rotatable joint configured to permit swinging of the discharge conduit with respect to the supply chamber.
Schlimgen discloses a similar granular material conveyance apparatus wherein the discharge conduit is coupled to the supply chamber via a rotatable joint, the rotatable joint configured to permit swinging of the discharge conduit with respect to the supply chamber.(Column 11, lines 1-32: "In some embodiments, grain cart 100 may include a slide assembly 190 that couples the vertical auger assembly 140 to the front wall 120 of the hopper 118. The slide assembly 190 is configured to allow the vertical auger assembly 140 to move or pivot substantially in a plane parallel to the front wall 120. That is, the vertical auger assembly 140 may move or pivot in the left-or-right directions with respect to the front wall 120 of the hopper 118. When doing so, the vertical auger assembly may move between one or more operating positions along a first unloading range 320 where the vertical auger assembly discharges agricultural material on a first side of the grain cart 100 (e.g., a right-hand side of the grain cart 100) and one or more operating positions along a second unloading range 330 where the vertical auger assembly 140 discharges agricultural material on a second side of the grain cart 100 (e.g., a left-hand side of the grain cart 100). In some embodiments, when the vertical auger assembly 140 is set in the operating position, the discharge portion 144 is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis B-B (shown in FIG. 4) to adjust the angular position of the discharge portion 144. As shown in FIG. 3, while sliding between the first and second unloading ranges, the discharge portion 144 rotates by rotating actuator 145 about the longitudinal axis B-B (shown in FIG. 4) so that the discharge portion 144 is set in a first angular position when the vertical auger assembly is set in a first operating position located along the first unloading range and a second angular position when the vertical auger assembly 140 is set in a second operating position located along the second unloading range. The discharge portion 144 faces in opposite directions when rotating from the first angular position to the second angular position.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to include the discharge conduit as taught by Schlimgen. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a substantially even distribution of agricultural material throughout the assemblies and reduce grain compression around the drive assembly (Columns 5-6, lines 54-4). Regarding Claim 11, Kang in view of Schlimgen discloses the granular material conveyance apparatus according to claim 10, as seen above. Schlimgen further discloses wherein the outlet of the supply chamber is disposed at a distal end of the supply chamber, the distal end of the supply chamber separated from a proximal end of the supply chamber along a second longitudinal direction, wherein the supply chamber comprises a second conveyor configured to move the granular material along a second conveyance path disposed within the supply chamber from the proximal end of the supply chamber towards the distal end of the supply chamber.(Figure 1: Horizontal auger assembly 130 with auger flighting 134).
Regarding Claim 21, Schlimgen discloses A system for handling granular material, the system comprising a granular material transfer apparatus and a granular material conveyance apparatus,(Column 1, lines 5-7: " This disclosure relates generally to farm implements, and more particular, to grain carts having a dual auger for unloading grain from the cart, and drive systems therefor.")wherein the granular material transfer apparatus comprises: a filling module and a receiving module, the filling module being configured to be received by the receiving module to transfer granular material between the filling module and the receiving module, the filling module comprising:(Figure 1: Auger assembly 130 and 150)a transport chamber configured to store granular material:(Figure 1: Hopper 118)a conveyor disposed in the transport chamber and configured to move the granular material along a conveyance path to an outlet of the transport chamber; and(Figure 1: Auger flighting 134)a cover disposed with respect to the transport chamber and movable between a closed position in which the outlet from the transport chamber is sealed and an open position in which the outlet from the transport chamber is open to permit discharge of granular material from the transport chamber,(Columns 8-9, lines 48-3: "In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 11, the horizontal auger assembly 130 may include a flow gate assembly 1102 disposed along the trough 128 and covering the horizontal auger assembly 130. In some embodiments, the flow gate assembly 1102 may include a first plate 1104 (e.g., external plate) and a second plate 1106 (e.g., internal plate) that overlap each other. The first plate 1104 includes one or more openings 1108. The second plate 1106 is pressed against an interior surface of the first plate 1104 and configured to slide between an open position and closed position to cover or expose the openings 1108 of the first plate 1104. When the second plate 1106 is set in the open position, the one or more openings 1108 of the first plate 1104 are exposed to permit grain flow to the horizontal auger assembly 130. When the second plate 1106 is set in a closed position, the one or more openings 1108 of the first plate 1104 are covered by the second plate 1106 so that grain flow is stopped from reaching the horizontal auger assembly 130. In some embodiments, the flow gate assembly may further include an actuator 1110 (e.g., hydraulic cylinder) operatively connected to the second plate 1106 such that the actuator 1110 is configured to move the second plate 1106 between the open and closed positions.")wherein the granular material conveyance apparatus comprises: a discharge conduit comprising a proximal end configured to receive granular material from a granular material source and a distal end separated from the proximal end along a longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit, wherein the discharge conduit is movable with respect to the granular material source,(Figure 1: Auger section 150)wherein the granular material source for the granular material conveyance apparatus is provided by the receiving module of the granular material transfer apparatus.(Figure 1: Hopper 118).
However, Schlimgen does not disclose an end effector engaged externally with respect to the discharge conduit so as to be translatable along the longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit, wherein the discharge conduit further comprises a conveyor configured to move the granular material along a conveyance path disposed within the discharge conduit from the proximal end towards the distal end of the discharge conduit, wherein the end effector has an inlet in communication with the conveyance path at least at a plurality of positions of the end effector with respect to the discharge conduit to allow the granular material to be conveyed from the discharge conduit and into the end effector.
Kang discloses a similar system for handling granular material comprising an end effector engaged externally with respect to the discharge conduit so as to be translatable along the longitudinal direction of the discharge conduit,(Page 5, lines 240-242: "Further, the barrel 2 is also slidably connected with an arc-shaped slide plate 6, and the arc surface of the arc-shaped slide plate 6 is fixedly connected with a discharge pipe 601 to facilitate discharging, and the position of the discharge pipe 601 relative to the barrel 2 can be adjusted.")wherein the discharge conduit further comprises a conveyor configured to move the granular material along a conveyance path disposed within the discharge conduit from the proximal end towards the distal end of the discharge conduit,(Figure 4: Spiral blade 301)wherein the end effector has an inlet in communication with the conveyance path at least at a plurality of positions of the end effector with respect to the discharge conduit to allow the granular material to be conveyed from the discharge conduit and into the end effector,(Figure 2: Sliding plate 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schlimgen to include the end effector as taught by Wang. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an auger that is easier and more convenient to clean while increasing conveying efficiency (Page 1, lines 26-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 19, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 13 and 19. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein decoupling the filling module from the receiving module causes movement of the cover from the open position to the closed position to seal the outlet of the transport chamber. The closest prior arts of record Kang (Chinese Patent Application CN 112389963A), Wang (Chinese Patent Application CN 114408480A) and Schlimgen (United States Patent US 10,743,474 B1) teach a similar method for transferring granular material comprising a filling module, a receiving module, a transport chamber, a conveyor disposed in the transport chamber and a cover moveable between a closed and opened position to permit discharge of granular material from the transport chamber, but all fail to teach wherein decoupling the filling module from the receiving module causes movement of the cover from the open position to the closed position to seal the outlet of the transport chamber. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2022/0288260 A1 (Thiessen, Roland): Thiessen teaches a similar grain transport apparatus comprising storage bins, a grain conveyor, and discharge outlets than can be opened and closed, as seen in Figure 1.
European Patent Application EP 3391725 A1 (Loutz, Eric): Loutz teaches a similar screw conveyor for use in a combine harvester comprising a first and second screw conveyors, a transition housing, a runner and a drive connection as seen in Figure 2.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651