DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 5/15/25. Claims 1-8 and 10 amended. Claims 1-10 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Lee US Publication No. 2007/0200706.
Re Claim 1, Lee discloses an electromagnetic signal-based data collection system including on the one hand a collector (100) provided with a first antenna (105) having a predetermined bandwidth (P9, transmission of information from an RFID tag exciter/reader system …) and on the other hand at least one remote electronic device (200) including a second antenna (205) having a second bandwidth that coincides with the first bandwidth for exchanging signals with the first antenna (P78-86; Figs. 8-11),
wherein the device includes a thermal protection (310 with 320 ) envelope (207; 210) surrounding at least the second antenna (205) and defining a cavity around the latter so that the second antenna radiates signals outside the protective envelope substantially in the second bandwidth (P80-86, the said top case member and the bottom case member are made of synthetic resins… this also can enhance the durability of the patch antenna in high temperature environments.
Re Claim 3, Lee discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein in which the thermal protection envelope (207) is made of a polymer resin (P82).
Re Claim 4, Lee discloses the system as claimed in claim 3,wherein in which the polymer resin has a thermal conductivity less than 1W/(m.K) (P53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US Publication No. 2007/0200706 cited by applicant in view of Margalef US Patent No. 8, 638, 193, cited by applicant. .
Re Claim 2, Lee discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein in which a thickness of the protective envelope is determined as a function of a thermal conductivity of the thermal protection envelope (207; 210) and a surrounding temperature estimated during operation.
Margalef discloses wherein in which a thickness of the protective envelope is determined as a function of a thermal conductivity of the thermal protection envelope (207; 210) and a surrounding temperature estimated during operation (Column 14, Figs. 1-13, casing is designed to protect the antenna from a high temperature environment )
Given the teachings of Margalef it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Margalef with wherein in which a thickness of the protective envelope is determined as a function of a thermal conductivity of the thermal protection envelope (207; 210) and a surrounding temperature estimated during operation since it is conventional in the art to adapt the thickness of the casing on the basis of thermal properties of the casing and the temperature of the environment , (Column 14, lines 48-55)
Re Claim 5, Lee discloses the system as claimed in claim 3 , but fails to disclose wherein in which the polymer resin is a silicone resin or an epoxy resin.
Margalef discloses wherein in which the polymer resin is a silicone resin or an epoxy resin (Column 13 line 33-Column 14 line 45, column 17, lines 48-54).
Given the teachings of Margalef it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Margalef with the polymer resin is a silicone resin or an epoxy resin.
Doing so would provide a protective packaging made of fire-retardant material. (Column 13, line 45-48).
Re Claims 8-10, Lee discloses at least one remote device (P9, 53, P82) of a system as claimed in claim 1 .
Lee fails to disclose a vehicle including a propulsion engine disposed in an engine compartment the remote device being fixed in the engine compartment.
Margalef discloses a vehicle including a propulsion engine disposed in an engine compartment and at least one remote device of a system, the remote device being fixed in the engine compartment (Fig. 13, Column 13).
Margalef discloses wherein in which the aircraft is of the helicopter type (Fig. 13, Column 13).
Given the teachings of Margalef it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with a vehicle including a propulsion engine disposed in an engine compartment and at least one remote device of a system, the remote device being fixed in the engine compartment since it is conventional in the art to use RFID tag in vehicle engines .
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US Publication No. 2007/0200706 cited by applicant in view of Mueller US Patent No. 8, 496, 184, cited by applicant.
Re Claim 6, Lee discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein in which the thermal protection envelope (210) is made of ceramic.
Mueller discloses wherein in which the thermal protection envelope (210) is made of ceramic (Column 5, lines 8-14) .
Given the teachings of Mueller it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with wherein in which the thermal protection envelope (210) is made of ceramic.
Since it is common to use ceramic in radomes for antennas . Doing so would
Re Claim 7, Lee and Mueller discloses the system as claimed in claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein in which the ceramic is silicon nitride or a glass ceramic.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic with a silicon nitride ceramic , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a know material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use for high performance, featuring superior fracture toughness, heat resistance In re Leshin, 125 USPQ and is an obvious matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
JP 7262564 B1 discloses RFID tag 11 covered with a ceramic layer made of ceramics, and the ceramics layer is further covered with an adhesive layer made of an adhesive. In this case, the adhesiveness, heat resistance, and rigidity of the RFID tag can be improved at the same time.
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876