Claim Objections
Claims 21 & 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 21 & 22, the limitation “automatic” should be changed to “automated”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-20 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being (a)(1) by Takano et al. (JP 2003304670).
14. Takano et al. teach:
A method for producing an electrical lamination/plate 24 for a laminated core 22 of an active component/rotor 10 of an electric machine (for rotating machine, see title), the method comprising:
coating an electrical lamination blank/plate 24 with an organic coating/copper (excerpt below);
welding the coated electrical lamination blank with bead on plate welds (laser welding produces beads and laser welding is used to weld the plates outer surfaces 30, excerpt below and figs 1-4) in identified critical regions/non-magnetic regions 32 which are exposed to a mechanical stress during operation of the electric machine (Takano et al. invention is directed to reducing this kind of stress, excerpt below) and form leakage flux paths for magnetic leakage fluxes of a magnetic-field- generating component of the electric machine (the “invalid magnetic field” or flux leakage 18 is formed in the region where the welding takes place, figs 1-4 and 7); and
generating carbon input into the electrical lamination blank (carbon is present in the electromagnetic steel plate, MPEP 2112) and a structural transformation in the identified critical regions (the diffusion of the organic coating is a structural transformation).
15. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the organic coating is a coating of type EC-3 according to DIN EN 10342 (the mud-like coating applied qualifies under both standards as the materials are organic and they are resistive coatings, MPEP 2112 and excerpts above).
16. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the organic coating is formed by an epoxy-based varnish (for paint, see excerpt above).
17. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the bead on plate welds are formed as laser welds (as discussed above, beads are produced on the steel plates because laser welding is used, MPEP 2112).
18. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the bead on plate welds are formed as laser welds (this is the only option since Takanao et al. is assigned by Toyota Motor Corp).
19. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the bead on plate welds are formed as welded-in welds (this is evident by the method of laser welding and the fact that there are precise targeted regions that were welded, see excerpt above, figs 1-5 and MPEP 2112).
20. Takano et al. teach:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the bead on plate welds are formed as welded-in welds (this is evident by the method of laser welding and the fact that there are precise targeted regions that were welded, see excerpt above, figs 1-5 and MPEP 2112).
29. Takano et al. teach:
An electrical lamination /plate 24 for a laminated core 22 of an active component/rotor 10 of an electric machine (for rotating machine, see title), which is produced by a method according to claim 14.
30. Takano et al. teach:
An active component/rotor 10 for an electric machine (for rotating machine, see title) having a laminated core 22 with a plurality of axially stacked electrical laminations (figs 1-5) according to claim 29 and a magnetic-field-generating component/magnet 14, which is held by the laminated core (figs 1-5).
31. Takano et al. teach:
The active component according to claim 30, wherein the active component is configured as a rotor 10 for a permanent-magnet electric machine (since there are permanent magnets 14 in the rotor, MPEP 2112) and the magnetic-field-generating component is an embedded permanent magnet 14 arrangement.
32. Takano et al. teach:
An electric machine (for rotating machine, see title) for a motor vehicle (this is the only option since Takanao et al. is assigned by Toyota Motor Corp) having at least one active component according to claim 30.
33. Takano et al. teach:
An electric machine (for rotating machine, see title) for a motor vehicle (this is the only option since Takanao et al. is assigned by Toyota Motor Corp) having at least one active component according to claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. in view of Kliman (US 4916346).
21. Takano et al. has been discussed above, re claim 14; but does not explicitly teach that the welding is carried out as an automatic welding process. (Examiner note: automating welding is widely known in this era and Kliman is being used to shown that.)
Kliman teaches that a rotor stack where the laminations are being welded has a cheaper manufacturing (excerpt below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Takano et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the welding is carried out as an automatic welding process, as taught by Kliman so as to reduce the manufacturing cost.
22. Takano et al. has been discussed above, re claim 15; but does not explicitly teach that the welding is carried out as an automatic welding process. (Examiner note: automating welding is widely known in this era and Kliman is being used to shown that.)
Kliman teaches that a rotor stack where the laminations are being welded has a cheaper manufacturing (excerpt below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Takano et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the welding is carried out as an automatic welding process, as taught by Kliman so as to reduce the manufacturing cost.
Claim(s) 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. in view of Liang et al. (US 20180262069).
23. Takano et al. has been discussed above, re claim 14; but does not teach that recesses for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component/magnet 110 that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement (fig 2) are separated from the electrical lamination blank, and partial regions of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions and provided with the bead on plate welds.
Kiang et al. teach that recesses/pockets 108 for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement are separated from the electrical lamination blank 100, and partial regions/modified regions 414 of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions/modified regions 414 and provided with the bead on plate welds/modified region 414 (this region is modified using laser welding, para 0022) to reduce flux leakage between the magnets (abstract) which improves the reliability of the rotor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Takano et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that recesses for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement are separated from the electrical lamination blank, and partial regions of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions and provided with the bead on plate welds, as taught by Liang et al. so as to improve the rotor’s reliability.
24. Takano et al. has been discussed above, re claim 15; but does not teach that recesses for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component/magnet 110 that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement (fig 2) are separated from the electrical lamination blank, and partial regions of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions and provided with the bead on plate welds.
Kiang et al. teach that recesses/pockets 108 for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement are separated from the electrical lamination blank 100, and partial regions/modified regions 414 of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions/modified regions 414 and provided with the bead on plate welds/modified region 414 (this region is modified using laser welding, para 0022) to reduce flux leakage between the magnets (abstract) which improves the reliability of the rotor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Takano et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that recesses for accommodating the magnetic-field-generating component that is formed as a permanent-magnet arrangement are separated from the electrical lamination blank, and partial regions of the electrical lamination blank which adjoin the recesses are identified as the identified critical regions and provided with the bead on plate welds, as taught by Liang et al. so as to improve the rotor’s reliability.
25. Takano et al. in view of Liang et al. teach the method according to claim 23, wherein in each case one edge web/modified region 414 (see Liang et al. fig 5), which is formed between a recess 408 (of Liang et al.) and an outer edge of the electrical lamination blank (of Liang et al.), is identified as a first identified critical region/modified region 414 and provided with at least one of the bead on plate welds (this region is modified using laser welding, para 0022).
26. Takano et al. in view of Liang et al. teach the method according to claim 24, wherein in each case one edge web/modified region 414 (see Liang et al. fig 5), which is formed between a recess 408 (of Liang et al.) and an outer edge of the electrical lamination blank (of Liang et al.), is identified as a first identified critical region/modified region 414 and provided with at least one of the bead on plate welds (this region is modified using laser welding, para 0022).
27. Takano et al. in view of Liang et al. teach the method according to claim 23, wherein in each case at least two recesses are separated from the electrical lamination blank in a V shape (Liang et al. fig 5), wherein a central web 414 that is formed between the at least two recesses that are arranged in the V shape is identified as a first identified critical region/modified region 414 and provided with at least one of the bead on plate welds (this region is modified using laser welding which produced beads, para 0022 and MPEP 2112).
28. Takano et al. in view of Liang et al. teach the method according to claim 24, wherein in each case at least two recesses are separated from the electrical lamination blank in a V shape (Liang et al. fig 5), wherein a central web 414 that is formed between the at least two recesses that are arranged in the V shape is identified as a first identified critical region/modified region 414 and provided with at least one of the bead on plate welds (this region is modified using laser welding which produced beads, para 0022 and MPEP 2112).
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834