DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the grass shredding apparatus of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: suction apparatus “202”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “grass” should be changed to –grass.—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guan et al. CN 109348831 A.
Independent Claim 1: Guan discloses a mowing robot, comprising:
a body (101),
a movement mechanism (106), connected to the body and configured to drive the body to move, wherein the movement mechanism is a crawler track mechanism (seen in Fig. 1),
a cutter assembly (seen in Fig. 3), arranged in front of the body (Fig. 1) and comprising a blade (904) to cut grass,
a detection sensor (105), configured to detect an environment in which the mowing robot is located and obtain detection data, and
an autonomous navigation module (“main controller”, not shown), configured to plan a traveling path of the mowing robot according to the detection data, as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2-3, 8-10: Guan further discloses wherein the cutter assembly (Fig. 3) further comprises a top protective cover (403) arranged above the blade (904, see Fig. 4), as per claim 2;
wherein the cutter assembly (Fig. 3) further comprises a protective grid (304) arranged in front of and below the blade (Fig. 4), and the protective grid comprises a plurality of grid bars arranged in parallel (as seen in Figs. 1, 3-4), as per claim 3;
a first lifting driving mechanism (805, Fig. 8), connected to the cutter assembly (Fig. 3) and configured to drive the cutter assembly to perform lifting and lowering, as per claim 8;
a second lifting driving mechanism (805, Fig. 8), connected to the blade (904) and configured to drive the blade to perform lifting and lowering (as seen in Fig. 1), as per claim 9;
a wheel set apparatus (303), comprising at least one rolling wheel (see Figs. 1, 3) connected in front of and/or below the cutter assembly (also seen in Figs. 1, 3) to keep a distance between the cutter assembly (Fig. 3) and a target object, as per claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. in view of Sung KR 20140067480 A.
Dependent Claims 4, 6-7, 14-15: The mowing robot is disclosed as applied above. However, Guan fails to disclose:
a grass collecting apparatus, arranged in the body and located behind the cutter assembly, and configured to collect grass cut by the cutter assembly, as per claim 4;
wherein the grass collecting apparatus comprises a grass inlet and a roller brush arranged at a position of the grass inlet, and the roller brush is configured to brush grass to the grass collecting apparatus, as per claim 5;
wherein the grass collecting apparatus further comprises a grass outlet at a side away from the cutter assembly, as per claim 6;
wherein the grass collecting apparatus further comprises a compression apparatus, wherein the compression apparatus is configured to compress the grass collected in the grass collecting apparatus and discharge compressed grass from the grass outlet, as per claim 7;
wherein the detection sensor comprises:
a visual navigation obstacle avoidance mechanism, arranged in front of and/or behind the body and configured to detect whether there is an obstacle in an environment in which the mowing robot is located, as per claim 14;
wherein the detection sensor further comprises:
a range sensor, arranged on the body and configured to detect a distance between the mowing robot and a target object, as per claim 15.
Sung discloses a similar mowing robot comprising:
a grass collecting apparatus (130), arranged in the body (110) and located behind the cutter assembly (126), and configured to collect grass cut by the cutter assembly (see Fig. 2), as per claim 4;
wherein the grass collecting apparatus (130) further comprises a grass outlet (114) at a side away from the cutter assembly (126), as per claim 6;
wherein the grass collecting apparatus (130) further comprises a compression apparatus (135), wherein the compression apparatus is configured to compress the grass collected in the grass collecting apparatus and discharge compressed grass from the grass outlet (114), as per claim 7;
wherein the detection sensor (138, 146) comprises:
a visual navigation obstacle avoidance mechanism (146), arranged in front (in front, as seen in Fig. 1) of and/or behind the body (110) and configured to detect whether there is an obstacle in an environment in which the mowing robot is located, as per claim 14;
wherein the detection sensor (138, 146) further comprises:
a range sensor (138), arranged on the body (110) and configured to detect a distance between the mowing robot and a target object, as per claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the collection and compression apparatuses of Sung on the mowing robot of Guan in order to leave a clean lawn absent of grass clippings and dust.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection device of Sung on the mowing robot of Guan in order to provide autonomous navigation ability.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. in view of Sung as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Dellert et al. DE 102005054168 A1.
Dependent Claim 5: The mowing robot is disclosed as applied above. However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the grass collecting apparatus comprises a grass inlet and a roller brush arranged at a position of the grass inlet, and the roller brush is configured to brush grass to the grass collecting apparatus, as per claim 5.
Dellert discloses a similar mowing device wherein the grass collecting apparatus (28) comprises a grass inlet (36) and a roller brush (44) arranged at a position of the grass inlet (Fig. 3), and the roller brush is configured to brush grass to the grass collecting apparatus, as per claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inlet roller brush of Dellert in the grass collecting apparatus of Guan and Sung in order to effectively and thoroughly convey clippings in the collecting apparatus.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. in view of Schroeder 4,779,406.
Dependent Claims 11-13: The mowing robot is disclosed as applied above. However, Guan fails to disclose a cutter holder, wherein the cutter assembly is connected to the cutter holder, and
an overturning apparatus, comprising a connecting rod assembly, wherein the connecting rod assembly is connected between the body and the cutter holder and configured to be controlled in an initial state or an overturned state to drive the cutter holder in an initial state or an overturned state, as per claim 11;
wherein the connecting rod assembly comprises a first connecting rod and a second connecting rod, the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are respectively connected to different positions of the cutter holder, the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are respectively configured to be controlled to perform extension or retraction actions to drive the cutter holder to be in the initial state or the overturned state, as per claim 12;
wherein the connecting rod assembly is further configured to be controlled to perform lifting and lowering to drive the cutter holder to perform lifting and lowering, as per claim 13.
Schroeder discloses a similar mowing device comprising a cutter holder (12), wherein the cutter assembly (16, 17) is connected to the cutter holder, and
an overturning apparatus (57), comprising a connecting rod assembly (28, 29), wherein the connecting rod assembly is connected between the body (31) and the cutter holder and configured to be controlled in an initial state (Fig. 2) or an overturned state (Figs. 1, 3) to drive the cutter holder in an initial state (Fig. 2) or an overturned state (Figs. 1, 3), as per claim 11;
wherein the connecting rod assembly (28, 29) comprises a first connecting rod (28) and a second connecting rod (29), the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are respectively connected to different positions of the cutter holder (12, see Fig. 4), the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are respectively configured to be controlled to perform extension (Fig. 2) or retraction (Figs. 1, 3) actions to drive the cutter holder to be in the initial state (Fig. 2) or the overturned state (Figs. 1, 3), as per claim 12;
wherein the connecting rod assembly (57) is further configured to be controlled to perform lifting and lowering to drive the cutter holder (12) to perform lifting and lowering (as seen in Fig. 2), as per claim 13.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cutting assembly overturning apparatus of Schroeder on the mowing robot of Guan in order to provide convenient access to the underdeck for maintenance by an operator.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. DE 4026930 A1 in view of Eggenmueller DE 4026930 A1.
Dependent Claim 16: The mowing device is disclosed as applied above. However, Guan fails to disclose a grass shredding apparatus, arranged in the body and located behind the cutter assembly, and configured to receive and shred the grass cut by the cutter assembly, as per claim 16.
Eggenmueller discloses a similar mowing device (Fig. 4) comprising a grass shredding apparatus (33), arranged in the body (34) and located behind the cutter assembly (35, 36), and configured to receive and shred the grass cut by the cutter assembly, as per claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grass shredding apparatus of Eggenmueller behind the cutting assembly of Guan in order to shred the mown grass for spreading back onto the ground as lawn treatment.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. in view of Sung and Liet et al. DK 141866 B.
Dependent Claims 17-18: The mowing robot is disclosed as applied above. However, Guan fails to disclose wherein the mowing robot comprises a grass collecting apparatus, and
a grass storage box, comprising a grass inlet, wherein the grass inlet is configured to be connected to a grass outlet of the grass collecting apparatus to receive the grass in the grass collecting apparatus, as per claim 17;
wherein the grass storage box further comprises a suction apparatus arranged at the grass inlet, so that the suction apparatus is able to suck grass from the grass collection apparatus into the grass storage box through the grass outlet and the grass inlet, as per claim 18.
Sung discloses a similar mowing robot comprising a grass collecting apparatus (130) having a grass outlet (114), as per claim 17.
Liet discloses a grass storage box (the silo shown in Fig. 1), comprising a grass inlet (28), wherein the grass inlet is configured to be connected to a grass outlet of the grass collecting apparatus (Sung’s outlet 114 of apparatus 130) to receive the grass in the grass collecting apparatus, as per claim 17;
wherein the grass storage box (the silo of Fig. 1) further comprises a suction apparatus (4, 5) arranged at the grass inlet (28), so that the suction apparatus is able to suck grass from the grass collection apparatus (Sung’s 130) into the grass storage box through the grass outlet (Sung’s 114) and the grass inlet, as per claim 18.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the collection and compression apparatuses of Sung on the mowing robot of Guan in order to leave a clean lawn absent of grass clippings and dust.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage box and suction apparatus of Liet on the mowing robot of Guan and Sung in order to store grass for future use and the prevention of plugs in the conveyance of the grass from the mowing robot to the storage box.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. in view of Webster GB 2295304 A.
Dependent Claim 19: The mowing robot is disclosed as applied above. However, Guan fails to disclose wherein the cutter assembly comprises at least two layers of blades arranged in a stacked manner and a driving mechanism for driving the at least two layers of blades, the driving mechanism is configured to drive the at least two layers of blades to perform reciprocating relative movement, to cut grass, as per claim 19.
Webster discloses a similar mowing robot (2) wherein the cutter assembly (42) comprises at least two layers of blades (see Fig. 3) arranged in a stacked manner and a driving mechanism (44) for driving the at least two layers of blades, the driving mechanism is configured to drive the at least two layers of blades to perform reciprocating relative movement (pg. 7, lns. 1-3), to cut grass, as per claim 19.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the reciprocating blades of Webster for the cutting assembly of Guan since both references disclose grass mowing cutters for mowing robots and such a predictable result would be achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Maurer DE 3332192 A discloses a mowing device similar to that of claim 1, but is remote controlled and not an autonomous robot as claimed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 September 28, 2026