DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-13, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sganga et al. (US 2021/0393333, hereinafter “Sganga”).
Referring to claim 1, Sganga discloses a method (Figs. 1, 8A, and 9A. The entire reference is applied to the rejection) comprising: obtaining, by a trained system, at least one movement command for an intervention device of a robotic surgical system to a location within a patient; determining, by the trained system, at least one actuator command for the robotic surgical system associated with the at least one movement command based on the movement command and an estimated current position of the intervention device; and applying the actuator command to the robotic surgical system (¶¶ [0006], [0011]-[0013], [0107][0108], and [0176], “Systems, methods, and devices for guiding an instrument within a vascular network of a patient are described herein. In some embodiments, the instrument comprises an endovascular or intraluminal instrument configured for navigation through the vascular network, such as a catheter (including a steerable or articulating catheter), guidewire, sheath, etc. In some embodiments, the instrument is coupled to a robotic medical system that is configured to manipulate the instrument (e.g., cause articulation, roll, insertion, retraction, etc.) during navigation.” (emphasis added)(¶ [0006]), “In some embodiments, based on such user input, the system can be configured to automatically, dynamically, and/or algorithmically calculate or determine a pathway for the tool to proceed from one waypoint to another waypoint inputted by the user and cause a surgical robot to advance the tool accordingly. In some embodiments, the system can be configured to utilize one or more machine learning and/or artificial intelligence algorithms to determine a pathway for the tool to advance from one waypoint to another waypoint.” (¶ [0107])).
Referring to claim 2, Sganga discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the intervention device is a guidewire (“Systems, methods, and devices for guiding an instrument within a vascular network of a patient are described herein. In some embodiments, the instrument comprises an endovascular or intraluminal instrument configured for navigation through the vascular network, such as a catheter (including a steerable or articulating catheter), guidewire, sheath, etc. In some embodiments, the instrument is coupled to a robotic medical system that is configured to manipulate the instrument (e.g., cause articulation, roll, insertion, retraction, etc.) during navigation.” (emphasis added)(¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 3, Sganga discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one movement command is a desired location within the patient of a tip of the guidewire (¶¶ [0007]-[0013] and [0146]-[0148]).
Referring to claim 4, Sganga discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: obtaining an observed position of the guidewire from the robotic surgical system; and determining the estimated current position of the guidewire based on the observed position (¶¶ [0007]-[0013] and [0146]-[0148]).
Referring to claim 7, Sganga discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining determines a series of actuator commands, each actuator command of the series of actuator commands corresponds to a state of the guidewire (“A waypoint for the instrument can be identified, either by the system or from a user input (e.g., selection of a target waypoint relative to the medical image), and the instrument can be moved to the waypoint. This process can be iteratively repeated, in some embodiments, in a closed loop, to guide the instrument through the anatomy.” (¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 8, Sganga discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: generating image data displaying the estimated current position of the guidewire within a vessel of the patient (Fig. 2, ¶¶ [0006], [0009], [0058]-[0062], “The systems, methods, and devices described herein can, in some embodiments, utilize medical imaging (e.g., X-ray or others) to facilitate navigation. For example, the instrument can be inserted into the anatomy, and a medical image of the anatomy can be captured. The instrument can be identified within the medical image using, for example, one or more computer vision techniques. A waypoint for the instrument can be identified, either by the system or from a user input (e.g., selection of a target waypoint relative to the medical image), and the instrument can be moved to the waypoint.” (¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 9, Sganga discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the estimated current position of the guidewire is overlaid on a three-dimensional vessel segmentation (¶¶ [0125], [0137] and [0170]).
Referring to claim 11, Sganga discloses a trained system comprising: processing circuitry (Figs. 10 and 15, ¶¶ [0008] and [0010]) configured to cause the trained system to obtain at least one movement command for an intervention device of a robotic surgical system (¶¶ [0006], [0008]) to a location within a patient, determine at least one actuator command for the robotic surgical system associated with the at least one movement command based on the movement command and an estimated current position of the intervention device, and apply the actuator command to the robotic surgical system (see rejection of claim 1 above and the entire reference).
Referring to claim 12, Sganga discloses the trained system of claim 11, wherein the intervention device is a guidewire (“Systems, methods, and devices for guiding an instrument within a vascular network of a patient are described herein. In some embodiments, the instrument comprises an endovascular or intraluminal instrument configured for navigation through the vascular network, such as a catheter (including a steerable or articulating catheter), guidewire, sheath, etc. In some embodiments, the instrument is coupled to a robotic medical system that is configured to manipulate the instrument (e.g., cause articulation, roll, insertion, retraction, etc.) during navigation.” (emphasis added)(¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 13, Sganga discloses the trained system of claim 12, wherein the at least one movement command is a desired location within the patient of a tip of the guidewire (¶¶ [0007]-[0013] and [0146]-[0148]).
Referring to claim 17, Sganga discloses the trained system of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the trained system to determine a series of actuator commands, each actuator command of the series of actuator commands corresponding to a state of the guidewire (“A waypoint for the instrument can be identified, either by the system or from a user input (e.g., selection of a target waypoint relative to the medical image), and the instrument can be moved to the waypoint. This process can be iteratively repeated, in some embodiments, in a closed loop, to guide the instrument through the anatomy.” (¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 18, Sganga discloses the trained system of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the trained system to generate image data displaying the estimated current position of the guidewire within a vessel of the patient (Fig. 2, ¶¶ [0006], [0009], [0058]-[0062], “The systems, methods, and devices described herein can, in some embodiments, utilize medical imaging (e.g., X-ray or others) to facilitate navigation. For example, the instrument can be inserted into the anatomy, and a medical image of the anatomy can be captured. The instrument can be identified within the medical image using, for example, one or more computer vision techniques. A waypoint for the instrument can be identified, either by the system or from a user input (e.g., selection of a target waypoint relative to the medical image), and the instrument can be moved to the waypoint.” (¶ [0006])).
Referring to claim 19, Sganga discloses the trained system of claim 18, wherein the estimated current position of the guidewire is overlaid on a three-dimensional vessel segmentation (¶¶ [0125], [0137] and [0170]).
Referring to claim 21, Sganga discloses a trained system comprising: means for obtaining at least one movement command for an intervention device of a robotic surgical system to a location within a patient; means for determining at least one actuator command for the robotic surgical system associated with the at least one movement command based on the movement command and an estimated current position of the intervention device; and means for applying the actuator command to the robotic surgical system (see rejection of claim 1 above and the entire reference).
Claim(s) 11-13, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jihoon Dkweon (Deep Reinforcement Learning for Guidwire Navigation in Coronary Artery Phantom, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement, hereinafter “Jihoon”).
Referring to claim 11, Jihoon discloses a trained system comprising: processing circuitry (Figs. 1(a)-1(b)) configured to cause the trained system (see Section II. Material and Method, “B. Network Setting for Reinforcement Learning” at page 2 and “Algorithm 1 Training Process” at page 5) to obtain at least one movement command for an intervention device of a robotic surgical system (Figs. 1(a)-1(b)) to a location within a patient (“In this study, we propose a deep RL framework for autonomous guidewire navigation in robot-assisted coronary interventions.” (page 2, first column). Thus, the system of Jihoon is capable of guiding a guidewire within a patient), determine at least one actuator command for the robotic surgical system associated with the at least one movement command based on the movement command and an estimated current position of the intervention device, and apply the actuator command to the robotic surgical system (see rejection of claim 1 above and the entire reference).
Referring to claim 12, Jihoon discloses the trained system of claim 11, wherein the intervention device is a guidewire (Fig. 1(b) and Fig. 3).
Referring to claim 13, Jihoon discloses the trained system of claim 12, wherein the at least one movement command is a desired location within the patient of a tip of the guidewire (Fig. 1(b) and Fig. 3).
Referring to claim 17, Jihoon discloses the trained system of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the trained system to determine a series of actuator commands, each actuator command of the series of actuator commands corresponding to a state of the guidewire (see Section II and Section III).
Referring to claim 21, Sganga discloses a trained system comprising: means for obtaining at least one movement command for an intervention device of a robotic surgical system to a location within a patient; means for determining at least one actuator command for the robotic surgical system associated with the at least one movement command based on the movement command and an estimated current position of the intervention device; and means for applying the actuator command to the robotic surgical system (see rejection of claim 11 above and the entire reference).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sganga et al. in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0033017, hereinafter “Yang”) and further in view of Kaethner et al. (US 2021/0298772, hereinafter “Kaethner”).
Referring to claims 10 and 20, Sganga discloses the method of claim 1 and “wherein the processor is further configured to, for each of the plurality of steps receive, from a force sensor associated with the instrument, an insertion force measure associated with the execution of the at least one current trajectory command by the robotic medical system, and cause the robotic medical system to stop movement of the instrument or retract the instrument when the insertion force measure exceeds a predetermined insertion force limit” (¶ [0008]). Sganga fails to disclose wherein the actuator command is at least one of a velocity command or a torque command for the actuator.
Referring again to claims 10 and 20, however, in the same field of endeavor, which is a method of guiding a guidewire in a patient, Kaethner discloses “The stroke may, for example, be defined by a user, or the required size of the respective next stroke may be determined by a pre-trained machine-learning algorithm based on image information from the imaging, the behavior of the guidewire with previous strokes, or the values of the torque sensor.” (¶ [0043]). Yang discloses “Measurements of force and/or torque applied to the catheter or guidewire shafts can be used to determine applied force and/or torque above a safety threshold. When an applied force and/or torque exceeds a safety threshold, a warning may be provided to a user. Applied force and/or torque measurements may also be used to provide feedback related to better catheter manipulation and control. Applied force and/or torque measurements may also be used with processed fluoroscopic imaging information to determine or characterize distal tip motion.” (¶ [0154]).
Referring still to claims 10 and 20, in view of Kaethner and Yang’s teaching and the disclosure in paragraph [0008] of Sganga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have provided a torque command of the guidewire or catheter to the robotic system of Sganga and monitoring the torque of the guidewire to further improve the effectiveness and safety to the system of Sganga.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771