DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the at least one contact element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the vapor diffusion-proof coating of the door leaf" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the side edges” and “the felt material” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dück (WO 2016/131476).
Regarding claim 1, Dück teaches a quick-action door comprising: a flexible door leaf (5); at least one rotatable shaft (9), which is designed for the winding-on of the door leaf (5, [28] teaches “upon rotation of the shaft 9 in direction 11 (winding direction), the door leaf 5 is moved in the opening direction 12 on the door frame 1 upwards”), a door frame (1) against which, when the quick-action door (5) is closed (see fig 1), the door leaf (5) abuts with at least one contact region (region of 3 which contacts door leaf 5) so as to form a seal (via magnets [28]); first magnetic holding elements (3) arranged in the door frame (1); and second magnetic holding elements (magnetic strip in 6) arranged in the door leaf (5) in the contact region (region of 3 which contacts door leaf 5) such that the door leaf (5) is held magnetically in contact with the door frame (1, as taught by [28], “In this outstanding, indicated by hatching in Figure 1 areas is a seal between the vertical frame members 3 of the door frame 1 and the opposite in the closed position superior areas 6 of the door leaf 5 by magnetic action. In the illustrated embodiment, the protruding portions 6 of the door leaf 5 are provided with magnetic tapes, which in the closed position automatically to the vertical frame parts 3 of at least in this area ferro- create magnetic gate frame 1).
Regarding claim 2, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück further teaches wherein the first magnetic holding elements (3) are permanent magnets, and the second magnetic holding elements are ferro-magnetic metal elements (as taught by [010], the configuration can be reversed and magnets could be on the door frame side and a sheet metal strip on the door leaf).
Regarding claim 18, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück further teaches wherein the door leaf is (5) configured as a double door leaf with two door leaf sections (sections 7 and 8 as seen in fig 2), which extend in parallel and are spaced apart from one another, and which are connected to one another at lower ends thereof (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 19, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 18. Dück further teaches wherein one of the door leaf sections (section 8) is connected at an upper end to the at least one rotatable shaft (9), and the other door leaf section (section 7) is fixed at an upper end (as seen in fig 2, section 7 is fixed to frame part 4), or is connected to a second rotatable shaft.
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andre de la Porte (U.S. 9,194,178).
Regarding claim 1, Andre de la Porte teaches a quick-action door comprising: a flexible door leaf (122); at least one rotatable shaft (121), which is designed for the winding-on of the door leaf (122, as described in column 3 lines 20-28), a door frame (140) against which, when the quick-action door (122) is closed (see fig 5), the door leaf (122) abuts with at least one contact region (region of 142 and 144 of 140 which contacts door leaf 122) so as to form a seal (via magnets 134/136 and 150/152); first magnetic holding elements (150/152) arranged in the door frame (140, see fig 4); and second magnetic holding elements (134/136, see fig 5) arranged in the door leaf (122) in the contact region (region of 142 and 144 of 140 which contacts door leaf 122) such that the door leaf (122) is held magnetically in contact with the door frame (140, as taught in column 1 lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 8, Andre de la Porte teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Andre de la Porte further teaches wherein the second magnetic holding elements (134/136) are formed by ferromagnetic wires (134/136 are electromagnets which include a coil of wire, column 4, lines 23-28), which are embedded in an elastic material (within the flexible material of the door leaf 122).
Regarding claim 9, Andre de la Porte teaches the quick-action door of claim 8. Andre de la Porte further teaches wherein the ferromagnetic wires are embedded in the elastic material (as described above), which comprises the at least one contact element (surface of 122 which contacts frame 140) in the form of a contact strip (as described in column 3 lines 56-61 and seen in fig 5), which is attached to the surface of the door leaf (122) in the at least one contact region (region of 142 and 144 of 140 which contacts door leaf 122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Vagliardo (U.S. 2013/0061386).
Regarding claim 3, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the second magnetic holding elements (magnets located in strip 6) being embedded in the material of the door leaf (5).
Vagliardo teaches a flexible curtain with magnetic holding elements where the magnetic holding elements are embedded in the material of the door leaf (fig 2 shows magnets 41 embedded in the door leaf material via pockets 40).
Dück and Vagliardo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves with magnetic holding elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Vagliardo and provide the second magnetic holding elements embedded in the material of the door leaf. Doing so would ensure the magnetic holding elements are secure to the door leaf and would not easily separate from the door leaf when the door leaf is separated from the surrounding frame.
Regarding claim 6, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the second magnetic holding elements (magnets located in strip 6) being embedded in a contact element (surface of 5 which contacts frame 3) which is attached to the surface of the door leaf (5) in the at least one contact region (region of 3 which contacts door leaf 5).
Vagliardo teaches a flexible curtain with magnetic holding elements where the magnetic holding elements are embedded in a contact element attached to the surface of the door leaf (fig 2 shows magnets 41 embedded in the door leaf material via pockets 40).
Dück and Vagliardo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves with magnetic holding elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Vagliardo and provide the second magnetic holding elements embedded in a contact element attached to the surface of the door leaf. Doing so would ensure the magnetic holding elements are secure to the door leaf and would not easily separate from the door leaf when the door leaf is separated from the surrounding frame.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dück and Vagliardo teaches the quick-action door of claim 6. Dück and Vagliardo further teach wherein the at least one contact element (surface of 5 which contacts frame 3 of Dück) is bonded to the door leaf (via pockets 40 of Vagliardo).
Claim(s) 4, 11, 16, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Stoebich (U.S. 6,357,507).
Regarding claim 4, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf (5) being made from a felt material.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from felt material (column 18 lines 39-43).
Dück and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from felt material. Doing so would provide a door leaf with insulating properties that is flexible to be wound and unwound as well.
Regarding claim 11, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf (5) being made from a felt material from natural and/or artificial fibers.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from felt material (column 18 lines 39-43 describes a felt material made from cotton or viscose rayon).
Dück and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from felt material. Doing so would provide a door leaf with insulating properties that is flexible to be wound and unwound as well.
Regarding claim 16, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf (5) being made from a felt material and the edges of the door leaf (5) being sealed.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from felt material (column 18 lines 39-43 describes a felt material made from cotton or viscose rayon) and the edges are sealed (column 6 lines 9-16 describe the side edges turned and sewed).
Dück and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from felt material where the edges are sealed. Doing so would provide a door leaf with insulating properties that is flexible to be wound and unwound as well while reinforcing the edge of the door leaf from wear and tear by sealing the edges.
Regarding claim 17, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf (5) being made from at least two mutually joined layers of felt material.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from felt material with at least two mutually joined layers (column 18 lines 39-43 describes a felt material with several layers).
Dück and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from felt material made of several layers mutually joined together. Doing so would provide a door leaf with insulating properties that is flexible to be wound and unwound while also incorporating flexibility in the manufacturing of the door leaf to make the door leaf as thick as desired by adding additional layers.
Regarding claim 20, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 18. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf sections (sections 7 and 8) being configured to be of different thicknesses.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from material that can be made to be different thicknesses (column 18 lines 39-43 describes a material with several layers).
Dück and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from material made of different thicknesses. Doing so would incorporate flexibility in the manufacturing of the door leaf to make the door leaf as thick as desired by adding additional layers.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Stoebich (U.S. 6,357,507) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Vagliardo (U.S. 2013/0061386).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dück and Stoebich teaches the quick-action door of claim 4. Dück is silent, however, on the felt material having pockets in an interior adjacent to at least one side edge into which the second magnetic holding elements are inserted.
Vagliardo teaches a flexible curtain with magnetic holding elements where the flexible door leaf material has pockets (40) in an interior adjacent to at least one side edge into which magnetic holding elements are inserted (fig 2 shows magnets 41 embedded in the door leaf material via pockets 40).
Dück, Stoebich, and Vagliardo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dück and Stoebich to incorporate the teachings of Vagliardo and provide the second magnetic holding elements in pockets along at least one side edge. Doing so would ensure the magnetic holding elements are secure to the door leaf and would not easily separate from the door leaf when the door leaf is separated from the surrounding frame.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Hall (U.S. 10,113,360).
Regarding claim 10, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf being provided with a vapor diffusion-proof coating on each of its two surfaces facing away from each other.
Hall teaches a flexible curtain with a vapor diffusion-proof coating (layer 602 is a PVC coating known to be vapor diffusion-proof, column 8 lines 20-27) on each of its two surfaces of the door leaf that are facing away from each other (layers 602 as seen in fig 6).
Dück and Hall are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Hall and provide the door leaf with a vapor diffusion-proof coating on each of its two surfaces facing away from each other. Doing so would greatly increase the sound attenuation properties of the door leaf as taught by Hall in column 8 lines 28-32.
Regarding claim 12, Dück teaches the quick-action door of claim 1. Dück is silent, however, on the door leaf being provided with a vapor diffusion-proof coating made from a plastic material.
Hall teaches a flexible curtain with a vapor diffusion-proof coating made from a plastic material (layer 602 is a PVC coating known to be vapor diffusion-proof, column 8 lines 20-27, and PVC is a type of plastic).
Dück and Hall are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dück to incorporate the teachings of Hall and provide the door leaf with a vapor diffusion-proof coating that is plastic. Doing so would greatly increase the sound attenuation properties of the door leaf as taught by Hall in column 8 lines 28-32.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Hall (U.S. 10,113,360) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Leighton (U.S. 2012/0043031).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dück and Hall teaches the quick-action door of claim 10. Hall further teaches vapor diffusion-proof coating (602) on the door leaf to be rolled up, however, Hall is silent as to the coating being flexible to be rolled up even at temperatures below 0°C.
Leighton teaches a flexible curtain with a vapor diffusion-proof coating made from PVC on a flexible panel for a freezer that can be rolled up (as described in [0034]). Leighton teaching utilizing a PVC coating on a freezer door leaf teaches the PVC coating has flexibility below 0°C, as freezers utilize temperatures below 0°C.
Dück, Hall, and Leighton are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dück and Hall to incorporate the teachings of Leighton and provide the door leaf with a vapor diffusion-proof coating that maintains its flexibility to be rolled up below temperatures of 0°C. Doing so would ensure the door leaf maintains its ability to be wound and unwound properly when the door leaf is used in cold storage environments.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Hall (U.S. 10,113,360) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Tuser (U.S. 11,991,960).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dück and Hall teaches the quick-action door of claim 10. Dück and Hall further teach the vapor diffusion-proof coating (602 Hall) on the door leaf (5 Dück) but both are silent as to the vapor diffusion-proof coating being UV stable.
Tuser teaches a flexible PVC coated article where the PVC is UV stable (as taught by column 6 lines 33-40, the PVC coating is UV resistant).
Hall and Tuser are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible vapor diffusion-proof articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dück and Hall to incorporate the teachings of Tuser and provide the door leaf with a vapor diffusion-proof coating that is UV stable. Doing so would ensure the coated door leaf maintains integrity when the door leaf is utilized in an outdoor environment.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dück (WO 2016/131476) in view of Hall (U.S. 10,113,360) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Stoebich (U.S. 6,357,507).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Dück and Hall teaches the quick-action door of claim 10. Dück and Hall further teach the door leaf (5 Dück) and the vapor diffusion-proof coating (layer 602 Hall) of the door leaf (5 Dück) is bonded to the material of the door leaf and/or is fused onto the material (layer 602 Hall is a coating that bonds to the base layer).
Dück and Hall are silent, however, on the door leaf (5 Dück) being made from a felt material.
Stoebich teaches a flexible door leaf where the door leaf is made from felt material (column 18 lines 39-43).
Dück, Hall, and Stoebich are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flexible door leaves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dück and Hall to incorporate the teachings of Stoebich and provide a door leaf made from felt material. Doing so would provide a door leaf with insulating properties that is flexible to be wound and unwound as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,834,897, US 11,248,416, US 9,982,484, US 8,016,017 (all of which teach elements of the claimed invention).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637