DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto (US 20200361246).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto discloses a tire ([0021]) comprising:
a plurality of main grooves extending in a tire circumferential direction (see pair of main grooves 10, Fig. 2); and
a plurality of land portions defined and formed by the plurality of main grooves (see land portions 11, 12);
the plurality of main grooves comprising a first center main groove and a second center main groove adjacent to each other with a tire equatorial plane interposed between the first center main groove and the second center main groove (see pair of main grooves 10, Fig. 2),
the plurality of land portions comprising a center land portion defined and formed by the first center main groove and the second center main groove (see center land portion 11, [0025]),
the first center main groove having a zigzag shape formed by alternately connecting a long portion and a short portion (grooves are zigzag with long portion and short portion, [0024]) ,
the second center main groove having a bent shape formed by connecting a first groove portion having a circumferential length L31, a second groove portion having a circumferential length L32, and a third groove portion having a circumferential length L33 (grooves have a bent shape, e.g., at 10A), and
the circumferential lengths L31 to L33 of the first groove portion to the third groove portion having a relationship L31>L32≥L33 (see annotated Fig. 2, wherein the grooves clearly have three portions of different lengths that satisfy the inequality).
Regarding claim 2, the length of the long portion in the first center main groove is clearly more than 60% of the pitch length of the zigzag (long + short portion lengths) and less than 100%.
Regarding claim 4, the first groove portion and the second/third portions are inclined in mutually opposite directions in the tire circumferential direction (first inclined to right, second/third incline to left, see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 5, the first groove portion is inclined in identical direction in the tire circumferential direction with respect to the long portion (both incline to the right).
Regarding claim 9, the pitch length of the bent shape is the same as the pitch length of the zigzag shape (P3/P2 = 1).
Regarding claim 11, the amplitude of the bent shape is the same as the amplitude of the zigzag shape (A3/A2 = 1).
Regarding claim 12, the center land portion comprises first center lug grooves and second center lug grooves that are inclined in mutually opposite directions (see annotated figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto (US 20200361246) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ninomiya (US 20170210176).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Sakamoto does not disclose the amplitude of the zigzag as claimed; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the zigzag with amplitude of 1.4 to 1.9 times the groove width or 0.55 to 0.95 times the groove width since Ninomiya, similarly directed towards a tire tread, teaches configuring the maximum amplitude in the tire axial direction of a zigzag main groove to be not greater than 3.0 times the maximum groove width of the zigzag main groove to prevent deterioration of steering stability and uneven wear ([0014,0055]), said range overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claims 6-8, Sakamoto does not expressly disclose the lengths of the groove portions of the center zigzag grooves; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the grooves with lengths as claimed since (1) Sakamoto clearly illustrates the zigzag groove structures with portions having lengths that are well within the claimed range (see Fig. 2 with first, second, and third portions identified in annotated figure above); and (2) Ninomiya discloses adjusting zigzag segment lengths to increase the length of edges effectively while suppressing the deformation of the land region adjacent thereto, with edges providing increased traction performance ([0050-0053])--thus one would have been motivated to optimize the segment lengths to improve traction and deformation performance. The first portion clearly has a length that is slightly greater than half the pitch length of the zigzag, the second portion clearly has a length that is less than half the pitch length, and the third portion clearly has a length that is small but substantial enough to be clearly more than 5% of the pitch length. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art and drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. MPEP 2125.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C DYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619