Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/6/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the features identified as the common technical features are not taught by Connell. This is not found persuasive because:
First, regarding applicant’s assertions that the perforating apparatus identified in Connell, 12, is not the recited “mechanical perforation”. The examiner disagrees and first notes that applicant argues features not present in the claim. Second, the examiner notes that applicant appears to have a narrower understanding of what constitutes the “mechanical perforation” under the broadest reasonable interpretation. “Mechanical” is defined as “caused by or derived from machinery.”, see https://www.dictionary.com/browse/mechanical. The perforating gun is a machine/mechanical tool and thus reads on the limitation.
Second applicant argues that feature 51 is not the recited “mandrel”. The examiner notes, as further elaborated in the rejection below, the examiner is relying on the feature at reference numeral 51 which is a mandrel. Applicant appears to be suggesting that the cement retainer must be a different combination of elements than what the examiner has identified.
Finally, applicant argues that the functionality of 51 is not taught (regarding ‘to enable’ cement or another sealing material to be pumped through). The examiner notes, as further elaborated in the rejection below, the limitation is taught and here applicant a appears to be suggesting that the cement retainer must be a different combination of elements than what the examiner has identified.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the length”, however, given that “a length” has not yet been introduced the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 4 recites “the end of said mandrel”, however, given that “an end” has not yet been introduced the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 5 recites “an end of said mandrel”, however, given that the “end” has been introduced (presumably, see objection to dependent claim 4 above), the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 5 recites “a wellbore casing”, however, given that the “a wellbore casing” has been introduced, the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 6 recites “said and at least [….]”. There appears to be a typographical error.
Claim 8 recites “a longitudinal bore of the mandrel”, however, given that the “a longitudinal bore” has been introduced in parent claim 1, the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 9 recites “a wellbore casing” (in at least two locations), however, given that the “a wellbore casing” has been introduced, the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Claim 10 recites “a wellbore casing”, however, given that the “a wellbore casing” has been introduced, the appropriate antecedent term should be used.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a cement retainer deployment assembly comprising a mandrel” and “said mandrel is configured to deploy the at least one cement retainer assembly”. The claim recites that the mandrel is a sub-element of the deployment assembly (as the assembly comprises the mandrel), but it is unclear whether or not the retainer assembly is also a sub-element of the deployment assembly.
Please note the dependent claims are replete with recitation of reciting an interaction between these two elements. The examiner request applicant review the dependent claims to ensure consistency with any potential amendments.
Claim 1 recites “the assembly” in the second-to-last line. It is unclear whether this refers to the assembly of the preamble, the deployment assembly, or the retainer assembly.
Dependent claims 2-13 are rejected for these problematic and confusion recitations and/or their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim 2 recites “a cement retainer assembly”. It is unclear whether this is the same or different from the previously recited “at least one cement retainer assembly”.
Claim 5 recites “a cement retainer assembly”. It is unclear whether this is the same or different from the previously recited “at least one cement retainer assembly”.
Claim 5 recites “a predetermined level of force”. However, parent claim 4 already recites “a predetermined tension”. It appears that the level of force and tension are the same element, when read in light of the specification, but it is unclear why different terminology is being used.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the inwardly retracted condition". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 7-8 are rejected for their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the longitudinal bore". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The mandrel and the perforating apparatus have been recited as having a longitudinal bore.
Claim 12 recites “the assembly” in the second-to-last line. It is unclear whether this refers to the assembly of the preamble, the deployment assembly, or the retainer assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connell (US 20170067313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Connell teaches an assembly for use in abandoning a wellbore, the assembly comprising:
at least one perforating apparatus (Fig 1, perforating gun 16) operable to mechanically cut perforations in a wellbore casing (Fig 1, please see discussion above, the function of the perf gun 16 is to “mechanically cut” the casing. The examiner notes there is no particular mechanism/implement recited that differentiates from this broad but reasonable interpretation);
a cement retainer deployment assembly (Fig 1, assembly 28 and those elements uphole) comprising a mandrel configured to slidably receive at least one cement retainer assembly (Fig 1-2, at least stubbed mandrel portion indicated at reference numeral 51, but not specifically described, but seeming to be a sub-element of 32; see movement between Fig 1-2), wherein said mandrel is configured to deploy said at least one cement retainer assembly in the wellbore (Fig 1-2, mandrel as identified runs in and therefore deploys retainer assembly as defined, including 28) and wherein said mandrel also comprises a longitudinal bore to enable cement or another sealing material to be pumped through said at least one cement retainer assembly (Fig 2, fluid is conveyable to at least the mandrel portion as identified and as seen. Alternatively and/or additionally, fluid is capable of being pumped via 30 when coupled. Please note the claim merely requires the ability to pump the recited fluid as opposed to a step of pumping cement/sealing material); and
wherein said mandrel is configured to be pulled through said at least one cement retainer assembly to release said at least one cement retainer assembly to enable re-use of the assembly at a different location in the wellbore or retrieval of the assembly to the surface for re-use (Fig 2, the mandrel as defined above to allow for the portions of the cement retainer assembly above 28 to be pulled and re-used.).
Regarding claim 2, Connell teaches wherein said mandrel is configured to selectively permit or prevent relative rotation between said mandrel and a cement retainer assembly disposed thereon (Fig 1-2, see parent claim for mandrel as defined, in which at least portion 28 is mounted thereon. Please note the claim recites all possible alternatives of both permitting and preventing relative rotation and is necessarily met by the prior art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell (US 20170067313 A1), in view of Larsen (US 20240117713 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Connell is not explicated on the recited particulars of the mandrel.
Larsen teaches wherein said mandrel has a non-circular portion formed along part of the length of the mandrel (Fig 4A, portion of 210 indicated at 230 has non-circular cross section), wherein when a first part of said at least one cement retainer assembly is located on said non-circular portion (Fig 4A, outer housing to which the mandrel is latched/retainer assembly as a modification to Connel is located on the noncircular portion, as seen), relative rotation is prevented between the mandrel and said first part of said at least one cement retainer assembly (Fig 4C, Para 0103) and when a second part of said at least one cement retainer is not located on said non-circular portion, relative rotation is permitted between the mandrel and said second part of said at least one cement retainer assembly (Fig 4C, mandrel and corresponding housing portion at the cross section of 310 is circular and would by itself permit rotation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Connell by having the mandrel with the recited particulars and the accompanying coupling means with the housing/surrounding elements around the mandrel as disclosed by Larsen because it “automatically releases once the latch collet has engaged with the correct latch coupling without any action required to be taken on the surface” and “will only release when the BHA has reached the correct depth and orientation in the well” (Para 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Connell is not explicated on the recited particulars of a cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus.
Larsen teaches a cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus disposed on the end of said mandrel to enable the mandrel to be pulled to put said cement retainer assembly into tension (Fig 4A, end inserted into the cement retainer of Connell, see Fig 4A of Larsen, end of inner mandrel within housing), and wherein said cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus is able to be pulled through said cement retainer assembly to release said cement retainer assembly from said mandrel when a predetermined tension is applied to the cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus (Fig 4A, Para 0038, “simply applying tension to the tool string will free the running tool with no further action required on the surface […] Continuing to pull on the running tool will retract”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Connell by having cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus to couple the mandrel to the cement retainer as disclosed by Larsen because it “automatically releases once the latch collet has engaged with the correct latch coupling without any action required to be taken on the surface” and “will only release when the BHA has reached the correct depth and orientation in the well” (Para 0023).
Regarding claim 5, Connell as modified teaches wherein said cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus comprises a deformable collet disposed on an end of said mandrel (Fig 4A of Larsen, collet features are fingers on which 230 are mounted), wherein once a cement retainer assembly has been set in position in a wellbore casing, pulling the mandrel with a predetermined level of force deforms said deformable collet and enables the mandrel to be pulled through the cement retainer assembly to release said cement retainer assembly from the mandrel (Fig 4A, Para 0038 of Larsen, “simply applying tension to the tool string will free the running tool with no further action required on the surface […] Continuing to pull on the running tool will retract”).
Regarding claim 24, Connell as modified teaches wherein said cement retainer assembly tensioning and release apparatus is inwardly deformable to enable said mandrel to be pulled through said cement retainer assembly to release said cement retainer assembly from said mandrel (Fig 4A, Para 0038 of Larsen, “simply applying tension to the tool string will free the running tool with no further action required on the surface […] Continuing to pull on the running tool will retract”).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell (US 20170067313 A1), in view of Hallundbaek (US 20140374100 A1).
Regarding claim6, Connell is silent on the recited particulars of the perforating apparatus.
Hallundbaek teaches wherein said at least one perforating apparatus comprises at least one hydraulic cylinder operable (Fig 2, Para 0052, cylindrical body 22) to move said and at least one perforating element between the inwardly retracted condition and outwardly deployed condition in response to actuation of said at least one hydraulic cylinder (Fig 2, perforating element 9 moved by actuation via chamber 31).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Connell by having the perforating apparatus as disclosed by Hallundbaek because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the perforating system of Connell) for another (the perforating system of Hallunbaek) to obtain predictable results (selectively perforating a downhole element).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites additional particulars of the perforating apparatus including: “a deformable ball seat arranged to catch a deformable ball dropped through a longitudinal bore of said at least one perforating apparatus to cause a blockage to enable fluid pressure to be increased in said at least one perforating apparatus to enable said at least one perforating element to move between the inwardly retracted condition and outwardly deployed condition.” While deformable balls and seats are known to be used in combination with perforating devices, see e.g. Low (US 20220389796 A1), Para 0084. In Low the deformable ball is used with a separate sub-element of the tool, specifically, the anchor and would lack the functional relationship to the increasing of the fluid pressure to cause the recited movement.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites: “a cement retainer comprising at least one gripping element, wherein the gripping element is moved from an inwardly retracted condition to an outwardly deployed condition in which said at least one gripping element grips a wellbore casing by rotation of the mandrel relative to said at least one gripping element; a valve apparatus configured to close when said mandrel is removed from the cement retainer assembly to retain cement below the cement retainer assembly in the wellbore; and a rotation prevention apparatus configured to engage a wellbore casing to prevent rotation of the cement retainer assembly to enable relative rotation between the cement retainer assembly and the mandrel.”
While Connell teaches features which could be understood to be a gripping apparatus (e.g. bridge plug 12 which engages the wellbore wall), Connell does not teach the particulars of the valve and rotation prevention apparatus. Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9.
The missing features would not have been obvious either individually or as a combination of references based on the references known to the examiner. Below are references which were considered by the examiner to be relevant:
Jordan (US 5988287 A) teaches a configuration is provided to anchor the tubing string into a polished-bore receptacle while providing the ability to disconnect the tubing string from the polished-bore receptacle in a single trip in the wellbore.
Tumlin (US 20020162657 A1) teaches a cement retainer disposed on a run-in string and a radially expanded perforating assembly disposed below the cement retainer.
Al (US 20200056446 A1) teaches a downhole tool assembly including a bridge plug and a cement retainer in tandem to be deployed into a wellbore on the same run or trip for remedial cementing of the wellbore.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See discussion under allowable subject matter.
/THEODORE N YAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676