DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed May 16, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “first measurement unit”, “second measurement unit”, “determination unit”, and “control unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the entire claimed function and clearly link the structure material or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function control vehicle based on determined speed. The disclosure of the application does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of the ordinary skill in the art to understand which structure or structures perform the claimed function(s). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
If applicant wishes to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to include the phrase “means for” or “step for”. The phrase “means for” or “step for” must be modified by functional language, and the phrase or term must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function; or
(b) Present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation is written as a function to be performed and the claim does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2181.
3. Claims 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 10 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of controlling vehicle based on determined speed. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of the ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0125153 (referred to hereafter as Matsumoto).
As to claims 1 and 10, Matsumoto teaches a method and system for controlling a vehicle, comprising:
measuring a speed of the vehicle at a plurality of points in time using a speed sensor (see para. 39),
measuring accelerations and/or rotational rates of the vehicle in at least one direction, at the plurality of points in time (see para. 33 and 39),
determining, by way of a machine learning model, a speed and/or a speed change of the vehicle based on the measured accelerations and/or rotational rates at the plurality of points in time (see para. 39), and
controlling the vehicle based on a comparison of the measured speeds and the determined speeds and/or determined speed change at the plurality of points in time (see para. 91 and 93).
As to claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on data based on an error-free trip of a vehicle (see para. 39).
As to claim 4, Matsumoto teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein, to control the vehicle (1), a value for the deviation is determined based on the determined speeds and/or determined speed changes and the measured speeds, and wherein the value of the deviation is compared to a threshold value of the deviation, wherein the threshold value is based on a detection rate, a maximum false-positive rate, and/or a time period in which the measurements are taken (see para. 41-42).
As to claim 6, Matsumoto teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein, in the machine learning model, the determination of the speed and/or the speed change is based on a cadence, a driver torque, a drive unit speed, a drive torque, and/or a drive power (see para. 39).
As to claim 8, Matsumoto teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the determination of the speed is performed by the machine learning model based on a classification (see para. 39).
As to claim 9, Matsumoto teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the speed sensor is formed as a pulse-based speed sensor (see para. 39).
As to claims 13 and 19, Matsumoto teaches measuring accelerations and/or rotational rates of the vehicle in at least one direction includes measuring accelerations and/or rotational rates of the vehicle in three directions at the plurality of points in time (see para. 31-32 and 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3, 11-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Kuismanen, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0053491.
As to claim 3, Matsumoto does not teach a sensor error is identified when a specifiable deviation between measured and determined speeds is detected over a period of at least 1 second.
However, Kuismanen teaches a sensor error is identified when a specifiable deviation between measured and determined speeds is detected over a period of at least 1 second (see para. 95-96 and 109). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to determine sensor error in Matsumoto as taught by Kuismanen. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Kuismanen that doing so would allow the system to correct errors in a faster manner.
As to claims 11-12 and 17-18, Kuismanen further teaches the vehicle is a bike (see para. 64).
As to claim 14, Kuismanen further teaches a sensor error is identified when a specifiable deviation between measured and determined speeds is detected over a period of at least 5 seconds (see para. 95-96 and 109).
As to claim 15, Kuismanen further teaches a sensor error is identified when a specifiable deviation between measured and determined speeds is detected over a period of at least 10 seconds (see para. 96-96 and 109).
6. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Gurumurthy et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0125477 (referred to hereafter as Gurumurthy).
As to claim 5, Matsumoto teaches a method and system for controlling a vehicle, comprising determining, by way of a machine learning model, a speed and/or a speed change of the vehicle based on the measured accelerations and/or rotational rates at the plurality of points in time (see para. 39). Matsumoto does not teach the machine learning model is provided in the form of a recurrent neural network, in particular in combination with a 1D convolution. However, Gurumurthy teaches a system and method wherein the machine learning model is provided in the form of a recurrent neural network, in particular in combination with a 1D convolution (see para. 56 and 67).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use convolution in Matsumoto as taught by Gurumurthy. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Gurumurthy that doing so would reduce processing cost and increase speed.
As to claim 7, Gurumurthy further teaches the determination of the speed is performed by way of the machine learning model based on a regression, in particular wherein the speed determined by regression is configured as a speed value (see para. 519, 178 and 81).
7. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Stegmaier et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0054979 (referred to hereafter as Stegmaier).
As to claim 16, Matsumoto teaches a method and system for controlling a vehicle, comprising determining, by way of a machine learning model, a speed and/or a speed change of the vehicle based on the measured accelerations and/or rotational rates at the plurality of points in time (see para. 39). Matsumoto does not teach the speed sensor is reed sensor. However, Stegmaier teaches a bike that uses reed sensor to measure speed.
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use reed sensor in Matsumoto as taught by Stegmaier. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Stegmaier that doing so would improve the accuracy of the readings.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669