Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
At least Figs. 7-9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 28, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 in line 2 recites “header, comprising:” and should be “header, the connecting tube comprising:” to avoid any ambiguity of what comprises the body of the claim.
Claim 28 recites “liquids, comprising:” and should be “liquids, the electrolysis system comprising:”.
Claim 30 recites “header, the method comprising:”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “the seal is formed by an inextricable bond” which is unclear because the specification describes the bond as being plastically welded or by adhesives which are bonds that are capable of being broken at least by force. Furthermore, the term “inextricable” is unclear because any known bond between materials are capable of being separated even if by destructive force. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the seal is formed by a permanent bond” since welds and adhesive bonds are better described as permanent bonds rather than inextricable or impossibly broken bonds.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 112th second paragraph by virtue of their dependency. Thus, claims 17-30 are rejected under 112th second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 20-22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhejiang Sanhua Co Ltd (CN 106555910 A1, hereinafter “Zhejiang”).
In regard to claim 16, Zhejiang discloses a connecting tube (Fig. 1 shows a connecting tube) for connecting a cell nozzle in fluid communication with a chamber of an electrolysis cell to an outlet header (Fig. 1 and see note below), the connecting tube comprising:
a tube body (Fig. 1, tube body at 1);
an outer sleeve connected to a first end of the tube body (Fig. 1, portion at 1A defines an outer sleeve connected to a first end of the tube body);
an inner sleeve arranged inside the outer sleeve (Fig. 1, the tube 3 defines at least an inner sleeve inside 1A) so as to define an annular gap between the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve for receiving the cell nozzle (Fig. 1, annular gap between 1A and 3 which receives at least a cell nozzle 2 similar to applicant’s invention of a cell nozzle which is a tube. Also, see note below.); and
a seal between the outer and inner sleeves and located between the first end of the tube body and the annular gap (Fig. 1, weld material 4 defines at least a seal between 1A and 3 and located between the first end of the tube body 1 and the annular gap),
wherein the seal is formed by a permanent bond of the outer sleeve to the inner sleeve (Fig. 1, weld material between 1A and 3 define at least a permanent bond of 1A to 3).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the following are functional recitations that do not structurally differentiate over the prior art Zhejiang:
“for connecting a cell nozzle in fluid communication with a chamber of an electrolysis cell to an outlet header” is a recitation of intended use of the connecting tube which does not structurally differentiate the claimed connecting tube to the connecting tube of Zhejiang; and
“for receiving the cell nozzle” is a recitation of intended use of the gap which does not structurally differentiate the claimed gap to the gap of Zhejiang which is also used for a tube similar to applicant’s invention.
In regard to claim 20, Zhejiang discloses the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein a first portion of the outer sleeve that defines the annular gap is larger in diameter than a second portion of the outer sleeve that is fixed to the inner sleeve (See image below, the outer sleeve defines at least a first portion which has a diameter larger than a diameter of a second portion of the outer sleeve which is fixed to the inner sleeve 3 by a welded connection as disclosed in [0056] of the English translation).
In regard to claim 21, Zhejiang discloses the connecting tube according to claim 20, wherein the outer sleeve has a tapered transition between the first and second portions (See image above for claim 20, between the opposite ends of the first and second portions has a tapered transition).
In regard to claim 22, Zhejiang discloses the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein the inner sleeve protrudes from the outer sleeve in a direction away from the tube body (Fig. 1, inner sleeve 3 protrudes from 1A in a direction away from the tube body 1 similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 27, Zhejiang discloses the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein the outer sleeve and the tube body are formed as a single piece (Fig. 1, at 1A and at 1 are formed as a single piece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Hagen (US 4,578,855 hereinafter “Hagen”) in view of Zhejiang CN 106555910 A1).
In regard to claim 16, Hagen discloses a connecting tube (Fig. 2 shows a connecting tube) for connecting a cell nozzle in fluid communication with a chamber of an electrolysis cell to an outlet header (Fig. 2 and see note below), the connecting tube comprising:
a tube body (Fig. 2, tube body at 30);
an outer sleeve connected to a first end of the tube body (Fig. 2, the portion of 30 that fits over 32 defines an outer sleeve connected to a first end of the tube body 30);
an inner sleeve arranged inside the outer sleeve (Figs. 2 and 3, 30 is heated to fit over a tube 35 which 35 defines at least an inner sleeve inside of the outer sleeve); and
a seal between the outer and inner sleeves (Fig. 3, the heating of 33 over 35 defines a seal between the outer sleeve and the inner sleeve similar to applicant’s invention),
wherein the seal is formed by a permanent bond of the outer sleeve to the inner sleeve (Figs. 2 and 3, the outer sleeve of 30 is heated to plastically deform and weld onto 35 similar to applicant’s invention to form a permanent bond of the outer sleeve to the inner sleeve).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the following are functional recitations that do not structurally differentiate over the prior art Hagen:
“for connecting a cell nozzle in fluid communication with a chamber of an electrolysis cell to an outlet header” is a recitation of intended use of the connecting tube which does not structurally differentiate the claimed connecting tube to the connecting tube of Hagen.
Hagen does not expressly disclose an annular gap between the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve for receiving the cell nozzle and the seal is between the first end of the tube body and the annular gap. However, such features are missing because the outer sleeve fits over a single layer tube 35 rather than fitting over two tubes.
In the related field of connecting tubes, Zhejiang teaches an outer sleeve that fits over two tubes to define an annular gap (Fig. 1, outer sleeve 1A fits over tubes 3 and 2 which an annular gap is between 1A and 3) in order to have at least the advantage of improved reliability and durability of the connection to a pipe (In [0015] discloses tube 3 made of the same material as the outer sleeve 1 allows an improved reliability and durability to the connection to the tube 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tube 35 of Hagen to include an additional tube such that an annular gap between the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve for receiving the cell nozzle and the seal is between the first end of the tube body and the annular gap with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of improved reliability and durability of the connection to a pipe as taught by Zhejiang.
See below of an illustration of Hagen in view of Zhejiang.
In regard to claim 17, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, and Hagen further discloses wherein the outer sleeve is made of flexible plastic material (In 3:14-19 discloses 30 can be made of Teflon which is PTFE and is a flexible plastic material).
In regard to claim 18, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 17, and Hagen further discloses wherein the outer sleeve is made of polytetrafluoroethylene (See claim 17 above, 30 can be made of PTFE).
In regard to claim 19, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, and Hagen further discloses wherein the seal is formed by portions of the outer and inner sleeves joined by a plastic welded connection (See claim 16 above and the image attached to claim 16, the outer sleeve is heated to plastically weld to the inner sleeve similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 20, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein a first portion of the outer sleeve that defines the annular gap is larger in diameter than a second portion of the outer sleeve that is fixed to the inner sleeve (See image attached to claim 16, a first portion defined as the portion of the outer sleeve that fits over the cell nozzle tube which defines the annular gap and has a larger diameter than a second portion of the outer sleeve that fits only over the inner sleeve similar to applicant’s invention because of heating the outer sleeve to fit the outer surfaces of the indicated inner sleeve and cell nozzle tube. See claim 16 above for the same reasons to combine Hagen and Zhejiang.).
In regard to claim 21, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 20, wherein the outer sleeve has a tapered transition between the first and second portions (See image attached to claim 16, the outer sleeve has a tapered transition between the first and second portions because of the heating of the outer sleeve 30 which conforms to the surfaces of the inner sleeve and the cell nozzle tube to define tapered transition portions. See claim 16 above for the same reasons to combine Hagen and Zhejiang.).
In regard to claim 22, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein the inner sleeve protrudes from the outer sleeve in a direction away from the tube body (See image attached to claim 16, the inner sleeve protrudes from the outer sleeve in a direction away from the tube body. See claim 16 above for the same reasons to combine Hagen and Zhejiang.).
In regard to claim 23, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, wherein the inner sleeve is made of a plastic material (As previously mentioned, the inner sleeve is designed to be made of the same material as the outer sleeve in order to form the strong connection with another tube, therefore, Hagen in view of Zhejiang would reasonably disclose the inner sleeve to be made of PTFE like the outer sleeve. See claim 16 above for the same reasons to combine Hagen and Zhejiang.).
In regard to claim 24, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 23, wherein the inner sleeve is made of polytetrafluoroethylene (See claim 23 for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 25, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, and Hagen further discloses wherein the tube body is a flexible tube (See claims 17 and 18 above for the same reasons, the tube body can be made of PTFE which is a flexible material).
In regard to claim 26, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, and Hagen further discloses wherein the tube body is a corrugated hose (Fig. 2, corrugated portion of 30 defines the tube body as at least a corrugated hose similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 27, Hagen and Zhejiang disclose the connecting tube according to claim 16, and Hagen further discloses wherein the outer sleeve and the tube body are formed as a single piece (Fig. 2, the outer sleeve part of 30 and the tube body are formed as a single piece).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donst et al. (US 11,608,561 B2, hereinafter “Donst”) in view of Hagen (US 4,578,855) and further in view of Zhejiang CN 106555910 A1).
In regard to claim 28, Donst discloses an electrolysis system for electrolytic treatment of liquids (Fig. 1 shows an electrolysis system for electrolytic treatment of liquids), the electrolysis system comprising:
an electrolysis cell having an anode chamber, a cathode chamber, an ion exchange membrane separating the anode chamber from the cathode chamber (Fig. 1, anode at 15, cathode at 26, and ion exchange membrane 13 which separates 15 and 26), and cell nozzles assigned to the respective chambers (Fig. 2, cell nozzles near both 17 and 15 and 16);
one or more headers (Fig. 2, headers at both 17).
Donst does not expressly disclose a connecting tube according to claim 16, which connects one of the cell nozzles to one of the headers with the cell nozzle inserted into the annular gap defined between the outer and inner sleeves of the connecting tube, wherein a clamping force is applied to the outer sleeve, thereby clamping the outer sleeve to the cell nozzle.
Hagen in view of Zhejiang discloses a connecting tube according to claim 16 (See claim 16 above for the same reasons), which connects one of the cell nozzles to one of the headers with the cell nozzle inserted into the annular gap defined between the outer and inner sleeves of the connecting tube (See claim 16 above for the same reasons with regard to having a cell nozzle tube inserted between the outer sleeve and inner sleeve), wherein a clamping force is applied to the outer sleeve, thereby clamping the outer sleeve to the cell nozzle (Fig. 4 of Hagen, a clamping force can be applied with a clamp 44 to the outer sleeve. See claim 16 above for the same reasons to combine Hagen and Zhejiang which provides at least a configuration to increase strength and durability to a connection to another tube such as a cell nozzle tube.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell nozzles of Donst to include the connecting tube of claim 16 which connects one of the cell nozzles to one of the headers with the cell nozzle inserted into the annular gap defined between the outer and inner sleeves of the connecting tube and wherein a clamping force is applied to the outer sleeve, thereby clamping the outer sleeve to the cell nozzle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of increased strength and durability for connecting to another tube such as a cell nozzle tube as taught by Hagen in view of Zhejiang. See MPEP 2143(I)(G) with regard to a motivation to combine references may be implicit and when the ‘improvement’ is technology-independent and the combination of references results in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, or more efficient. In this case, Hagen in view of Zhejiang would reasonably suggest a tubing configuration of heating an outer sleeve over an inner sleeve and a cell nozzle tube in order to have the advantage of a more durable and reliable tubing connection in a tube system such as the system of Donst.
It is noted that the crux of applicant’s invention is the connecting tube and not the electrolysis system because such features of the electrolysis system are acknowledged by applicant’s specification and in applicant’s drawings in Figs. 7-9 as well-known in the art. The crux of applicant’s invention is to apply a particular connecting tube configuration to the well-known electrolysis system. However, as mentioned above, Hagen in view Zhejiang disclose such kind of connecting tube configuration.
In regard to claim 29, Donst, Hagen, and Zhejiang disclose the electrolysis system according to claim 28, and Hagen further discloses wherein the clamping force is applied by a clamp (Fig. 4, band clamp 44), which comprises a band extending around the outer sleeve (Fig. 4, clamp 44 is at least a band that extends around the outer sleeve).
Donst, Hagen, and Zhejiang do not expressly disclose the clamp is a screw clamp with a screw configured to tighten the band. However, such type of clamp is conventional as disclosed at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hose_clamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Donst, Hagen, and Zhejiang to be a conventional screw clamp with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of reliability of proven conventional screw clamps and commercial availability.
In regard to claim 30, Donst, Hagen, and Zhejiang disclose a method for connecting a cell nozzle communicated with a chamber of an electrolysis device to a header (See claim 28 above for the same reasons with regard to cell nozzles in an electrolysis device), the method comprising:
providing a connecting tube according to claim 16 (See claim 28 above for the same reasons);
inserting the cell nozzle into the annular gap defined between the outer and inner sleeves of the connecting tube (See claim 28 above for the same reasons); and
applying a clamping force to the outer sleeve (See claim 29 above for the same reasons).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Van Den Bergh et al. (US 9,046,200 B2), Sakazaki et al. (US 7,267,373 B2), Altmann et al. (US 6,439,621 B1), Kawasaki (US 5,568,944), Tibbals (US 4,846,167), Medney (US 3,606,403), and Hutchins (US 2,949,319) disclose a connecting tube having an outer sleeve, inner sleeve, and a cell nozzle tube similar to applicant’s invention. Therefore, overlapping an outer sleeve over an inner sleeve and another tube does not appear new.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679