DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “electronic control means” in claim 1 that use the word “means” (or “step”) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In light of the specification, the limitation “electronic control means” has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “one of first and second magnetometers” in paragraph 0064.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites that the wind measurement is “adapted to instantaneously and continuously change said range angle.” The term “instantaneously” renders the claim indefinite because the claim does not establish a measurable temporal boundary for the required response. It is unclear whether “instantaneously” requires the range angle to change simultaneously with detection of a change in wind conditions, within a specified response time, or merely without a substantial delay. The claim provides no objective time interval or other criterion by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine whether a particular adjustment occurs “instantaneously.” Accordingly, the scope of the limitation depends on an unspecified and subjective understanding of what constitutes an instantaneous response. The term “continuously” is indefinite as well because the claim does not specify what is required for the range angle to be considered continuously changed. In particular, it is unclear whether “continuously” requires uninterrupted physical movement of the spout tube, uninterrupted electronic adjustment of the drive means, repeated adjustment at successive time intervals, or merely the capability of adjusting the range angle in response to changing wind conditions.
Claim 11 recites the term “excessive inclination”, which is a term of degree for which the claim does not provide an objective standard by which to determine the scope of the limitation. The claim does not specify an angular value, angular range, threshold, tolerance, or other criterion that distinguishes an “excessive” inclination from an inclination that is not excessive. Thus, it is unclear what degree of inclination must be detected before the claimed shut-off operation is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drechsel (US 2004/0089735 A1) in view of Yang (CN 109122217).
With regard to claim 1, Drechsel discloses an impulse sprinkler (3) with an adjustment system for adjusting a range angle (a) of a jet (Fig. 4), wherein the impulse sprinkler (3) comprises; a spout tube (6) connected to a pressurized water supply line (2) for generating the jet; and a joint (13) adapted to allow the an inclination of the spout tube (6); wherein the adjustment system (10/12/13) comprises drive means (12) associated with said joint (13) to determine the inclination of the spout tube (Par. [0030])), and electronic control means (10) are provided which are selectively connected to said drive means (12 and claim 9) to allow a continuous change in the range angle (a); and wherein said drive means are a stepper drive (claim 4).
Drechsel is silent to disclose that said stepper drive adapted to drive a gear movable along a threaded member or a worm screw having a sliding axis coplanar to an axis of said spout tube.
Yang teaches a sprinkler comprising a drive means (Fig. 2) are a stepper drive (19) adapted to drive a gear (14) movable along a threaded member or a worm screw (8/15) having a sliding axis coplanar to an axis of said spout tube (11, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive means of the sprinkler of Drechsel, by incorporating the stepper drive, the gear and the worm screw (Fig. 3) as taught by Yang, since the modification is a simple substitution of one known drive means for another drive means to obtain predictable results is one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 3, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Yang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Drechsel in view of Yang further discloses that said electronic control means (10) comprise at least one proximity sensor (“Hall sensors” in Drechsel’s sprinkler) configured to detect a position of said threaded member or said worm screw with respect to said drive means and to measure said range angle.
With regard to claim 4, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Yang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Drechsel in view of Yang further discloses that said electronic control means (10) comprise at least one first magnetometer and one second magnetometer (“a series of radially arranged Hall sensors” see Col. 5 line 22) positioned spaced apart respectively at said joint (13) and said spout tube (6), said first and said second magnetometers (“Hall sensors”) being configured to detect the a position of said spout tube (6) and measure said range angle (Fig. 10).
With regard to claim 10, since the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Yang discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Yang will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 10.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drechsel in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alsafar (US 11,504,733 B1).
With regard to claim 8, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Yang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, they do not disclose that said electronic control means comprise an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope configured to shut off a supply of the pressurized water to said spout tube when the latter spout tube tips over and/or has a-the range angle (a) different from the one set a preset range angle.
Alsafar teaches a spraying device comprising electronic control means (68) comprise an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope (Col. 5 line 24) configured to shut off a supply of the pressurized water to said spout tube when the latter spout tube tips over and/or has a-the range angle (a) different from the one set a preset range angle (Col. 5 lines 23-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprinkler of Drechsel, by incorporating the gyroscope as taught by Alsafar, for the benefit of improving navigational control (Col. 5 line 25).
With regard to claim 11, since the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Yang and Alsafar discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Yang and Alsafar will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 11.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drechsel (US 2004/0089735 A1) in view of Lozier (US 8,245,790 B2).
With regard to claim 1, Drechsel discloses an impulse sprinkler (3) with an adjustment system for adjusting a range angle (a) of a jet (Fig. 4), wherein the impulse sprinkler (3) comprises; a spout tube (6) connected to a pressurized water supply line (2) for generating the jet; and a joint (13) adapted to allow the an inclination of the spout tube (6); wherein the adjustment system (10/12/13) comprises drive means (12) associated with said joint (13) to determine the inclination of the spout tube (Par. [0030])), and electronic control means (10) are provided which are selectively connected to said drive means (12 and claim 9) to allow a continuous change in the range angle (a); and wherein said drive means are a stepper drive (claim 4).
Drechsel is silent to disclose that said stepper drive adapted to drive a gear movable along a threaded member or a worm screw having a sliding axis coplanar to an axis of said spout tube.
Lozier teaches a sprinkler comprising a drive means (Fig. 7) are a motor drive (57) adapted to drive a gear (56) movable along a threaded member or a worm screw (44, Fig. 7) having a sliding axis (rotational axis of 44) coplanar to an axis of said spout tube (23, Fig. 7 shows both axes are arranged on the same plane shown in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive means of the sprinkler of Drechsel, by incorporating the drive, the gear and the worm screw (Fig. 7) as taught by Lozier, since the modification is a simple substitution of one known drive means for another drive means to obtain predictable results is one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 3, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Lozier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lozier further discloses that said electronic control means comprise at least one proximity sensor configured to detect a position of said threaded member or said worm screw with respect to said drive means and to measure said range angle (Col. 5 lines 51-65).
With regard to claim 4, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Loizer discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Drechsel in view of Loizer further discloses that said electronic control means comprise at least one first magnetometer and one second magnetometer (“hall effect sensors”) positioned spaced apart respectively at said joint and said spout tube, said first and said second magnetometers being configured to detect a position of said spout tube (6) and measure said range angle (Col. 5 lines 51-65).
With regard to claim 5, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Lozier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Drechsel in view of Lozier further discloses that said drive means (Fig. 7) comprise an encoder adapted to measure in real time a position of said gear along said threaded member or said worm screw (Fig. 8A).
With regard to claim 7, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Lozier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lozier further discloses that said electronic control means (Fig. 8A) comprise an electronic storage unit adapted to store a value of at least one the range angle which can be set by the a user or by an irrigation map (Col. 7 line 61- Col. 8 line 35).
With regard to claim 9, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Lozier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Drechsel further discloses that said electronic control means (10) are connected by wire or wi-fi to a device for measuring the providing a measurement of strength and direction of a wind, said measurement being adapted to instantaneously and continuously change said range angle (Col. 5 line 33 – Col. 6 line 15).
With regard to claim 10, since the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Lozier discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Lozier will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 10.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drechsel in view of Loizer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alsafar (US 11,504,733 B1).
With regard to claim 8, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel as modified by Lozier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, they do not disclose that said electronic control means comprise an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope configured to shut off the a supply of the pressurized water to said spout tube when the latter spout tube tips over and/or has a-the range angle (a) different from the one set a preset range angle.
Alsafar teaches a spraying device comprising electronic control means (68) comprise an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope (Col. 5 line 24) configured to shut off a supply of the pressurized water to said spout tube when the latter spout tube tips over and/or has a-the range angle (a) different from the one set a preset range angle (Col. 5 lines 23-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprinkler of Drechsel, by incorporating the gyroscope as taught by Alsafar, for the benefit of improving navigational control (Col. 5 line 25).
With regard to claim 11, since the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Lozier and Alsafar discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the impulse sprinkler of Drechsel in view of Lozier and Alsafar will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752