This is the first office action in response to the above identified patent application filed on 05/17/2025. Claims 1-4 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Baig et al. (US 2020/0031480).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 1 and 2 shown immediately above, Baig discloses a propulsion system for a vehicle (abstract states power system for an aircraft/vehicle), comprising:
at least one generator (110 when operated in the generator mode; par. 10, 38);
at least one ultracapacitor 104 coupled to the at least one generator 110;
at least one battery 106 coupled to the at least one generator 110;
at least one compressor (compressor 44/52 coupled to the engine shaft 40; the engine shaft connected to the generator, ultracapacitor and battery as shown in figure 2; par. 38 states the engine shaft 112 in figure 2 can be the inner shat 40 or the outer shaft 50 in figure 1) coupled to the at least one generator 110, the at least one ultracapacitor 104 and the at least one battery 106; and
at least one propulsive element 42 coupled to the compressor (compressor 44/52 connected to the fan 42 via the shaft 40 and the gearbox 48).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Baig discloses wherein the at least one propulsive element comprises a propeller (engine fan 42 generates thrust that propels the aircraft, thus a propeller; par. 3).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Baig discloses wherein the at least one ultracapacitor supplies power for a predetermined period of time and then recharges from the at least one generator (par. 10 teaches the ultracapacitor provides power to the electric motors for whatever predetermined period of time, then the generator recharges the ultracapacitor).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Baig discloses wherein the vehicle comprises at least one wing (par. 3 teaches the propulsion engines are mounted in or under the wings of the vehicle/aircraft) and the at least one propulsive element (propeller 42 is part of the propulsion engines and mounted to the wings; par. 3) is coupled to the at least one wing.
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Saiz (US 2012/0280091).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 45-49, Saiz discloses a propulsion system for a vehicle (abstract states propulsion system for an aircraft/vehicle), comprising:
at least one generator (78a-c; par. 133);
at least one ultracapacitor (83; par. 133) coupled to the at least one generator;
at least one battery (81; par. 133) coupled to the at least one generator;
at least one compressor (compressor of micro-turbine 60; par. 127) coupled to the at least one generator 78a-c, the at least one ultracapacitor 83 and the at least one battery 81; and
at least one propulsive element (rotors 3 and/or 54) coupled to the compressor (rotors 54 are coupled to the micro-turbine 60 which comprises a compressor section; figure 48, par. 127).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Saiz discloses wherein the at least one propulsive element comprises a propeller (3 and/or 54; refer to figure 48, 49).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Saiz discloses wherein the vehicle comprises at least one wing 48 and the at least one propulsive element (rotors 3 and/or 54 are connected to the aircraft wing; figures 48, 49; par. 133) is coupled to the at least one wing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiz in view of Berry (US 2014/0103158).
Saiz teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above including the ultracapacitor (83; par. 133).
Saiz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one ultracapacitor supplies power for a predetermined period of time and then recharges from the at least one generator.
Berry is in the field of aircraft propulsions systems and teaches wherein the at least one ultracapacitor supplies power for a predetermined period of time and then recharges from the at least one generator (During daylight hours, the aircraft uses a regenerative drive to store power in the ultracapacitors, which are then utilized to power the aircraft at night, pars 14, 28, 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the ultracapacitor of Saiz to supply power for a predetermined period of time and then recharge from the at least one generator, as taught by Berry, in order to provide an onboard mechanism for providing power to the ultracapacitors (pars. 14, 28, 84 in Berry.
Contact Information
/William H Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741