This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 19/131,110 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2019/0271500 to Lee.
Lee teaches
1. A refrigerator comprising: a cabinet (10) forming a storage space (12); a main control part (14) provided in the cabinet; a door (20,50) opening and closing the storage space; a display device (60) provided in the door and connected to the main control part (via cables 607, figure 19); and an electrical component (57, door light) provided in the door; wherein the display device is connected to the main control part by a main- electric wire (607) passing through the door (figures 18, 19), and wherein at least one of the electrical components is connected to the display device by a sub-electric wire (609, 606,608) and receives power and signals from the main control part through the display device (via display PCB 142, see figure 19).
2. wherein the number of main-electric wires is provided smaller than the number of sub-electric wires (figure 19).
3. wherein the display device includes: a display (62); a sub-control part (604, figure 17) controlling the display; a main-connector (604c, figure 17) which is provided on the sub-control part and to which the main-electric wire is connected; and a sub-connector (604d) provided on the sub-control part and to which the sub-electric wire is connected.
4. wherein the number of sub-connectors is formed greater than the number of main-connectors (figure 17).
5. wherein the main-connector is configured as a single connector and the sub- connector is configured as a plurality of connectors (figure 17).
6. wherein a hinge (541a) connected to the cabinet is provided at the upper end of the door, and wherein the main-connector and the sub-connector are both provided at an upper end of the sub-control part, and the main-electric wire is guided along the hinge (as best seen in figure 15, par 0204).
7. wherein the door includes: a front panel (51 or 61) forming a front surface (as best seen in figures 7 and 11); a door liner (56) disposed at a rear side spaced from the front panel and forming a rear surface; a frame (52) connecting between the front panel and the door liner; and an insulating material (par 199) filled in a space between the front panel, the door liner, and the frame; and wherein the display device is mounted on the frame, and the main-electric wire and the sub-electric wire are connected to the display device at the frame (as best seen in figure 7).
8. wherein the frame includes: a first surface contacting the front panel, and a second surface extending rearwardly at a position lower than an upper end of the first surface and is coupled with the door liner, and wherein a recessed display mounting part is formed on the second surface so that the display device is inserted therein (as best seen in figures 7-9, 16).
9. wherein the display device protrudes upward more than the display mounting part, and wherein the main-electric wire and the sub-electric wire are connected to an upper end of the display device exposed to the outside of the frame (as best seen in figure 17).
10. wherein a frame cover (54,544) that shields the display device, the main-electric wire, and the sub-electric wire is provided at the frame (figure 15).
11. wherein a hinge mounting part (figures 15, 18, 28, and 30) on which a hinge (501,401) connected to the cabinet is mounted is formed on the frame, and wherein an electric wire opening (541b) which opens to communicate with the hinge mounting part and through which the main-electric wire enters and exits is formed at the frame cover.
13. wherein the front panel is formed of a glass material (par 0153), and wherein the display device is disposed to see through the front panel.
14. wherein the electrical component is at least one of a knock detection device for detecting a knock operation of the door, a detection switch for detecting the opening of the door, a communication device for wireless communication, and a sensor device (612, figure 20).
15. wherein the electrical component is a heater (par 0140) that is provided in the door and generates heat to prevent condensation, and wherein the heater is directly connected to the main control part by a heater electric wire.
16. wherein the electrical component is a door light (57) provided on the door to illuminate a rear space of the door (figure 20), and wherein the door light is directly connected to the main control part by a light electric wire (609).
19. wherein the main-electric wire includes: a first main-electric wire (602b) connected to the display device; and a second main-electric wire (607) connected to the main control part, and wherein the first main-electric wire and the second main-electric wire are connected to each other by a connection connector on the inside of the door (in the PCB 604).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2019/0271500 to Lee in view of US Patent Publication 2006/0064846 to Espindola.
Lee discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except an electric wire opening on both sides of the frame cover.
Espindola teaches a refrigerator a hinge and wire structure that is symmetrical to allow for a left and right hinged door.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Lee by making the door symmetrical with electric wire openings on both sides as taught by Espindola to allow for the hinge to be left or right handed.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2019/0271500 to Lee in view of US Patent 10,907,894 to Park.
Lee discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the light expressly including LEDs.
Park teaches a regenerator with a door light with LEDs (4921) on a substrate (492) that is covered by a strip cover (493). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Lee by using LEDs for the door light as taught by Park as a functional equivalent light source that has good efficiency and control.
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches
18. wherein a plurality of door lights are provided, wherein the light electric wires include: a plurality of first light electric wires each connected to the plurality of door lights; and a second light electric wire connected to the main control part, and wherein the plurality of first light electric wires are joined by a light connector on the inside of the door and then connected to the second light electric wire (Figures 17, 19, and 20).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637