This action is in response to the preliminary amendment and documents received on May 20, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STEINER (US 2005/0167900).
In reference to claim 1, STEINER discloses a supporting device comprising: a support plate 11 and at least one locking device provided at the support plate, the locking device configured to fixe a tooling plate 2 to the support plate 11; wherein the locking device comprises a latch 14 rotable (figures 1a & 2) along a first rotation range with a rotable actuating element 21 between a first height (figure 1a) to a second height (figure 2) in a second rotation range different from the first rotation range.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, STEINER further discloses the latch 14 having a first abutment element (e.g. detent) that abuts a stop surface 29 upon transition of the actuating element 21 from the second rotation range to the first rotation range (paragraph [0025]).
With respect to claims 4 and 9, STEINER further discloses the latch 14 coupled to the actuating element 21 by friction (paragraph [0025]) of an elastic element 27.
In reference to claims 5 and 6, STEINER further discloses a base part 23 embedded in the support plate 11 in a rotably fixed manner such that the latch 14 and actuating element 21 are coupled to the base part such that the latch 14 and actuating element 21 rotate (figures 1a & 2) relative to the base part 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DÖRIG et al. (WO 2021/032592) in view of STEINER (US 2005/0167900).
Regarding claim 10, DÖRIG et al. discloses a processing machine comprising: a pressing station with a lower support plate 20 and an upper support plate 10 movable towards one another (abstract); each of the lower support plate 20 and the upper support plate 10 configured to receive a tool plate 14, 21 thereon. DÖRIG et al. does not disclose either of the upper 10 nor lower 20 support plates having a locking device as claimed.
STEINER teaches a supporting device comprising: a support plate 11 and at least one locking device provided at the support plate, the locking device configured to fixe a tooling plate 2 to the support plate 11; wherein the locking device comprises a latch 14 rotable (figures 1a & 2) along a first rotation range with a rotable actuating element 21 between a first height (figure 1a) to a second height (figure 2) in a second rotation range different from the first rotation range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the support plates of DÖRIG et al. to include at least one locking device as claimed, since paragraphs [0014] of STEINER suggests such a modification allows for a tool plate to be quickly and easily secured to a support plate without relying on additional components or tools.
In reference to claim 11, DÖRIG et al. further discloses centering devices 32, 33 configurted to align the tool plate 14, 21 with the respective support plate 10, 20 (abstract)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention. In particular, the disclosures of are found to be particularly relevant to known OETLINGER (US 6,6769,342) and SMITH (US 2003/0050163) pressing tool support securing means.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
September 29, 2026