DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The amendment filed 5/20/2025 pursuant to 37 CFR 1.125 was entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 1/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 recites “wherein the metal features comprise aluminum copper, gold, or silver. There is a comma missing between the words “aluminum” and “copper.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 11, 18 recite a formula including a variable labeled “Cgrid.” Because “Cgrid” is not defined in the claims and not described in the specification, it is unclear what “Cgrid” is referring to and how it is determined, which renders the claims indefinite.
Due to the 112(b) issues noted above, no meaningful prior art examination of claims 3, 11, 18 is currently possible and the examiner is unable to make a meaningful prior art rejection of these claims. Note that the lack of any prior art rejection should not be construed as an indication of allowable subject matter because the patentability determination of these claims cannot be made at this time due to the ambiguity in the claim language. When the 112(b) issues are resolved, the examiner will conduct prior art examination and may apply prior art rejections to these claims as appropriate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. Zhang et al., New artificial dielectric metamaterial and its application as a terahertz antireflection coating, Appl. Opt., Vol. 48, No. 35 (2009), pp. 6635-6642 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Zhang discloses in Figs. 1-7 and the corresponding description:
A multimode free-space coupled filter (Figs. 1, 6, 10-layer, metal mesh filter, pp. 6635-6638), the filter comprising:
a first layer comprising a dielectric film (Figs. 1, 6, dielectric substrate);
a second layer (Fig. 2, dielectric layer with embedded metal mesh pattern) disposed on the first layer, the second layer comprising a dielectric film with a regularly spaced pattern of metal features (p. 6638, the artificial dielectric is constituted by two essential elements, a metal mesh grid and the embedding dielectric), wherein the metal features are uniform in size and spacing with a period g and spacing between the features given by 2a (Fig. 2, p. 6636 defining the spacing between the layers as d, the gap between two adjacent metallic squares as 2a and the period of the repetitive square structures as g),
one or more additional first and one or more additional second layers, wherein the one or more additional first layers and the one or more additional second layers are disposed to alternate (Fig. 3, pp. 6636-7, 10 metal mesh layers alternating with dielectric layers); and
a topmost layer comprising a dielectric film disposed on a top surface of a topmost layer comprising a dielectric film with a regularly spaced pattern of metal features (Fig. 6 showing that the topmost layer is a dielectric layer embedding a metal grid).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 19-20, Zhang discloses that the base dielectric used is low-loss dielectric polypropylene (pp.6635-6, 6638).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 14-15, Zhang discloses the metal features are periodic arrays of metal squares or rectangles comprising aluminum, copper, gold, or silver (Fig. 2, Cu squares created photolithographically).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the filters can be designed as high pass, low pass and band pass filters for frequencies up to 1 THz (Fig. 3 indicating a low-pass characteristics of the disclosed filter; pp. 6636, 6638, the filter is obtained by photolithographic techniques adopted in the manufacturing of far-infrared low-pass filters).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses a method of forming the claimed filter by using photolithography (Fig. 2, p. 6638).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 16-17, 19-20 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by A.B. Sriram et al., Stepped impedance metal-mesh filters for terahertz frequencies” 32nd IEEE Int’l Symp. on Space THz Technology, 2022, p. 187.
This one-page printout is self-explanatory and discloses all the limitations of the above-listed claims, including the recited formulas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of L.B. Whitbourn and R. C. Compton, Equivalent-circuit formulas for metal grid reflectors at a dielectric boundary, Appl. Opt., Vol. 24, No. 2 (1985), pp. 217-220 (“Whitbourn”), cited by the applicant.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 17, Zhang discuses all the limitations except the formula for determining the effective impedance of the dielectric layers embedding metal meshes.
However, Whitbourn, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a similar formula for determining the effective impedance for dielectric layers embedding metal meshes used in filters at submillimeter wavelengths (pp. 217-8, Expression 4, for n1=n2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the formula disclosed in Whitbourn to the filter of Zhang for the benefit of determining the effective impedance of the filter, as taught by Whitbourn (pp. 217-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sano, Eiichi and Ikebe, Masayuki, Equivalent circuit analysis of artificial dielectric layers, Progress in Electromagnetics Research, Vol.60, pp.85-92 (2017), discloses filters using artificial dielectric layers with copper patches and also discloses formulas to calculate the filter parameters (Fig. 1, pp. 86-90)
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843