Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, and 10 recite the limitations "first motor" and “second motor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Antecedent basis is present for the “first/second electric motor”, and while Examiner interprets “first motor” and “second motor” to refer to the electric motors, all recitations of these limitations should use consistent terminology.
The term “setpoint” in Claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “setpoint” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what qualitative or quantitative value or characteristic pertaining to the motor operation (vehicle speed, torque, angular speed or position, etc.) is governed by the “setpoint”, nor is it clear if this “setpoint” is a target value to be constantly maintained or a maximum value to not be exceeded, i.e., the meaning of the claimed “function of the setpoint”. For examination purposes, “setpoint” is hereinafter interpreted to mean any desired motor control function that is operably selected by a user for an indefinite duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2020/0085651 A1 to Menig in view of U.S. Pub. 2007/0256868 A1 to Romig.
Regarding Claim 1, Menig teaches an assistance system for a manual wheelchair comprising a fastening base (“coupling mechanism” 300, Fig. 3A, [0047]) configured for being fixed to a frame (“axis” 501, Fig. 1, [0046]) of a manual wheelchair (500, Fig. 1, [0046]), a battery (121, Fig. 5, [0051]), a motor module (“auxiliary drive device” 100, Fig. 3A, [0046]), said motor module comprising:
a housing (“main body” 120, Fig. 3A, [0051]);
a removable fastening means (“coupling clamp” 380, Fig. 24, [0115]) configured to cooperate with an attachment means (“locking element” 330, Fig. 24, [0117]) of the fastening base (300);
a wheel (110, Fig. 1, [0048]) fixed in translation relative to the housing (120, depicted in Figs. 3A-B);
at least one first electric motor (“electric hub motor” 111, Fig. 3A, [0050]);
the first electric motor (111) being configured to drive the first wheel (110) in rotation about a first axis of rotation (center axis of 110, Figs. 4 and 5, [0050]), the assistance system further comprising means for controlling the first motor (“operating satellite” 200, Figs. 13-14, [0049]).
Menig does not teach a second electric motor configured to drive the wheel in rotation about a second axis of rotation perpendicular to the first axis.
In the same field of endeavor of powered casters, Romig teaches a second electric motor (“steering motor” 107, Fig. 2, [0018]) configured to drive the wheel (105, Fig. 2, [0017], analogous to Menig – 110) in rotation about a second axis of rotation (Romig – 200, perpendicular to “spindle axis” 201, Fig. 2, analogous to central wheel rotation axis of Menig) perpendicular to the first axis (depicted in Romig – Fig. 2).
Romig further teaches wherein the second motor (107) is integrated with the housing (117, Fig. 3, [0019], analogous to Menig – 120).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the detachable wheelchair power assistance system of Menig with the caster steering motor of Romig, yielding predictable results. One of ordinary skill would appreciate the desirable enhanced control provided by a steerable pivoting caster, and to reduce required steering torque load from other drive components (in Menig, the manually-powered main wheelchair wheels) (Romig – [0004-0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the wheel (Menig – 110) is in contact with a surface of a floor (horizontal surface perpendicular to steering axis, Fig. 6, [0057]) on which the wheelchair (500) is placed when the motor module (100) is attached to the fastening base (300, Figs. 3A-B and 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the first motor (Menig – 111) is integrated into the wheel (110, depicted in Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the second motor (Romig – 107) is integrated with the housing (117, Fig. 3, [0019], analogous to Menig – 120).
Regarding Claim 5, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the removable fastening means (Menig – 380) comprises at least one hook (“coupling grooves” 321. Fig. 27, [0115]), and wherein the attachment means (330) comprises at least one rod (“coupling pin” 381, Figs. 26-27, [0115]) configured to cooperate with the hook (321) to connect the removable fastening means (380) and the attachment means (330) in a removable manner (depicted in Figs. 26-27).
Regarding Claim 6, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the first axis of rotation of the wheel (Menig – central axis of 110) is perpendicular to a principal plane of said wheel (plane of wheel 110, Figs. 4-5), and wherein the first electric motor (111) is controlled in speed, position, and/or torque to drive the rotation of the wheel (torque control from 200 and “rotational control ring” 203, [0089-0092]) about the first axis of rotation with respect to the housing (120) in a first direction and/or in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 13-17, [0089-0092]).
Regarding Claim 8, Menig in view of Romig further teaches a controller (Menig – “rotational control ring” 203, Fig. 18, [0076]) configured to control the rotation and/or braking of the first motor (111, [0076, 0089]).
Regarding Claim 10, Menig in view of Romig further teaches a user interface (Menig – “smartphone” depicted in Figs. 29-30, [0139]) enabling a user to send at least one setpoint (sensitivity of 203, Fig. 29, [0136-0139]), the controller (203) being configured to control operation of the first motor (111) as a function of the setpoint ([0136-0139]).
Regarding Claim 11, Menig in view of Romig further teaches wherein the fastening base (Menig – 300) is fixed to a frame (“axis” 501, Fig. 1, [0046]) of the manual wheelchair (500, attachment depicted in Figs. 1-2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menig in view of Romig, and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2023/0068277 A1 to Ohashi et al., hereinafter Ohashi (note effectively filed date of August 30th, 2021).
Regarding Claim 7, Menig in view of Romig teaches the assistant system according to Claim 6, a first motor (Menig – 111), and a battery (121) of the assistance system, but does not teach that the motor engages in regenerative braking for recharging the battery.
In the same field of endeavor of electrically powered casters for hand vehicles, Ohashi teaches an analogous first motor (21, [0032]) and a battery (24, Fig. 1, [0031]), and wherein braking by the first motor (21) is regenerative braking ([0060, 0067-0068]) for recharging the battery (24) of the assistance system (through “motor driver” 22, [0033, 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the assisting system of Menig/Romig with the regenerative braking ability of Ohashi, yielding predictable results. One ordinarily skilled in the art would recognize the need for a braking system to stop the motion of assisted hand-vehicles (such as heavy pallet carts or wheelchairs) (Ohashi – [0003-0006]) and the benefits of using the well-known technique of regenerative braking when provided with a battery-electric powered vehicle with a motor controller.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menig in view of Romig and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0117807 A1 to Choi et al., hereinafter Choi.
Regarding Claim 9, Menig in view of Romig already teach the assistance system according to Claim 8, a removable fastening means (Menig – 380), an attachment means (330), and a contact point (at region of 381, Figs. 26 and 27) but does not teach at least one magnet configured to maintain contact between a contactor of the attachment means and a contactor of the removable fastening means.
In the same field of endeavor as wheelchair attachments, Choi teaches the analogous removable fastening means (“clamp” 313’, Figs. 13-14, [0043]) and/or the attachment means (“wheelchair side coupling member” 320’, Fig. 12, [0044]) comprises at least one magnet (314’ and 315’, Figs. 12-14, [0043-0044]) configured to maintain contact between a contactor of the attachment means (center point between “central member” 321’ and “lower keyway” 322’, Fig. 13) and a contactor of the removable fastening means (“wing” 312’, contact depicted in Figs. 13-14, [0043-0044]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the assistance system of Menig/Romig with the magnetic attachment system of Choi, yielding predictable results. One ordinarily skilled in the art would have appreciated the use of a positively locking magnetic mechanism versus a spring lock to assist in manual coupling (Choi – [0044]) and for firmer engagement ([0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 9,144,525 to Richter discloses a detachable power assistance device (100, Fig. 6, Para. 21) attached to a transverse frame member (40, Fig. 2, Para. 25) of a wheelchair (10) via a hook/clamp mechanism (140, Fig. 6, Para. 20).
/Mitchell James Price/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611