DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment of disclosure filed on 5/20/2025 has been entered. Accordingly, the amended Claims are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-15, it is noted that figure numbers and/or references thereto are utilized throughout these claims. As it is apparent that the invention can be defined in words, it is requested that such figure numbers be removed. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993), MPEP 2173.05(s).
Regarding Claims 2, 7, 8, 12, and 15, The use of the term “preferably”, while not amounting to indefiniteness as it is understood in context, the Claims should instead simply recite that which is preferable.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, the use of and/or language, while not indefinite as A and/or B for instance does have a meaning, the preferred verbiage should be more simply “at least one of A and B.” Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, both claims recite “the recess depth” and “the recess diameter” for which basis in not provided for in claim 1 from which they depend, however, as it is readily apparent that these claims instead depend from Claim 6 for which basis is provided, such not amounting to indefiniteness, these claims will be considered to depend from Claim 6 accordingly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daegwangnaitek (KR 101160881 B1, as cited in the IDS, machine translation utilized and provided herewith).
In regards to Claim 1, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, a lighting device (Figures 1-3 and 6), in particular for illuminating an interior (such illustrating a light bulb), comprising: a lighting means (50);a light distribution body (80) having a light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) and a translucent light exit region (outside of 80);wherein the light distribution body (80) is substantially spherical and is designed to emit a first part of the light emitted by the lighting means (50) and introduced into the light distribution body (80) via the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) in a directed manner, and to scatter a second part of the introduced light by means of the light distribution body (80), so that the light emerges in a diffuse manner substantially over the entire light exit region (outside of 80) of the light distribution body (80, Abstract), wherein the light distribution body (80) is of solid design (see Fig. 2), and wherein the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) is the interface between a recess (810) of the light distribution body (80) and the light distribution body (80, see Fig. 2).
In regards to Claim 2, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the recess (810) comprises a first part (850, see Figs. 2 and 6), which preferably has the shape of a spherical element (Fig. 6), a cone or a flattening (Fig. 2), wherein the shape can be both positive and negative (see Fig. 6).
In regards to Claim 3, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the recess (810) comprises a second part (cylindrical wall of 810, see Figs. 2 and 6), which is shaft-shaped or substantially cylindrical (see Figs. 2 and 6), wherein the first part (61) is arranged at an end of the second part facing away from the lighting means (50, see Figs. 2 and 6).
In regards to Claim 4, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the surface of the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) is completely and/or partially roughened and/or frosted (850 being a “diffuse reflection layer”, see Page 5, is considered to meet the limitation as claimed).
In regards to Claim 5, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, a reflector element (850) for modifying the ratio of directed and diffuse emission of the light distribution body (80), wherein the reflector element (850) is formed by a partially or completely reflecting layer frosted (850 being a “diffuse reflection layer”, see Page 5, is considered to meet the limitation as claimed), which is arranged in the interior of the light distribution body (80) or at the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810, see Figs. 2 and 6); and/or scattering centers (at 850) for modifying the ratio of directed and diffuse emission of the light distribution body (80), wherein the scattering centers (at 850) are formed in the interior of the light distribution body (80, again 850 being a “diffuse reflection layer”, see Page 5, is considered to meet the limitation as claimed).
In regards to Claim 9, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, a light guide (70) which is designed to guide light emitted by the lighting means (50) to the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) of the light distribution body (80, see Fig. 2).
In regards to Claim 10, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the light exit region (outside of 80) of the light distribution body (80) is formed by a frosted surface (80, being a “diffuser”, see bottom of Page 4, is considered to meet the limitation as claimed).
In regards to Claim 11, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the light coupling-in surface (surfaces of 810) is formed by a smoothly ground or polished region on the surface of the light distribution body (the interior walls of 810 are considered to meet this limitation, noting the “diffusing” aspect is provided for by 850).
In regards to Claim 12, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the lighting means (50) is formed by one or more LEDs (50 illustrates an LED) and is preferably designed as an LED cluster or LED-RGB module (see Fig. 2 illustrating 50 as a cluster/module as claimed).
In regards to Claim 13, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, the light distribution body (80) has regions with a reflection coating on its surface (850 at surface of 810, see Figs. 2 and 6), which is designed to partially or completely reflect light which propagates in the interior of the light distribution body (80) and impinges on the reflection coating (850 being a “diffuse reflection layer”, see Page 5, is considered to meet the limitation as claimed).
In regards to Claim 14, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, a holder (750) in which the light distribution body (80) is mounted rotatably about its center point (via 820, see Fig. 2).
In regards to Claim 15, Daegwangnaitek discloses in Figures 1-3 and 6, a dome (30) which encloses the light distribution body (80, see Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the dome (30) preferably has surface regions with different transmittance (albeit optional, such would naturally be the case based on the output of light from 80, alternatively the portion of 30 blocked by 20 will alter the transmittance therethrough) which preferably have partially reflecting coatings and are designed to modify the emission characteristic of the light distribution body (80, albeit optional, the portion of 30 blocked by 20 will alter the transmittance therethrough by at least partially reflecting the light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daegwangnaitek.
In regard to claims 6-8, Daegwangnaitek teaches in Figures 1-3 and 6, the recess (810) in the light distribution body (80) has a recess depth (height of 810 as oriented in Figs. 2 and 6, hereinafter height) and a recess diameter (width of 810 as oriented in Figs. 2 and 6, hereinafter width), wherein the recess diameter (width) corresponds to the maximum diameter of the recess (810) at an end of the recess (810) facing the lighting means (see Figs. 2 and 6) as recited in Claim 6, but fails to disclose or fairly suggest the recess diameter (D) and the recess depth (T) are each smaller than or equal to the radius of the light distribution body as recited in Claim 6, the recess depth (T) is larger than, preferably twice as large as, the recess diameter (D) as recited in Claim 7, and the recess diameter (D) is smaller than a third of the radius of the light distribution body (80), preferably smaller than a quarter, more preferably smaller than a fifth, more preferably smaller than a tenth as recited in Claim 8.
However, while not necessarily to scale, Daegwangnaitek would appear to imply the recess diameter (width) and the recess depth (height) are each smaller than or equal to the radius of the light distribution body (see Fig. 2) as recited in Claim 6, the recess depth (height) is larger than, preferably twice as large as, the recess diameter (width, see Fig. 2) as recited in Claim 7, and the recess diameter (width) is smaller than a third of the radius of the light distribution body (80, see Fig. 2), preferably smaller than a quarter, more preferably smaller than a fifth, more preferably smaller than a tenth as recited in Claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the depth and diameter of the recess of Daegwangnaitek, in order to provide for the desired optical output of the device. Further, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please review the cited references found on the PTO-892, namely Beierschmitt et al. (US 6,132,345), Chen (US 2008/0265736), Hulse (US 7,663,315), Hulse et al. (US 7,686,478), Wu et al. (US 2010/0148650), Shinohara (US 2012/0020085), Hulse (US 8,109,656), Falicoff et al. (US 8,322,896), Yoo (US 2013/0051061), Lin et al. (US 2013/0121002), Udatsu et al. (US 2013/0279149), Ansems ety al. (US 2024/0337355), and 손재설 (KR 101449949 B1), which teaches either alone or in combination lighting devices with LEDs, distribution body, coupling-in surface, light exit surface, recess with first and second parts, holder, dome, and diffusive properties, similar to that which is currently claimed above and disclosed by Applicant.
/ALEXANDER K GARLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875