Preliminary Amendment
The amendment filed 5/21/2025 pursuant to 37 CFR 1.115. Claims 1-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 5/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J.L.Cano et al., Full Band Waveguide Turnstile Junction Orthomode Transducer with Phase Matched Outputs, Int’l J. of RF and Microwave Computer-Aided Eng., Vol. 20, No. 3, May 2010, pp. 333-341 (“Cano”).
Cano discloses in Figs. 1-13 and the corresponding description:
Claims 1, 18-22
A tuning element module (Figs. 2, 8, scatterer) for a modular waveguide junction (Fig. 1, orthomode transducer; Fig. 2, turnstile junction; pp. 334-35) for combining and/or separating first and second signals of differing polarizations (Fig. 1, TE10a and TW10b), wherein the tuning element module is configured to removably attach to said modular waveguide junction (p. 334, “the bandwidth can be shifted or modified by simply changing the scatterer”).
Regarding claims 21-22, Cano discloses that the proposed turnstile junction orthomode transducer is used in the radio-astronomy HEMT-based receivers covering the bands 10-14 GHz, 14-22 GHz and 26-36 GHz, configured to receive a combination of the first and second signals and would include at least one duplexer (p. 333).
Claim 2
wherein the modular waveguide junction comprises one or more selected from the group of:
a turnstile junction (Fig. 2);
an orthomode junction (Fig. 1); and
a junction of an orthomode transducer (Fig. 1).
Claim 3
wherein the tuning element module comprises a turnstile for use in a turnstile junction (Figs. 2, 8).
Claim 4
wherein the tuning element module comprises means for adjusting one or more of (Fig. 2 and Table 1 disclosing various parameters for the scatterer for adjusting the operational bandwidth):
a radio frequency performance of said modular waveguide junction;
an operational bandwidth of said modular waveguide junction;
an operational frequency of said modular waveguide junction;
a return loss characteristic of said modular waveguide junction.
Claim 5
wherein the tuning element module comprises an elongate member extending from a base member (Figs. 2, 8; members with diameter D1, D2, D3, D4).
Claim 6
wherein the elongate member comprises one or more of:
at least one tuning stub (Figs. 2, 8; members with diameter D1, D2, D3, D4); and
at least one metallic pin (Fig. 8, M4 thread).
Claim 7
wherein a cross-sectional shape of the elongate member varies along its length (Fig. 2, cross-sectional shape of the scatterer varies from D1 to D4).
Claim 8
wherein the elongate member comprises one or more of:
at least one cylindrical portion (Figs. 2, 8; cylindrical members with diameter D1, D2, D3, D4), and
at least one rectangular portion.
Claim 10
wherein the elongate member comprises a cylindrical portion with a plurality of protruding rounded edges projecting therefrom (Figs. 2, 8; cylindrical members with diameter D1, D2, D3, D4).
Claim 11
wherein a cross-sectional dimension of the elongate member varies along its length (Fig. 2, cross-sectional shape of the scatterer varies from D1 to D4).
Claim 14
further comprising means for facilitating insertion into said modular waveguide junction (Fig. 8, base chamfer and/or M4 thread).
Claim 15
wherein the base member comprises a chamfered edge or a beveled edge (Fig. 8, base chamfer).
Claim 16
further comprising means for locating and/or aligning the tuning element module in said modular waveguide junction (Fig. 8, M4 thread).
Claim 17
wherein the base member comprises at least one projecting boss member (Fig. 8, the M4 thread includes a boss member at the bottom of the thread).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cano in view of G.L. Matthaei et al., Microwave Filter, Impedance-matching Networks, and Coupling Structures, Artech House Books, 1980, pp. 921-932 (“Matthaei”).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Cano discuses all the limitations except “means for providing a radio frequency wave trap” [claim 12] and “one notch around a perimeter of the base member” [claim 13].
However, Matthaei, in the same filed of endeavor, discloses means for providing a radio frequency wave trap, such as radial line chokes (grooves) on tuning plungers (Figs. 15.04-2, 15.04-8, p. 932).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scatterer of Cano by adding radial line chokes for the benefit of reducing unwanted modes and frequency leaking, as taught by Matthaei (p. 932).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Navarrini and R. L. Plambeck, A Turnstile Junction Waveguide Orthomode Transducer, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, Vol. 54, No. 1, pp. 272-277, Jan. 2006 (“Navarrini”) discloses a turnstile junction waveguide orthomode transducer including a metallic tuning stub in the shape of a square prism, which is non-removably installed in the waveguide (p. 273).
C. G. Montgomery, R. H. Dicke, and E. M. Purcell, Principles of Microwave Circuits, McGraw-Hill, New York, 1948, pp.197-198, discloses radio frequency wave traps, such as circular choke grooves, to reduce radio frequency leakage.
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843