DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 05/21/2025. Claims 1-6 have been amended. Claims 7-10 are newly added. Presently, Claims 1-10 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1: “[[the]]a position of the measurement device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5: “[[the]]a position of the measurement device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6: “[[the]]a position of the measurement device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6: “. – These limitations should be removed to provide clarity of the scope of the invention. The limitations appear to be copied and pasted from a source not relevant to the application (i.e., clerical error). Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The nonce term “device” for the phrase “periodontal disease determination device” for acquiring image information and transmitting instructions to be displayed is used in claim(s) 1-2, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “device” for the phrase “measurement device” for irradiating and receiving light is used in claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “device” for the phrase “input information acquisition unit” for acquir[ing] information, inputted by a user, on an area in the oral cavity to be measured is used in claim(s) 1, 3, 7, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “position adjustment unit” for acquir[ing] an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity by the user from an imaging unit, and displaying the image on a display unit to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device is used in claim(s) 1-2, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “imaging unit” for imaging is used in claim(s) 1, 5, 6, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “light emission control unit” for transmit[ing], to the measurement device, a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from a light source provided in the measurement device is used in claim(s) 1, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “measurement data acquisition unit” for acquir[ing] information on an intensity of reflected light acquired by the measurement device as measurement data is used in claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-9, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “periodontal disease determination unit” for calculate[ing] information indicating the degree of periodontal disease of the user based on the measurement data is used in claim(s) 1-2, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “determination result display unit” for displaying the information indicating the degree of periodontal disease continuously in real time is used in claim(s) 1, 4, 8-10, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “reflected light acquisition unit” for acquir[ing] the reflected light of the irradiated light is used in claim(s) 1-2, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “unit” for the phrase “display unit” for displaying information is used in claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-10 invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The term, “device” & “unit” is a non-structural generic placeholder that does not include any specific structure for performing the accompany functions. See MPEP 2181.I.A: The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
“the oral cavity”-line5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a oral cavity. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
“the degree of periodontal disease”-line 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a degree of periodontal disease. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
The above rejections to claim 1 apply to claim 5-6 for substantially identical claim limitations recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4:
“the position of the tooth estimated” line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a position of a tooth estimated. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. The above rejections to claim 4 apply to claim 8-10 for substantially identical claim limitations recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) 6 does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed to ineligible software per se. Claim 6 is therefore not patent-eligible at Step 1 of the analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakomori et al (US20130323673A1) in view of Pesach et al (US20200359777A1).
Claim 1: Hakomori discloses: A periodontal disease detection system comprising (¶Abstract, ¶0239-0240) a periodontal disease determination device (5) (FIG. 1-2) and a measurement device (3, 4), wherein the periodontal disease determination device comprises:
an input information acquisition unit (controller and analyzer 54) that acquires information, inputted by a user, on an area in the oral cavity to be measured; (FIG. 3 – the oral cavity is imaged captured using a 3D model acquiring probe of the dental apparatus of FIG. 1; see ¶0141-¶0211, under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses a user manually pointing to the area in the oral cavity on the model (i.e., the interaction between the system 5 and the user).)
a position adjustment unit (positional angle information receiving unit 58) that acquires an image from an imaging unit (image capture unit 42, ¶0147-0149, ¶0156-0158, ¶0228), and displaying the image on a display unit (image displayed on monitor 2) to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device (¶0137-0138, ¶0330-0332);
a light emission control unit (light source 55) that transmits, to the measurement device (3/4), a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from a light source (irradiation unit 34) provided in the measurement device; (¶0209-0210, ¶0213-0215, ¶0293-0294, ¶0459-0460: there includes the control unit and switch that controls the output and on/off state of the light irradiation unit 34. The light source includes LEDs mounted on the measurement device. Transmitting control signals to operate the light source provided on the measurement device constitutes a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from the light source provided in the measurement device.)
a measurement data acquisition unit (light detector 56) that acquires information on an intensity of reflected light acquired by the measurement device as measurement data; (¶0021-0024, ¶0113-0115, ¶0176-0178, ¶0210, ¶0255-0260: The light detector 56 and light receiving probe acquire diffused and reflected light intensity as well as fluorescence intensity from the oral cavity.)
a periodontal disease determination unit that calculates information indicating the degree of periodontal disease of the user based on the measurement data; and (¶0008-0011, ¶0014-0015, ¶0239-0241, ¶0268-0269: the controller calculates values indicating the degree of periodontitis progress, such as fluorescent changes, pocket depth, CAL, and degree of tissue inflammation.)
a determination result display unit (display unit 21) that displays the information indicating the degree of periodontal disease continuously in real time in accordance with the area information inputted by the user; and (FIG. 1, ¶0137-0138, ¶0239-0243, ¶0330-0332: the 3D oral cavity is displayed with the degree of periodontal disease calculations and mapped fluorescence intensity updated in real-time linked to the designated sites.):
the measurement device (3/4) comprises:
the light source that irradiates light for a predetermined time, based on the light emission control instruction from the light emission control unit; and (¶0172-0178: light source 55 controlling the light emitted by the light irradiation probe 34.)
a reflected light acquisition unit (light receiving probe 33) that acquires the reflected light of the irradiated light. (¶0172-0178: light receiving probe 33 sending information back to the light detector 56)
Although Hakomori teaches acquiring an image from an imaging unit on measurement device (3, 4) showing the oral tissue to help adjust probe placement; Hakomori fails to disclose: a position adjustment unit that acquires an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity by the user
However, Pesach in the field of tracked toothbrushes and alignment discloses: a position adjustment unit (processor 510) that acquires an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity (FIG. 4, ¶0047-0048, ¶0113) by the user from an imaging unit, (¶Abstract, ¶0068-0071, ¶0143, FIG. 4, ¶0190-0191, ¶0201-0202) and displaying the image on a display unit (¶0137-0138, ¶0268-0269, ¶0361, ¶0388).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position adjustment unit of Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Pesach. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improving guidance and real-time feedback on a display to guide the user on where and how to move the device during use, as suggested, by Pesach, ¶0138, ¶0143, ¶0361, ¶0388.
Regarding the limitations of claim 1 - “to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device" directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention Hakomori is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant, see MPEP 2114.
Claim 4: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Hakomori discloses: wherein the determination result display unit displays the position of the tooth estimated to be irradiated with light from the light source of the measurement device, (¶0018, ¶0127, ¶0134-0136, ¶0208) and the information related to the intensity of the reflected light acquired by the measurement data acquisition unit, (¶0134-0136, ¶0197-0199, ¶0208-0210, ¶0255, ¶0268-0269) in association with each other on the display unit (¶0134-0136, ¶0208, ¶0277).
Claim 5: Hakomori discloses, A periodontal disease detection method executed by a computer, (¶Abstract, ¶0239-0240) (5) (FIG. 1-2) comprising:
acquiring area information, inputted by a user, on an area in the oral cavity to be measured; (FIG. 3 – the oral cavity is imaged captured using a 3D model acquiring probe of the dental apparatus of FIG. 1; see ¶0141-¶0211, under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses a user manually pointing to the area in the oral cavity on the model (i.e., the interaction between the system 5 and the user).)
acquiring an image from an imaging unit (image capture unit 42, ¶0147-0149, ¶0156-0158, ¶0228) to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device (¶0137-0138, ¶0330-0332);
displaying the image on a display unit (image displayed on monitor 2) (¶0137-0138, ¶0330-0332);
transmitting to the measurement device a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from a light source provided in the measurement device; (¶0209-0210, ¶0213-0215, ¶0293-0294, ¶0459-0460: there includes the control unit and switch that controls the output and on/off state of the light irradiation unit 34. The light source includes LEDs mounted on the measurement device. Transmitting control signals to operate the light source provided on the measurement device constitutes a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from the light source provided in the measurement device.)
acquiring information on an intensity of reflected light acquired by the measurement device, as measurement data; (¶0021-0024, ¶0113-0115, ¶0176-0178, ¶0210, ¶0255-0260: The light detector 56 and light receiving probe acquire diffused and reflected light intensity as well as fluorescence intensity from the oral cavity.)
calculating information indicating the degree of periodontal disease of the user based on the measurement data; and (¶0008-0011, ¶0014-0015, ¶0239-0241, ¶0268-0269: the controller calculates values indicating the degree of periodontitis progress, such as fluorescent changes, pocket depth, CAL, and degree of tissue inflammation.)
displaying the information indicating the degree of periodontal disease continuously in real time in accordance with the area information inputted by the user. (FIG. 1, ¶0137-0138, ¶0239-0243, ¶0330-0332: the 3D oral cavity is displayed with the degree of periodontal disease calculations and mapped fluorescence intensity updated in real-time linked to the designated sites.)
Although Hakomori teaches acquiring an image from an imaging unit on measurement device (3, 4) showing the oral tissue to help adjust probe placement; Hakomori fails to disclose: a position adjustment unit that acquires an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity by the user
However, Pesach in the field of tracked toothbrushes and alignment discloses: acquiring an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity (FIG. 4, ¶0047-0048, ¶0113) by the user from an imaging unit, (¶Abstract, ¶0068-0071, ¶0143, FIG. 4, ¶0190-0191, ¶0201-0202) and displaying the image on a display unit (¶0137-0138, ¶0268-0269, ¶0361, ¶0388).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position adjustment unit of Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Pesach. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improving guidance and real-time feedback on a display to guide the user on where and how to move the device during use, as suggested, by Pesach, ¶0138, ¶0143, ¶0361, ¶0388.
Regarding the limitations of claim 1 - “to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device" directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention Hakomori is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant, see MPEP 2114.
Claim 6: Hakomori discloses, A periodontal disease detection program that causes a computer to execute: (¶Abstract, ¶0239-0240) (5) (FIG. 1-2)
acquiring area information, inputted by a user, on an area in the oral cavity to be measured; (FIG. 3 – the oral cavity is imaged captured using a 3D model acquiring probe of the dental apparatus of FIG. 1; see ¶0141-¶0211, under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses a user manually pointing to the area in the oral cavity on the model (i.e., the interaction between the system 5 and the user).)
acquiring an image from an imaging unit (image capture unit 42, ¶0147-0149, ¶0156-0158, ¶0228 to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device (¶0137-0138, ¶0330-0332);
displaying the image on a display unit (image displayed on monitor 2) (¶0137-0138, ¶0330-0332);
transmitting to the measurement device a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from a light source provided in the measurement device; (¶0209-0210, ¶0213-0215, ¶0293-0294, ¶0459-0460: there includes the control unit and switch that controls the output and on/off state of the light irradiation unit 34. The light source includes LEDs mounted on the measurement device. Transmitting control signals to operate the light source provided on the measurement device constitutes a light emission control instruction for irradiating light from the light source provided in the measurement device.)
acquiring information on an intensity of reflected light acquired by the measurement device, as measurement data; (¶0021-0024, ¶0113-0115, ¶0176-0178, ¶0210, ¶0255-0260: The light detector 56 and light receiving probe acquire diffused and reflected light intensity as well as fluorescence intensity from the oral cavity.)
calculating information indicating the degree of periodontal disease of the user based on the measurement data; and (¶0008-0011, ¶0014-0015, ¶0239-0241, ¶0268-0269: the controller calculates values indicating the degree of periodontitis progress, such as fluorescent changes, pocket depth, CAL, and degree of tissue inflammation.)
displaying the information indicating the degree of periodontal disease continuously in real time in accordance with the area information inputted by the user. (FIG. 1, ¶0137-0138, ¶0239-0243, ¶0330-0332: the 3D oral cavity is displayed with the degree of periodontal disease calculations and mapped fluorescence intensity updated in real-time linked to the designated sites.)
Although Hakomori teaches acquiring an image from an imaging unit on measurement device (3, 4) showing the oral tissue to help adjust probe placement; Hakomori fails to disclose: a position adjustment unit that acquires an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity by the user
However, Pesach in the field of tracked toothbrushes and alignment discloses: acquiring an image of the measurement device set in the oral cavity (FIG. 4, ¶0047-0048, ¶0113) by the user from an imaging unit, (¶Abstract, ¶0068-0071, ¶0143, FIG. 4, ¶0190-0191, ¶0201-0202) and displaying the image on a display unit (¶0137-0138, ¶0268-0269, ¶0361, ¶0388).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position adjustment unit of Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Pesach. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improving guidance and real-time feedback on a display to guide the user on where and how to move the device during use, as suggested, by Pesach, ¶0138, ¶0143, ¶0361, ¶0388.
Regarding the limitations of claim 1 - “to allow the user to adjust the position of the measurement device" directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention Hakomori is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant, see MPEP 2114.
Claim(s) 2 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakomori et al (US20130323673A1) in view of Pesach et al (US20200359777A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Guan et al (US20160270716A1).
Claim 2: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Hakomori discloses: wherein the light source (light source 55) irradiates light having a plurality of wavelengths; (¶0190; ¶0297-0298; ¶0301-0303: the polychromatic light having wavelengths of 670 nm and 830 nm;
the reflected light acquisition unit (light receiving probe 33) can acquire information on the reflected light having the plurality of wavelengths; (¶0176-0178; ¶0255-0256)
the measurement data acquisition unit acquires information on the reflected light having the plurality of wavelengths acquired by the measurement device as a plurality of pieces of measurement data; and (¶0197-0198; ¶0255-0257)
Although Hakomori does disclose determining an intensity ratio (i.e., the oxygen saturation calculation), ¶0190. Hakomori fails to explicitly disclose:
the periodontal disease determination unit calculates an intensity ratio as information indicating the degree of periodontal disease, based on the plurality of pieces of measurement data.
However, Guan in the context of periodontal disease detection system and method discloses: the periodontal disease determination unit calculates an intensity ratio as information indicating the degree of periodontal disease, based on the plurality of pieces of measurement data. (¶0046-0048, ¶0063-0064, ¶0072-0073, Claim 10, Claim 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the periodontal disease determination unit of modified Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Guan. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improve the imaging of dental tissue for periodontal analysis at lower cost over conventional methods, as suggested by Guan, ¶0007.
Claim 8: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Hakomori discloses: wherein the determination result display unit displays the position of the tooth estimated to be irradiated with light from the light source of the measurement device, (¶0018, ¶0127, ¶0134-0136, ¶0208) and the information related to the intensity of the reflected light acquired by the measurement data acquisition unit, (¶0134-0136, ¶0197-0199, ¶0208-0210, ¶0255, ¶0268-0269) in association with each other on the display unit (¶0134-0136, ¶0208, ¶0277).
Claim(s) 3 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakomori et al (US20130323673A1) in view of Pesach et al (US20200359777A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Stapleton (US20160220196A1).
Claim 3: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Hakomori fails to disclose: wherein the input information acquisition unit acquires information on a tooth that does not exist, and excludes a periodontal part related to the tooth that does not exist from objects to be measured.
However, Stapleton in the context of obtaining an objective dental health analysis discloses: wherein the input information acquisition unit acquires information on a tooth that does not exist, (¶0035, ¶0039, ¶0102, ¶0105, ¶0134) and excludes a periodontal part related to the tooth that does not exist from objects to be measured. (¶0084, ¶0088, ¶0102, ¶0105, ¶0112, ¶0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input information acquisition unit of modified Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Stapleton. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improve the consistency and impartiality of medical opening and to communicate more effectively and effectively with others, as suggested by Stapleton, ¶Abstract.
Claim 9: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 3, Hakomori discloses: wherein the determination result display unit displays the position of the tooth estimated to be irradiated with light from the light source of the measurement device, (¶0018, ¶0127, ¶0134-0136, ¶0208) and the information related to the intensity of the reflected light acquired by the measurement data acquisition unit, (¶0134-0136, ¶0197-0199, ¶0208-0210, ¶0255, ¶0268-0269) in association with each other on the display unit (¶0134-0136, ¶0208, ¶0277).
Claim(s) 7 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakomori et al (US20130323673A1) in view of Pesach et al (US20200359777A1) in view of Guan et al (US20160270716A1), as applied to claim 2, in further view of Stapleton (US20160220196A1).
Claim 7: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Hakomori fails to disclose: wherein the input information acquisition unit acquires information on a tooth that does not exist, and excludes a periodontal part related to the tooth that does not exist from objects to be measured.
However, Stapleton in the context of obtaining an objective dental health analysis discloses: wherein the input information acquisition unit acquires information on a tooth that does not exist, (¶0035, ¶0039, ¶0102, ¶0105, ¶0134) and excludes a periodontal part related to the tooth that does not exist from objects to be measured. (¶0084, ¶0088, ¶0102, ¶0105, ¶0112, ¶0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input information acquisition unit of modified Hakomori to incorporate the teachings of Stapleton. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to improve the consistency and impartiality of medical opening and to communicate more effectively and effectively with others, as suggested by Stapleton, ¶Abstract.
Claim 10: Hakomori as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Hakomori discloses: wherein the determination result display unit displays the position of the tooth estimated to be irradiated with light from the light source of the measurement device, (¶0018, ¶0127, ¶0134-0136, ¶0208) and the information related to the intensity of the reflected light acquired by the measurement data acquisition unit, (¶0134-0136, ¶0197-0199, ¶0208-0210, ¶0255, ¶0268-0269) in association with each other on the display unit (¶0134-0136, ¶0208, ¶0277).
Conclusion
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798