DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to a newly filed 371-application in which claims 1-10 of the instant application are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Since a computer-readable storage medium can be exemplified as a non-statutory signal, carrier waver, etc., the claim as a whole is non-statutory. “A transitory, propagating signal … is not a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.” (In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). The examiner suggests amending the claim to include a tangible computer-readable storage media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nalci (US 2020/0404276).
As to claim 9, Nalci teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated ([0011], [0031], [0034], [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0043], and [0210]-[0211]) by the image encoding method according to Claim 8 (this portion of the claim is not given patentable weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (WO 2021/054796 A1) in view of Garus (“Non-EE2: Non-Separable Primary Transform for Intra Coding”). Garus was cited in applicant’s IDS filed on 05/21/2025.
As to claim 1, Koo teaches an image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining residual information from a bitstream; deriving transform coefficients of a current block based on the residual information; deriving residual samples of the current block by applying an inverse primary transform to at least one of the transform coefficients of the current block; and reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block (see [102]-[127] and [134]-[144]; also see FIGs. 2 and 3).
Koo does not teach deriving residual samples of the current block by applying a backward non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to at least one of the transform coefficients of the current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the backward NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable.
However, Garus teaches applying a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to transform coefficients and/or residual data of a current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable. In other words, Garus discloses replacing DCT-II+LFNST by NSPT for block sizes 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, and 8x8 (see Abstract and Section 1, Page 1; also see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koo’s system with Garus’s system to show deriving residual samples of the current block by applying a backward non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to at least one of the transform coefficients of the current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the backward NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
As to claim 8, Koo teaches an image encoding method, comprising:
deriving residual samples of a current block; deriving transform coefficients of the current block by applying a primary transform to the residual samples of the current block; and encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (see [102]-[127] and [134]-[144]; also see FIGs. 2 and 3).
Koo does not teach deriving transform coefficients of the current block by applying a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to the residual samples of the current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable, and wherein the group includes at least one of 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, or 8x8.
However, Garus teaches applying a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to transform coefficients and/or residual data of a current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable, and wherein the group includes at least one of 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, or 8x8. In other words, Garus discloses replacing DCT-II+LFNST by NSPT for block sizes 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, and 8x8 (see Abstract and Section 1, Page 1; also see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koo’s system with Garus’s system to show deriving transform coefficients of the current block by applying a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to the residual samples of the current block based on a NSPT set; wherein the NSPT is applied based on a size of the current block belonging to a group of one or more block sizes to which the NSPT is applicable, and wherein the group includes at least one of 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, or 8x8 in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
As to claim 10, the aforementioned claim is rejected similarly as claim 8.
As to claim 2, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein the NSPT set for the backward NSPT is any one of 35 pre-defined NSPT sets (Garus; see Abstract and Section 1, Page 1; also see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
As to claim 3, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein each of the 35 NSPT sets includes three NSPT kernel candidates (Garus; see Abstract and Section 1, Page 1; also see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
As to claim 4, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein the group includes at least one of 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, or 8x8 (Garus; see Abstract and Section 1, Page 1; also see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
As to claim 5, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein based on the size of the current block being 4x4, a number of transform coefficients to which the backward NSPT is applied is 16 (Koo; see [102]-[127] and [134]-[144]; Garus; see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
As to claim 6, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein based on the size of the current block being 4x8 or 8x4, a number of transform coefficients to which the backward NSPT is applied is 20 (Koo; see [102]-[127] and [134]-[144]; Garus; see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
As to claim 7, the combination of Koo and Garus teaches wherein based on the size of the current block being 8x8, a number of transform coefficients to which the backward NSPT is applied is 32 (Koo; see [102]-[127] and [134]-[144]; Garus; see Section 2 and Figure 1, Pages 1-2).
Conclusion
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482