DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 5 of claim 2, please amend “an closing edge” to instead recite --a closing edge--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 1-5, 7-14 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation of “a second end cover” in line 1 is indefinite. This claim is dependent on claim 6 which already introduces a second end cover. It is not clear if Applicant is intending to define another end cover or not. Please amend the claim accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2016/0160881, hereafter “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a pressure exchanger (PX) comprising: a rotor (166) configured to receive a first fluid, receive a second fluid (via 176 and 180), and exchange pressure between the first fluid and the second fluid, wherein the rotor forms a plurality of ducts (190); and a first end cover (186) fluidly coupled with the rotor, the first end cover forming a first kidney (200), wherein a kidney angular extent of the first kidney is substantially an integer multiple of a duct angular spacing between at least two adjacent ducts of the plurality of ducts, wherein the kidney angular extent is an angular distance between an opening edge and a closing edge of the first kidney and the duct angular spacing is an angular distance between corresponding centers of the at least two adjacent ducts (para. [0058] – [0063]; Figs. 2-9).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson further discloses the PX of claim 1, further comprising a second end cover (184) fluidly coupled with the rotor, wherein the second end cover forms a second kidney (196), wherein a delay angle between the first kidney of the first end cover and the second kidney of the second end cover ranges from 15 to 20 degrees, and wherein the delay angle is an angular distance between a closing edge of the second kidney and an closing edge of the first kidney. (the system of Anderson is capable of meeting this angle when the first or second end cover are rotated during operation as disclosed in para. [0058] – [0063]; Figs. 2-9)
Regarding claim 3, Anderson further discloses the PX of claim 1, wherein the rotor forms the ducts in a plurality of concentric rows, wherein the rows are staggered. (Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 4, Anderson further discloses the PX of claim 1, further comprising a second end cover (184), wherein the second end cover forms a second kidney (196), the first end cover comprising a first end cover surface (the surface of 186 that faces 166) that faces the rotor, the first end cover surface forming a buffer chamber (202) disposed in a delay region of the first end cover (Figs. 2-3), wherein the delay region is a region between an opening edge of the second kidney and an opening edge of the first kidney. (the opening edges are interpreted as the edges along the outer surface of 186 and 184; Figs. 2-3)
Claim(s) 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morphew (US 2016/0160888).
Regarding claim 6, Morphew discloses a pressure exchanger (PX) comprising: a rotor (166) configured to receive a first fluid, receive a second fluid (via 176 and 180), and exchange pressure between the first fluid and the second fluid, wherein the rotor forms a plurality of ducts (192); a first end cover (186) fluidly coupled with the rotor, the first end cover comprising a first end cover surface (the surface of 186 that faces 166) that faces the rotor, the first end cover surface forming a buffer chamber (222) disposed in a delay region of the first end cover 9para. [0037]), wherein the first end cover forms a first kidney (200); and a second end cover (184) forming a second kidney (196), wherein the delay region is a region between an opening edge of the second kidney and an opening edge of the first kidney (Figs. 2-11).
Regarding claim 7, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 6, further comprising a second end cover fluidly coupled to the rotor, the second end cover forming a third kidney (202), wherein when a first duct of the plurality of ducts substantially aligns with the buffer chamber, the third kidney substantially aligns with the first duct. (Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 8, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 7, wherein the first duct and a second duct of the plurality of ducts substantially align with the buffer chamber simultaneously while the third kidney substantially aligns with the first duct. (Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 9, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 8, wherein the third kidney is a high pressure out (HPOUT) kidney and the first and second ducts are low-pressure ducts. (the third kidney is capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met)
Regarding claim 10, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 9, wherein the first kidney is a high pressure in (UPIN) kidney, and the first duct substantially aligns with the first kidney after aligning with the buffer chamber. (the first kidney is capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met; Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 11, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 8, wherein the third kidney is a low pressure out (LPOUT) kidney and the first and second ducts are high pressure ducts. (the third kidney and ducts are capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met)
Regarding claim 12, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 11, wherein the first kidney is a low pressure in (LPJIN) kidney, and the first duct substantially aligns with the first kidney after aligning with the buffer chamber. (the first kidney is capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met; Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 13, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 7, wherein a kidney angular extent of the first kidney is substantially an integer multiple of a duct angular spacing between at least two adjacent ducts of the plurality of ducts, wherein the kidney angular extent is an angular distance between an opening edge and a closing edge of the first kidney and the duct angular spacing is an angular distance between corresponding centers of the at least two adjacent ducts. (para. [0033] – [0041]; Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 14, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 7, wherein the buffer chamber is a substantially similar shape as the first kidney and has an angular extent substantially equal to or substantially double an angular extent of a rotor duct of the plurality of ducts. ( Figs. 2-11)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson.
Regarding claim 5, Anderson further discloses the PX of claim 1, wherein the first end cover forms a third kidney (202), wherein fluid flow between ports of the PX and the rotor is through the first kidney and the third kidney, but fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the third kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the third kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2 since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimized size and shape of the opening as desired based on user defined criteria.
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morphew.
Regarding claim 15, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 6, wherein the first end cover forms a third kidney (202), wherein fluid flow between ports of the PX and the rotor is through the first kidney and the third kidney, but fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the second kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the second kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2 since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimized size and shape of the opening as desired based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 16, Morphew discloses a pressure exchanger (PX) comprising: a rotor (166) configured to receive a first fluid, receive a second fluid (via 176 and 180), and exchange pressure between the first fluid and the second fluid; and a first end cover (186) fluidly coupled with the rotor, the first end cover forming a first kidney (200) and a second kidney (202), wherein fluid flow between ports of the PX and the rotor is through the first kidney and the second kidney ( Figs. 2-11), but fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the second kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a ratio of a size of the first kidney to a size of the second kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2 since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimized size and shape of the opening as desired based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 17, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 16, wherein the first kidney is a high-pressure kidney, and the second kidney is a low-pressure kidney. (each kidney is capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met; Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 18, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 17, further comprising a second end cover (184) fluidly coupled with the rotor, the second end cover forming a third kidney (196) and a fourth kidney (198), wherein fluid flow between ports of the PX and the rotor is through the third kidney and the fourth kidney, but fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a size of the third kidney to a size of the fourth kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a ratio of a size of the third kidney to a size of the fourth kidney ranges from 3:2 to 5:2 since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimized size and shape of the opening as desired based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 19, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 18, wherein the third kidney is a high-pressure kidney, and the fourth kidney is a low-pressure kidney. (each kidney is capable of operating in this manner such that all structural and functional limitations are met; Figs. 2-11)
Regarding claim 20, Morphew further discloses the PX of claim 16, wherein the rotor forms a plurality of ducts (192), wherein a kidney angular extent of the first kidney is substantially an integer multiple of a duct angular spacing between at least two adjacent ducts of the plurality of ducts, wherein the kidney angular extent is an angular distance between an opening edge and a closing edge of the first kidney and the duct angular spacing is an angular distance between corresponding centers of the at least two adjacent ducts. (para. [0033] – [0041]; Figs. 2-11)
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753