DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment submitted on 05/21/2025. In virtue of this amendments:
Claims 4, 10, 12, 15 17 and 20 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of CN202211493986.1 filed on 11/25/2022 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2023/115671 filed on 08/30/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a low-frequency” and “a high-frequency” which renders the claim indefinite The terms are a relative term and is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner is interpreting the claim as “a low-frequency” relative to “a high-frequency”
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “a second high-frequency” which renders the claim indefinite The terms are a relative term and is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 8-11, the claims are rejected based upon dependency of rejected base claim, as all dependent claim inherits the deficiencies of the base claim.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner is interpreting the claim as “a low-frequency” relative to “a high-frequency”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machine Translation of CN110867653A hereinafter “Wang”
Regrading claim 1, Wang discloses an antenna (Page.3 L4: antenna) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB), comprising a substrate layer (Page.3 L6: dielectric substrate) and a metal layer (Page.3 L5: metal patch antenna) stacked (as shown in Fig.1 for example), wherein the metal layer comprises a first area (Page.3 L5: metal patch antenna [5]) and a second area (Page.3 5-6: spiral metal patch [2]), and the first area forms a radiator (Page.3 L5: metal patch antenna [5]);
a metal plate (Pasge.3 L6: grounded metal layer [6]), spaced apart from the PCB and located on one side of the substrate layer (as shown in Fig.1 for example), wherein the metal plate forms a system ground and is electrically connected to the second area to ground the second area (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 2, Wang discloses the antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the metal plate is electrically connected to the second area via a conductive member (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]);
the substrate layer is provided with a through hole (Page.1 L42: a metallized through hole on the dielectric substrate), one end of the conductive member is connected to the metal plate, and the other end of the conductive member passes through the through hole and abuts against the second area. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 3, Wang discloses the antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the metal plate is electrically connected to the second area through a conductive member; the substrate layer is provided with a via, a wall of the via is covered with a conductive layer, and the conductive member is connected to the second area through the via. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 4, Wang discloses the antenna device according to claim 2 wherein
the conductive member is a conductive foam, a metal spring or a metal ejector pin. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2013/0234903A1 hereinafter “Kwak” in view of Wang.
Regrading claim 1, Kwak discloses an antenna (¶26L2: a built-in antenna) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (¶27L1: a printed circuit board), comprising a substrate layer and a metal layer (¶27L1-10: radiator can be embodies as a metal plate affixed to the PCB) stacked (as shown in Fig.2 for example), wherein the metal layer comprises a first area (¶30L1-22: a non-conductive area) and a second area (¶30L1-22: a conductive area), and the first area forms a radiator (¶30L1-22: an antenna radiator disposed at the non-conductive area)
Kwak does not disclose:
a metal plate spaced apart from the PCB and located on one side of the substrate layer, wherein the metal plate forms a system ground and is electrically connected to the second area to ground the second area.
Wang discloses an antenna (Page.3 L4: antenna) comprising:
a metal plate (Pasge.3 L6: grounded metal layer [6]), spaced apart from the PCB and located on one side of the substrate layer (as shown in Fig.1 for example), wherein the metal plate forms a system ground and is electrically connected to the second area to ground the second area (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the built-in antenna disclosed by Kwak to incorporate the extra metal layer to act as a system ground as disclosed by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would effectively increase the size of the ground plane for the antenna, thus improvise antenna gains, efficiency and radiation pattern stability.
Regrading claim 2, Kwak in view of Wang hereinafter “Kwak/Wang” discloses in Wang the antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the metal plate is electrically connected to the second area via a conductive member (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]);
the substrate layer is provided with a through hole (Page.1 L42: a metallized through hole on the dielectric substrate), one end of the conductive member is connected to the metal plate, and the other end of the conductive member passes through the through hole and abuts against the second area. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 3, Kwak/Wang discloses in Wang the antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the metal plate is electrically connected to the second area through a conductive member; the substrate layer is provided with a via, a wall of the via is covered with a conductive layer, and the conductive member is connected to the second area through the via. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 4, Kwak/Wang discloses in Wang the antenna device according to claim 2 wherein
the conductive member is a conductive foam, a metal spring or a metal ejector pin. (Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] are connected through a metallized through hole [4]).
Regrading claim 5, Kwak/Wang discloses the antenna device according to claim 1,
a first radiating portion, connected to a feed source to feed an excitation signal (Kwak ¶31L1-24:a first radiating portion 112; feeding portion feeds RF signal power between RF node and first and second radiating portion)
a second radiating portion, electromagnetically coupled to the first radiating portion. (Wang Page.3 L11-12: the ground metal layer [6] and the spiral metal patch [2] to for a spiral electromagnetic band gap structure)
Regrading claim 6, Kwak/Wang discloses in Kwak the antenna device according to claim 5, wherein the first radiating portion comprises:
a low-frequency radiation branch (¶35L1-8: a first antenna radiator may operate at a relatively low frequency band e.g., a 2.4GHz Band), one end of low-frequency radiation branch being connected to the feed source, and the other end of low-frequency radiation branch forming a free end (as shown in the Figures);
a first high-frequency radiation branch (¶35L1-8: the second antenna radiator may operate at a relatively high frequency band e.g., a 5GHz band), one end of the first high-frequency radiation branch being connected to the low-frequency radiation branch, and the other end of the first high-frequency radiation branch being electrically connected to the second area to achieve grounding. (as shown in the Figures)
Regrading claim 7, Kwak/Wang discloses in Wang the antenna device according to claim 5, wherein
the second radiation portion comprises a second high-frequency radiation branch, one end of the second high- frequency radiation branch is connected to the second area, and the other end of the second high-frequency radiation branch forms a free end. (Page.4 L17-18: working frequency band of antenna is 2.6-9.8Ghz)
Regrading claim 10, Kwak/Wang discloses in Kwak the antenna device according to claims 7, wherein
a frequency range of the low-frequency radiation branch is 2.4 GHz to 2.5 GHz (¶35L1-8: a first antenna radiator may operate at a relatively low frequency band e.g., a 2.4GHz Band);
a frequency range of the first high-frequency radiation branch and the second high-frequency radiation branch is 5.1 GHz to 5.9 GHz. (¶35L1-8: the second antenna radiator may operate at a relatively high frequency band e.g., a 5GHz band)
Regrading claim 11, Kwak/Wang discloses in Kwak the antenna device according to claim 10, further comprising
a feed source disposed on the PCB and connected to the radiator through a microstrip line. (¶40L1-7: the RF feed node is a node of two conductor transmission line (e.g., microstrip configuration)
Regarding claims 12-16, the claims are similar in scope with claims 1-5, respectively, with the exception of explicitly claiming “a casing” which is disclosed by Kwak in Fig.1 for example and therefore rejected in the same manner as claims 1-5 above.
Regarding claims 17-20, the claims are similar in scope with claims 1-4, respectively, with the exception of explicitly claiming “a terminal device” which is disclosed by Kwak in Fig.1 for example and therefore rejected in the same manner as claims 1-3 above.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak/Wang in view of US2020/0006842A1 hereinafter “Zhu”
Regrading claim 8, Kwak/Wang discloses in Kwak the antenna device according to claim 6, wherein
the low-frequency radiation branch comprises a first part and a second part, one end of the first part is used to connect to a feed source (as shown in the Figures),
Kwak/Wang does not disclose:
the other end of the first part is connected to the second part via a loading inductor.
Zhu discloses an antenna in which the radiation element is configured to connect to a loading inductor. (¶5L1-5)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the built-in antenna disclosed by Kwak/Wang to incorporate the loading inductor as disclosed by Zhu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would allow the antenna to cancel out the capacitive reactance and make a short antenna resonate at its operating frequency.
Regrading claim 9, Kwak/Wang in view of Zhu discloses in Kwak the antenna device according to claim 8, wherein the second part is bent. (as shown in the figures)
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845