DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because The specification recites “conductor 1”; however, the figures do not show reference numeral 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-10, 12, 14, 16, 20, 23, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOIZUMI et al. (US 2021/0399539) (“KOIZUMI”).
With respect to claim 1, KOIZUMI discloses an integrated wire harness structure (conductive structure 1, figure 1), comprising a wire harness configured to be electrically connected to an electric device to conduct current (paragraph 0017 discloses that the conductive structure is provided in a vehicle for supplying power); wherein the wire harness comprises at least one conductor and at least one positioning portion (figure 1 discloses busbars 10 and 20, paragraphs 0042-0043, 0045 discloses that the conductive structure is fix using clamps), at least one end of the conductor extends to form a connection portion which is configured to be electrically connected to the electrical device (figure 1 discloses connection portions 10B and 20C), and the positioning portion is configured to position the conductor (paragraphs 0042-0043, 0045 discloses that the clamps fix the conductive structure 1 to the vehicle).
With respect to claim 4, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises a plurality of conductor cores connected end to end, at least one of which is a flexible conductor core. Figure 1 discloses, paragraph 0007 discloses that the conductive structure 1 comprises a bus bar that is flexible.
With respect to claim 5, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 4, wherein the conductor comprises at least two materials selected from the group consisting of carbon, aluminum, silver, and copper; or at least one of the conductor cores has a cross-sectional area different from cross- sectional areas of other conductor cores; or at least one of the plurality of conductor cores has a cross-sectional shape different from those of other conductor cores. Paragraph 0021 discloses that the busbars are formed of copper alloy or aluminum alloy.
With respect to claim 8, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein the connection portion has a hardness higher than that of the conductor. Figure 1 discloses that attachment ends 10B and 20C constitute a flatter/hardness higher than the rest of the conductor.
With respect to claim 9, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises at least a first conductor core segment and a second conductor core segment; the first conductor core segment has a cross-sectional shape different from that of the second conductor core segment, and/or the first conductor core segment has a cross- sectional area different from that of the second conductor core segment. Paragraph 0022 discloses that the busbars 11 and 21 have different thickness.
With respect to claim 10, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 9, wherein the conductor further comprises a transition connection segment; a first end and a second end of the transition connection segment are connected to the first conductor core segment and the second conductor core segment, respectively; and a cross-section of the first end of the transition connection segment is the same as that of the first conductor core segment, and a cross-section of the second end of the transition connection segment is the same as that of the second conductor core segment. Figure 1 discloses that the busbar 10 comprises a transition segment to connect to attachment end 10B, the cross-section of the busbar 10 and the transition segment is the same.
With respect to claim 12, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 10, wherein the conductor comprises at least one bending position where the transition connection segment is located. Figure 1 discloses that the busbar 10 comprises a bending portion to connect to attachment end 10B.
With respect to claim 14, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 4, wherein the flexible conductor core comprises a plurality of core wires, which are arranged in a wound, twisted, or braided configuration, and are wrapped with a core wire insulation layer; or the flexible conductor core is formed by laminating and connecting a plurality of layers of foils. Figure 3, paragraph 022 discloses that the busbar 21 comprises plurality of core wires.
With respect to claim 16, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 4, wherein at least one of the plurality of conductor cores is a rigid conductor core, which comprises at least one bent portion. Figure 1 discloses rigid conductor 10 with a bent to connect to attachment end 10B.
With respect to claim 20, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein at least part of a surface of the connection portion is provided with a plating layer; and the plating layer is a multi-layer structure. Figures 1, 3, paragraph 0031 discloses that the attachment end 20C is provided with a plurality/multi-layer structure.
With respect to claim 23, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein the connection portion is provided with a bolt structure, which is electrically connected to the connection portion, and the connection portion is provided with a through hole in which at least part of the bolt structure is disposed; or the connection portion is provided with a nut structure, which is electrically connected to the connection portion. Figure 1, paragraph 0030 discloses that the connection portions are provided with fastening holes for bolt fastening.
With respect to claim 29, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein at least part of an outer wall of the conductor is provided with a shock absorber; the shock absorber is a shock-absorbing layer adhered to or integrally injection- molded on the conductor; and the shock absorber is made of elastic foam plastic or rubber. Paragraph 0039, figures 2-3 disclose an insulating coating 40 form on the conductor, the coating is made of abrasion resistant materials, including polypropylene, for example.
With respect to claim 35, KOIZUMI discloses a vehicle comprising a vehicle body, and integrated wire harness structure (figure 1 discloses vehicle V with integrated conductive structure 1), wherein the integrated wire harness structure includes a wire harness to be electrically connected to an electric device to conduct current (paragraph 0017 discloses that the conductive structure is provided in a vehicle for supplying power); the wire harness includes at least one conductor and at least one positioning portion (figure 1 discloses busbars 10 and 20, paragraphs 0042-0043, 0045 discloses that the conductive structure is fix using clamps), at least one end of the conductor extends to form a connection portion which is to be electrically connected to the electrical device (figure 1 discloses connection portions 10B and 20C), and the positioning portion is to position the conductor; the wire harness is arranged to extend along a contour of the vehicle body, and is connected to the vehicle body through the positioning portion (paragraphs 0042-0043, 0045 discloses that the clamps fix the conductive structure 1 to the vehicle V).
With respect to claim 36, KOIZUMI discloses the vehicle according to claim 35, wherein the positioning portion comprises a fixing member and a clamping member; the clamping member is detachably connected to the vehicle body, and the clamping member is connected to the wire harness through the fixing member. Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0045 discloses that the clamps fix the conductive structure 1 to the vehicle V
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOIZUMI et al. (US 2021/0399539) (“KOIZUMI”).
With respect to claim 11, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1; except for, wherein an absolute value of a difference in electrical conductivity between the connection portion and the conductor is less than or equal to 75%.
KOIZUMI discloses that the connection portions 10B and 20 and the conductor are different, and thus the electrical conductivity difference between the connection portions and the conductor are somewhat dissimilar. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modified KOZUMI and make the difference in conductivity to be less than or equal to 75%, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 13, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 4; except for, wherein at least one of the conductor cores has a cross-sectional area different from cross-sectional areas of other conductor cores, and a difference in cross-sectional area between two conductor core segments with different diameters is less than or equal to 20%.
KOIZUMI discloses that the conductor core in that the busbars 11 and 21 have different thickness. Thus, Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modified KOZUMI and make the core segments with different diameters less than or equal to 20%, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 19, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1; except for, wherein a cross-sectional area of the connection portion is greater than or equal to 80% and less than 120% of a cross-sectional area of the conductor connected thereto.
KOIZUMI discloses that the connection portions 10B and 20 and the conductor are different and have different thickness. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modified KOZUMI and make the cross-sectional area/thickness greater than or equal to 80% and less than 120%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOIZUMI et al. (US 2021/0399539) (“KOIZUMI”) in view of LYFAR (US 2020/0251250).
With respect to claim 26, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1, wherein an outer periphery of the conductor is wrapped with a conductor insulation layer; there is a plurality of conductors, the conductors are integrally formed with the conductor insulation layer, and the conductors are insulated and isolated from each other by the conductor insulation layer. Paragraph 0053 discloses an outer insulating coating 40 and that the plurality of conductors 21 are mutually isolated by the insulating coating 40.
KOIZUMI; however, does not expressly disclose that the integrated wire harness structure further comprises a shielding layer, which is provided on an outer side of the conductor insulation layer or integrally formed with the conductor insulation layer.
LYFAR a conductor arrangement 10 comprising a plurality of conductors 56 integrally formed with insulating layer 58 and an outer shielding layer (60, 62), figure 5 and paragraph 0029.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modified KOZUMI and include the shielding layer of LYFAR, for the purpose of shielding form electromagnetic interference, for example (paragraph 0029).
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOIZUMI et al. (US 2021/0399539) (“KOIZUMI”) in view of WANG et al. (US 2024/0343210) (“WANG”).
With respect to claim 32, KOIZUMI discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 1; except for, wherein the wire harness further comprises a plug-in connector, in which at least part of the connection portion is disposed; and the wire harness is electrically connected to the electrical device by plugging the plug-in connector with the electrical device.
WANG discloses an integrated wire harness for an automobile and vehicle, the vehicle wire harness comprising plug connectors for performing transmission of power and signals, figures 6-8, paragraphs 0051-0053.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify KOZUMI and include the plug in connectors of WANG, for the purpose of providing an easier way of making the connections, for example.
With respect to claim 33, KOIZUMI in view of WANG discloses the integrated wire harness structure according to claim 32, wherein the connection portion is provided with at least one clamping portion, which is clamped with an inner wall of the plug-in connector so that the clamping portion is fixed in the plug- in connector. WANG discloses in paragraphs 0089-0091 clamping grooves.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ichikawa et al. (US 7,563,981) discloses a high voltage wire harness comprising conductor core and respective connectors.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836