DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1 and 12 are independent claims. Claims 2-10 and 13-21 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 05-22-2025.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. It is also noted, that applicant has filed a certified copy on 05-22-2025 as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05-22-2025 and 05-13-2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97
Claims Objections
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 12, 15, 16, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the symbol "/" should be avoided because the meaning of the symbol can be interpreted in a number of ways, which adds ambiguity to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 20 recite the term “in case of determining”, of which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard make the expression following the term as optional limitation under the plain and ordinary meaning of the term, thereby not narrowing the claim limitations following the term since they can be omitted. Similarly, courts have found terms like “if” and “should” to be conditional clauses because expresses the meaning “what is probable”. Other terms also found to be deficient are: may, might, can, could, potentially, possible ….etc. In re Johnston, 77 USPQ2d 1788 And Ex parte Schulhauser, see MPEP 2111.04 (II)
Nonetheless, provided applicant does intend to have these limitations to have patentable weight, the claims above must positively recite the claim limitation without invoking optional language. Once such term that courts have found to positively recite a condition is the term “when”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2011/0213885 (hereinafter, “Kelkar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0305870 (hereinafter, “Carey”).
As per claim(s) 1, 121, Kelkar discloses a method for computing power node management, performed by a computing power network management function, comprising:
determining a change of a state of a computing power node, (Fig’s 1-3 illustrate the concept of determining the total availibity computing resources divided into the following three categories: “allocated pool” , “reserve pool” and “available pool”. It would be apparent to a POSITA that any changes to the categories would be captured by the system for determining the total availibity of node resources associated with each pool category.
wherein the state comprises a first state or a second state, (allocated pool or reserve pool; Fig’s 1-3)
the first state is used to indicate that the computing power node provides computing power services, and (allocated pool are resources that represent nodes currently associated with an executing application ; ¶ [0018] )
the second state is used to indicate that the computing power node does not provide computing power services; and (reserve pool are node resources that not allocated, claim 1, Fig’s 1-3)
wherein computing power nodes in the available computing power resource pool and computing power nodes in the backup computing power resource pool have completed registration in the computing power network management function, and (Fig 1 illustrated how the system can determine the “totality of available resources” for provisioning. This means a registration of their availibity is known, Indeed, claim 2 states “maintaining metrics for at least one of available resources, reserve resources, and allocated resources” )
the computing power nodes in the available computing power resource pool are used to provide computing power services. (allocated pool are resources that represent nodes currently associated with an executing application ; ¶ [0018] )
Kelkar does not distinctly disclose in case of determining that the computing power node enters the first state, moving the computing power node to an available computing power resource pool; and/or, in case of determining that the computing power node enters the second state, moving the computing power node to a backup computing power resource pool.
However, Carey discloses that. In particular, Carey discloses the following:
determining a change of a state of a computing power node, (changes to node priority; ¶ [0041] pr node state ¶ [0049] )
wherein the state comprises a first state or a second state, (higher priority or lesser priority; ¶ [0041], Also, Fig’s 1-8)
the first state is used to indicate that the computing power node provides computing power services, and (participant of blockchain or with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶s [0018]-0021] and [0041], respectively, Also, Fig’s 1-8 )
the second state is used to indicate that the computing power node does not provide computing power services; and (not participant of blockchain or with lesser priority, “less computing resources are allocated”. Therefore, as compared to higher priority, some resources are no longer needed when processing lesser priority; ¶s 0018]-0021] and [0041]. Also, Fig’s 1-8 )
in case of determining that the computing power node enters the first state, moving the computing power node to an available computing power resource pool; and/or, (with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 )
in case of determining that the computing power node enters the second state, moving the computing power node to a backup computing power resource pool. (with lesser priority, “less computing resources are allocated”. Therefore, as compared to higher priority, some resources are no longer needed when processing lesser priority; ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 )
wherein computing power nodes in the available computing power resource pool and computing power nodes in the backup computing power resource pool have completed registration in the computing power network management function (The node indexer functions to identify all managed nodes (e.g., processes) that are managed by a management system instance, and can create a list, registry, database, or other record of the managed nodes (e.g., a list of node identifiers, process identifiers, etc.).; ¶ [0043])
the computing power nodes in the available computing power resource pool are used to provide computing power services. (with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kelkar and Carey because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Carey’s teaching of adjusting the allocation of resources based on one or more criteria would enhance Kelkar's system by creating a dynamic node management that incorporates efficiency and collaboration of computing resources.
As per claim(s) 2, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein determining the change of the state of the computing power node comprises:
determining the change of the state of the computing power node based on computing power service condition information of the computing power node; wherein the computing power service condition information of the computing power node is used to indicate at least one of the following: the computing power node provides computing power services during a computing power service validity period; or (Carey: ¶ [0092[ discloses a schedule where a node's process priority to be set at a predetermined time, before or starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur.. Further, predetermined period ¶ [0082] ) the computing power node provides computing power services within a computing power service validity area.
As per claim(s) 3, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein the computing power service validity period is determined based on at least one of the following:
a starting time of the computing power service validity period; (starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur; ¶ [0092] )
an ending time of the computing power service validity period; (expiration time (e.g., 180 seconds); ¶ [0100] )
a duration of the computing power service validity period; (expiration time (e.g., 180 seconds), which a form of duration period ; ¶ [0100])
a length of a computing power service cycle, wherein one computing power service cycle comprises one computing power service validity period; an interval length between any two adjacent computing power service cycles; or a quantity of cycle times of a computing power service cycle. (predetermined period before the blockchain event is to occur, when the blockchain event occurs, after the blockchain event is identified (e.g., in S300), at a predetermined frequency (e.g., 180 seconds, 90 seconds; ¶ [0082], Fig 6)
As per claim(s) 4, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein in case of determining that the computing power node enters the first state, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool comprises one or more of the following: at the starting time of the computing power service validity period, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool; or, at a starting time of the computing power service cycle, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool; and/or in case of determining that the computing power node enters the second state, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool comprises one or more of the following: in case that the computing power node completes registration in the computing power network management function but is not within the computing power service validity period, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool; at the ending time of the computing power service validity period, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool; or, at an ending time of the computing power service cycle, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool. (Carey: with lesser priority, “less computing resources are allocated”. Therefore, as compared to higher priority, some resources are no longer needed when processing lesser priority; ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 & (with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 ) & (Carey: ¶ [0092[ discloses a schedule where a node's process priority to be set at a predetermined time, before or starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur.. Further, predetermined period ¶ [0082] )
As per claim(s) 5, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein in case that the computing power service condition information of the computing power node is used to indicate that the computing power node provides computing power services within the computing power service validity area: in case of determining that the computing power node enters the first state, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool comprises: in case that the computing power node enters the computing power service validity area, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool; and/or in case of determining that the computing power node enters the second state, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool comprises one or more of the following: in case that the computing power node completes registration in the computing power network management function but is not within the computing power service validity area, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool; or, in case that the computing power node leaves the computing power service validity area, moving the computing power node from the available computing power resource pool to the backup computing power resource pool. (Carey: with lesser priority, “less computing resources are allocated”. Therefore, as compared to higher priority, some resources are no longer needed when processing lesser priority; ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 & (with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 ) & (Carey: ¶ [0092[ discloses a schedule where a node's process priority to be set at a predetermined time, before or starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur.. Further, predetermined period ¶ [0082] )
As per claim(s) 6, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein determining the change of the state of the computing power node comprises: receiving a node update request transmitted from the computing power node at a first time; and based on the node update request, determining at least one of the following:state indication information, or a first buffer duration;wherein the state indication information is used to indicate that the computing power node starts to provide computing power services, or the computing power node stops providing computing power services. (Carey:a participating node, the node identifier (e.g., process identifier) can be written to a table (e.g., a prioritizer state), with a predetermined expiration time (e.g., 180 seconds). The entry can be renewed as long as the participating managed node is confirmed to be a participant in the blockchain event; Fig 6)
As per claim(s) 7, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein in case of determining that the computing power node enters the first state, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool comprises: in case that the state indication information indicates that the computing power node starts to provide computing power services, moving the computing power node to the available computing power resource pool;and/or in case of determining that the computing power node enters the second state, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool comprises: in case that the state indication information indicates that the computing power node stops providing computing power services, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool. (Carey: with lesser priority, “less computing resources are allocated”. Therefore, as compared to higher priority, some resources are no longer needed when processing lesser priority; ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 & (with higher priority, “more computing resources are allocated”. ¶ [0041] Also, Fig’s 1-8 ) & (Carey: ¶ [0092[ discloses a schedule where a node's process priority to be set at a predetermined time, before or starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur.. Further, predetermined period ¶ [0082] ) & (Carey:a participating node, the node identifier (e.g., process identifier) can be written to a table (e.g., a prioritizer state), with a predetermined expiration time (e.g., 180 seconds). The entry can be renewed as long as the participating managed node is confirmed to be a participant in the blockchain event; Fig 6)
As per claim(s) 8, Kelkar as modified discloses a method comprising: determining a buffer period. (Carey: blockchain event duration ¶ [0094] or expiration period ; Fig 6 )
As per claim(s) 9, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool comprises: in case that the buffer period ends, moving the computing power node to the backup computing power resource pool. (¶s [0100]-[0102] discloses a predetermined expiration time (e.g., 180 seconds) that allows resources can be otherwise allocated to the participating managed nodes. Stated differently, resetting node resources for nonparticipating nodes S900 functions to de-allocate computing resources from non-participating managed nodes. )
As per claim(s) 10, Kelkar as modified discloses a method wherein determining the buffer period comprises: determining athe first time as a starting time of the buffer period, and determining a the first buffer duration as a duration of the buffer period; (Carey: blockchain event duration ¶ [0094] or expiration period ; Fig 6 and (starting at the time when the blockchain event for the node's blockchain is estimated to occur; ¶ [0092] ) or, obtaining a second buffer duration based on computing tasks of the computing power node; transmitting node update response information to the computing power node, wherein the node update response information is at least used to indicate the second buffer duration; receiving, at a second time, node update confirmation information transmitted from the computing power node, wherein the node update confirmation information is at least used to indicate a third buffer duration, and the third buffer duration is determined based on the second buffer duration; anddetermining the first time or the second time as a starting time of the buffer period, and determining the third buffer duration as a duration of the buffer period.
As per dependent claims 11-121 recite similar features to those recited in claims 2-10, and therefore, claims 11-21 are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per independent claim 12, this claim is substantially equivalent to method claim 1, because the additional feature(s) are present on any off the shelf general-purpose computer. Therefore, for at least this reason, claim 12 also stand rejected. Indeed, at least Fig. 4 of Carey discloses a memory for storing instructions, a processor for executing instructions and network interface from receiving and transmitting network data.