Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-17 recite numerous features which lack antecedent basis in the claims. A limitation which contains a definite article, e.g. “said inner wall”, must be preceded by a recitation of that limitation having an indefinite article, e.g. “an inner wall”, either in the same claim or in a claim from which the claim in question depends.
For example, claim 3 recites the limitation “said cavity”. Claim 2 recites the limitation “at least one supporting wall defining a cavity”, but amended claim 3 depends on claim 1 which lacks this feature.
The applicant must amend the claims to remove these issues of antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/093985 (Fernandes) (provided by the applicant).
A translation of the Fernandes document was provided with this Non-Final Rejection. References to Paragraph or Page numbers are in reference to this translation.
In Re claim 18 Fernandes discloses a holder for a dispensing gun of cryogenic liquid further comprising at least one supporting body (14) defining a cavity (11) adapted to house at least partly said dispensing gun (2); at least one heat treatment assembly (heating tube 40) associated with said supporting body and adapted to heat at least partly said cavity (Function of heating tube 40 described on Page 7).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2024/0035625 (Sjoberg)
In Re claim 18 Sjoberg discloses a holder (1) for a dispensing gun of cryogenic liquid further comprising at least one supporting body defining a cavity (shown at element 12 in Figure 3) adapted to house at least partly said dispensing gun (2); at least one heat treatment assembly (heating element 21, channel 30) associated with said supporting body and adapted to heat at least partly said cavity (Paragraph 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandes in view of US PGPub 2006/0005895 (Gram).
In Re claim 1 Fernandes discloses a dispenser of cryogenic liquid comprising: at least one dispensing apparatus (fuel distribution station in Paragraph 30); at least one dispensing gun (2) associated with said dispensing apparatus, connectable to a feeding tank (vehicle tank described in Paragraph 30) and adapted to dispense said cryogenic liquid into said tank; further comprising at least one heat treatment assembly (heating tube 40, described on Page 7) associated with said dispensing apparatus and adapted to heat at least partly said dispensing gun to obtain at least the melting of ice formed on said dispensing gun as a result of the dispensing of said cryogenic liquid (function of heating tube to melt ice described on Page 7).
Fernandes fails to disclose that the dispensing apparatus fastened onto the ground and connected to a supply assembly of a cryogenic liquid in a fluid-operated manner.
Gram discloses a cryogenic station (110) which is fastened to the ground (shown in Figure 1), and which is provided with a supply assembly (100) of cryogenic fluid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Fernandes apparatus by fastening the dispenser to the ground, in order to secure the dispenser against movement which may damage it, and by providing a supply assembly of cryogenic fluid, in order to have a source of the cryogenic fluid which is dispensed by the apparatus.
In Re claim 2 Fernandes discloses said dispensing gun comprising at least one dispensing mouth (opening of central bore 10) connectable to said tank (through the use of locks 6) and by the fact that said dispensing apparatus comprises at least one supporting body (11) defining a cavity adapted to house at least partly said dispensing mouth, said supporting body being provided at the top with at least one access opening (upper access opening shown in Figure 3) for the insertion/extraction of said dispensing mouth into/from said cavity and said heat treatment assembly (40 in Figure 3) being associated with said supporting body.
In Re claim 3 Fernandes discloses said heat treatment assembly comprising heating means (heating tube 40) associated with said supporting body and adapted to heat said cavity.
In Re claim 7 Fernandes discloses a bottom wall comprising a tube (40) which would serve to drain fluid produced by melting ice on the nozzle (2, shown in Figure 3).
In Re claim 10 Fernandes discloses an actuating means (cam 22) adapted to activate/deactivate at least one of either said heating means or said blowing means (described on Page 6).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjoberg in view of Gram.
In Re claim 1 Sjoberg discloses a dispenser of cryogenic liquid comprising: at least one dispensing apparatus (fueling station in Paragraph 6); at least one dispensing gun (nozzle 2) associated with said dispensing apparatus, connectable to a feeding tank (tank present in truck described Paragraph 6) and adapted to dispense said cryogenic liquid into said tank; further comprising at least one heat treatment assembly (heating unit 21, Paragraph 50) associated with said dispensing apparatus and adapted to heat at least partly said dispensing gun to obtain at least the melting of ice formed on said dispensing gun as a result of the dispensing of said cryogenic liquid (Ice in Paragraph 7).
Fernandes fails to disclose that the dispensing apparatus fastened onto the ground and connected to a supply assembly of a cryogenic liquid in a fluid-operated manner.
Gram discloses a cryogenic station (110) which is fastened to the ground (shown in Figure 1) and which is provided with a supply assembly (100) of cryogenic fluid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Sjoberg apparatus by fastening the dispenser to the ground, in order to secure the dispenser against movement which may damage it, and by providing a supply assembly of cryogenic fluid, in order to have a source of the cryogenic fluid which is dispensed by the apparatus.
In Re claim 2 Sjoberg discloses said dispensing gun comprising at least one dispensing mouth (inherent in the need to dispense fuel through the dispensing gun) connectable to said tank (used in refueling in Paragraph 6) and by the fact that said dispensing apparatus comprises at least one supporting body (13) defining a cavity adapted to house at least partly said dispensing mouth, said supporting body being provided at the top with at least one access opening (upper access opening shown in Figure 3) for the insertion/extraction of said dispensing mouth into/from said cavity and said heat treatment assembly (21) being associated with said supporting body.
In Re claim 3 Sjoberg discloses said heat treatment assembly comprising heating means (heating element 21, heat storage 14, pneumatic tube 30) associated with said supporting body and adapted to heat said cavity.
In Re claim 8 Sjoberg discloses a blowing means (pneumatic inlet 31, channel 30) associated with said supporting body (1) and adapted to distribute at least one working gas within said cavity, said heating means (21) and said blowing means operating in conjunction to heat said cavity (Paragraph 51).
In Re claim 9 Sjoberg discloses blowing means comprising at least one blowing channel (channel 30) connected to said cavity in a fluid-operated manner; and at least one feeding device (inlet 31) of said working gas connected to said blowing channel in a fluid-operated manner and adapted to send working gas to said blowing channel (Paragraphs 51-55).
In Re claim 10 Sjoberg discloses an actuating means (33) adapted to activate/deactivate at least one of either said heating means or said blowing means (Paragraph 56).
In Re claim 11 Sjoberg discloses actuating means comprising at least one switch adapted to operate at least one of either said heating means or said blowing means; and at least one operating device (lower portion of component 33) associated with said supporting body in a sliding manner, internally to said cavity, and positionable between a first position, wherein it is moved away from said switch and prevents at least one of either said heating means or said blowing means to be activated, and a second position, wherein it is moved close and operates on said switch as a result of the interaction with said dispensing mouth and allows the activation of at least one of either said heating means or said blowing means (operation of switches described in Paragraphs 38 and 56).
In Re claim 12 Sjoberg discloses an operating device comprising a holding element (top flat surface of element 33) adapted to receive and support said dispensing mouth, and a projecting abutment (cylindrical bottom portion of element 33) facing a bottom wall of a receptacle and operating said switch.
In Re claim 13 Sjoberg discloses said bottom wall comprising a through opening (opening into which lower portion of element 33 projects), said abutment member being insertable/extractable into/from said through opening when moving between said first position and said second position (shown in Figures 3 and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 14-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PGPub 2023/0170503 discloses a heating for warming a cryogenic nozzle which wraps around the nozzle during use.
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753