Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
1. Entry of applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 5-22-25 into the application file is acknowledged.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology in particular the term “means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
4. Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed means of threads in that applicant claims specific structure related to the means of threads being the claimed threads.
Regarding claim 4, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed securing means and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the securing means are detailed as a recess, washer and clamping screw as seen in page 3 lines 14-20 of applicant’s originally filed specification. Further, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive system and as seen in applicant’s originally file disclosure the drive system is not detailed structurally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “intended to be” in line 3 of claim 1 makes it unclear as to whether the plate is secured to the shaft. Further, the phrase “is intended” in line 9 of claim 1 makes it unclear as to whether the holes receive a finger of the plucker.
Claims 2 and 3 each recite the limitation "the interior surface of the cover" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear as to whether the shaft detailed in line 1 of claim 4 is the same or different than the shaft detailed cited claim 1. Further, it is unclear as to whether the finger detailed in line 4 of claim 4 is the same or different than the finger detailed in cited claim 1. Further, the phrase “a finger inserted in said hole” in line 4 of claim 4 makes it unclear as to whether a finger is inserted in each of the plurality of holes or whether only a single finger is claimed inserted in one of the plurality of holes. Further, as detailed earlier in paragraph 5 of this office action, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive system and since applicant has not structurally defined the drive system in applicant’s originally filed disclosure it is unclear to what structures encompass the claimed drive system.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the junction" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NL Patent No. 9201947 to Oostzan in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,773,128 to Stanley et al.
Referring to claim 1, Oostzan discloses a finger holder for a plucker, the finger holder being designed to be rotated about a rotation axis – see central axis proximate item 4 in figure 2, and comprising, a plate – at 10, intended to be secured to a shaft – at 5, of the plucker – see figure 2, wherein the plate – at 10, has an edge – see outer edge/surface of 2, forming a cylindrical surface around the rotation axis – see portion of plate 10 that connects to the shaft 5 forming a cylindrical surface formed by the thickness of the plate 10, between a rear face – rear surface of 10, and a front face – front surface of 10 – see figure 2, and a cover – at 1, that has a disc – front portion of 1, and a skirt – angled portions of 1 connected to the disk portion of 1 as seen in figure 2, wherein the disc – at front of 1, covers the front face – front of 10, of the plate – at 10 – see figure 2, and wherein the skirt – at rear of 1, is curved and extends from the disc – front of 1, towards the plate – at 10 – see figure 2, while covering the edge – outer edge/surface of 10, of the plate – at 10 – see figure 2, wherein the disc – front of 1, is pierced with a plurality of holes – at 2 – see figure 1, and wherein each is intended to each receive a finger – at 11,12, of the plucker – see figure 2, wherein an interior surface of the skirt – rear of 1, and the edge – outer edge/surface of 10, cooperate coaxial with the rotation axis – central axis – see at 1,10 in figure 2. Oostzan does not disclose the skirt is cylindrical. Stanley et al. does disclose the skirt – at 116, is cylindrical – see figures 1-6. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Oostzan and have the skirt take any suitable shape including the claimed cylindrical shape as disclosed by Stanley et al., so as to yield the predictable result of facilitating removal and attachment of the fingers to the device as desired. Oostzan further does not disclose the skirt and edge cooperate by means of threads. Stanley et al. does disclose the skirt – at 116, and edge – at outer surface of 112, cooperate by means of threads – at 114. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Oostzan and add the threaded connection between the skirt and edge, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the components to be movable into different positions as desired.
Referring to claims 2 and 3, Oostzan as modified by Stanley et al. further discloses the edge – at outer surface of 112, has a male thread – at 114, and the interior surface of the cover/skirt – at 116, has a female thread – see figure 6 of Stanley et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Oostzan and add the threaded connection between the skirt and edge, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the components to be movable into different positions as desired.
Referring to claim 4, Oostzan as modified by Stanley et al. discloses a plucker comprising a shaft – at 5, a drive system – not shown but connected at 5, driving the shaft – at 5 in rotation about the rotation axis – central axis proximate item 4 as seen in figure 2 of Oostzan, a finger holder according to claim 1 – see rejection of claim 1 detailed earlier, wherein the plate – at 10, is secured to the shaft – at 5, by securing means – at 9,13, and for each hole – at 2, in the disc – front of 1, a finger – at 3,12, is inserted in the hole – at 2 – see figures 1-2 of Oostzan. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive system, the drive system not shown but connected to the shaft – at 5 of Oostzan is at least functionally equivalent to applicant’s drive system since the drive system of Oostzan provides similar function of rotating the shaft to that of applicant’s drive system. Further, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed securing means, items 8 and 13 of Oostzan are washer shaped components with item 13 being disposed in a recess in the shaft – at 5 and therefore is consistent with applicant’s disclosed securing means.
Referring to claim 5, Oostzan as modified by Stanley et al. further discloses each finger – at 3,12, comprises a shoe – at 12 below the conical section of 12, and a rod – at 3 and conical portion of 12, with a frustoconical base – see conical section of 12 in figure 2 of Oostzan, that broadens at the junction with the shoe – at 12 below the conical portion – see figure 2 of Oostzan, wherein the shoe is gripped between the plate – at 10, and the disc – at the front of 1 – see figure 2 of Oostzan.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to poultry plucking/defeathering devices in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 3,218,668 to Engkjer et al. – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 4,175,302 to Scheier et al. – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 4,292,709 to van Mil – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 7,066,805 to Turner – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 7,070,494 to Rapp et al. – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 9,414,608 to Goodyear – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 10,785,988 to Batty et al. – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 12,089,604 to McCoy – shows poultry plucking device
U.S. Pat. No. 12,550,907 to Poston et al. – shows poultry plucking device
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643