DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-17 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is related to a signal per se. The claims do not define a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium and is thus non-statutory for that reason (i.e., "When functional descriptive material is recorded on some non- transitory computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the non-transitory medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized"- Guidelines Annex IV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU (Hereafter, “Xu”) [US 2025/0260807 A1].
In regards to claim 1, Xu discloses a method of reconstructing a current block by a video decoding apparatus ([0006] a video decoding method), the method comprising: decoding, from a bitstream, an intra-prediction mode of the current block and a multiple reference line index (MRL index) that indicates, from within an MRL candidate list, a reference line to be used for intra prediction of the current block ([0006] Whether a multiple reference line intra prediction (MRL_IP) mode is used for a current block is determined by decoding an MRL_IP mode flag for the current block. When the MRL_IP mode is determined to be used for the current block, an MRL_IP mode index for the current block is further decoded.); obtaining a length of the MRL candidate list, the length of the MRL candidate list indicating a number of reference lines included in the MRL candidate list ([0110] When TIMD is not used for the current block, the length of the MRL index list is 6. [0113] When TIMD is not used for the current block, the length of the MRL index list is 6.); obtaining at least one or more filling methods ([0006] The MRL_IP mode candidate list is a template-based MRL_IP (TMRL_IP) mode candidate list constructed. [0110 and 0113] the MRL index list is filled and the order of the indexes is fixed [0132] In another exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block is not sorted based on the template, but is constructed in other manners. For example, based on the statistical results of a large amount of sample data, the combinations of reference line and intra prediction modes with the highest probability of being selected are filled into the MRL_IP mode candidate list. The MRL_IP mode candidate list can only be filled with combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes, but it is not necessary. The candidate list can also be filled with combinations of the reference line with an index of 0 and other intra prediction modes. If the selected combination is a combination of the reference line with an index of 0 and an intra prediction mode in the candidate list, the MRL_IP mode index can also be encoded to indicate the selected combination.); generating the MRL candidate list by adding reference lines corresponding to the length of the MRL candidate list to the MRL candidate list by using the at least one or more filling methods ([0006] An MRL_IP most candidate list for the current block is constructed, where the candidate list is filled with combinations of candidate extended reference lines and candidate intra prediction modes for the current block. [0110] When TIMD is not used for the current block, the length of the MRL index list is 6, that is, there are 6 positions in total, which can be filled with indexes of 6 reference lines. The indexes of 6 reference lines and their order are fixed, which are 0, 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, respectively, and can be expressed as follows: MULTI_REF_LINE_IDX [6]={0, 1, 3, 5, 7, 12}. [0113] The MRL mode can also be used together with the TIMD mode. When TIMD is used, the length of the MRL index list is 3, which means that the MRL index list can be filled with indexes of 3 reference lines and the order of the indexes in the MRL index list is fixed, expressed as MULTI_REF_LINE_IDX [3]={0, 1, 3}.); deriving the reference line from the MRL candidate list by using the MRL index ([0006] The MRL_IP mode index indicates the position of the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode in the candidate list.); and generating, by using the reference line, a prediction block of the current block according to the intra-prediction mode ([0006] According to the candidate list and the MRL_IP mode index, a combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode selected for the current block is determined, and prediction on the current block is performed according to the selected combination.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the different embodiments/examples of Xu to include the additional features for the system [Official Notice].
In regards to claim 4, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Xu discloses wherein obtaining the at least one or more filling methods comprises: determining the at least one or more filling methods based on information on blocks, or setting the at least one or more filling methods to a preset method, wherein the information on blocks comprises: features of the current block, features of a block located neighboring the current block in a current frame, features of a block reconstructed earlier than the current block, or features of blocks including a co-located block with the current block and a neighboring block of the co-located block in a referenceable other picture ([0132] In another exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block is not sorted based on the template, but is constructed in other manners. For example, based on the statistical results of a large amount of sample data, the combinations of reference line and intra prediction modes with the highest probability of being selected are filled into the MRL_IP mode candidate list. The MRL_IP mode candidate list can only be filled with combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes, but it is not necessary. The candidate list can also be filled with combinations of the reference line with an index of 0 and other intra prediction modes. If the selected combination is a combination of the reference line with an index of 0 and an intra prediction mode in the candidate list, the MRL_IP mode index can also be encoded to indicate the selected combination.).
In regards to claim 6, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Xu discloses wherein the at least one or more filling methods each comprise: a method of using reference lines of neighboring blocks of the current block in a current frame ([0097] Template based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is an intra prediction mode for luma pictures. The TIMD mode is generated based on a candidate intra prediction mode in the MPM list and a template region (“template” for short). In the ECM, as illustrated in FIG. 4, a left neighbouring region and an upper neighbouring region for the current block (such as the current CU) 11 constitute a template region 12 for the current block. The left neighbouring region is called a left template region (referred to as a left template), and the upper neighbouring region is called an upper template region (referred to as an upper template). [0113] The MRL mode can also be used together with the TIMD mode. When TIMD is used, the length of the MRL index list is 3, which means that the MRL index list can be filled with indexes of 3 reference lines and the order of the indexes in the MRL index list is fixed, expressed as MULTI_REF_LINE_IDX [3]={0, 1, 3}.), a method of using reference lines according to a predetermined rule based on features of the current block, a method of using reference lines of a block reconstructed earlier than the current block, or a method of using reference lines of blocks including a co-located block with the current block and neighbor blocks of the co-located block in a referenceable other picture.
In regards to claim 7, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Xu discloses wherein obtaining the length of the MRL candidate list comprises: decoding the length of MRL candidate list from the bitstream ([0006] The MRL_IP mode candidate list is a template-based MRL_IP (TMRL_IP) mode candidate list constructed. [0110 and 0113] the MRL index list is filled and the order of the indexes is fixed [0132] In another exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block is not sorted based on the template, but is constructed in other manners. For example, based on the statistical results of a large amount of sample data, the combinations of reference line and intra prediction modes with the highest probability of being selected are filled into the MRL_IP mode candidate list. The MRL_IP mode candidate list can only be filled with combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes, but it is not necessary. The candidate list can also be filled with combinations of the reference line with an index of 0 and other intra prediction modes. If the selected combination is a combination of the reference line with an index of 0 and an intra prediction mode in the candidate list, the MRL_IP mode index can also be encoded to indicate the selected combination.).
In regards to claim 9, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Xu discloses wherein obtaining the length of the MRL candidate list comprises: determining the length of the MRL candidate list based on information on blocks, or setting the length of the MRL candidate list to a preset value, wherein the information on blocks comprises: features of the current block, features of a block located neighboring the current block in a current frame, features of a block reconstructed earlier than the current block, or features of blocks including a co-located block with the current block and a neighboring block of the co-located block in a referenceable other picture ([0006] The MRL_IP mode candidate list is a template-based MRL_IP (TMRL_IP) mode candidate list constructed. [0110 and 0113] the MRL index list is filled and the order of the indexes is fixed [0132] In another exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block is not sorted based on the template, but is constructed in other manners. For example, based on the statistical results of a large amount of sample data, the combinations of reference line and intra prediction modes with the highest probability of being selected are filled into the MRL_IP mode candidate list. The MRL_IP mode candidate list can only be filled with combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes, but it is not necessary. The candidate list can also be filled with combinations of the reference line with an index of 0 and other intra prediction modes. If the selected combination is a combination of the reference line with an index of 0 and an intra prediction mode in the candidate list, the MRL_IP mode index can also be encoded to indicate the selected combination. [0182] In the embodiment, different values of N, M and K are used for current blocks of different sizes. When the size of the current block is relatively small, relatively small values are used to construct the TMRL_IP mode candidate list. When the size of the current block is relatively large, relatively large values are used to construct the TMRL_IP mode candidate list. Therefore, a better balance can be achieved between the complexity of the operation and the performance.).
Claims 10, 14, and 15 list all the same elements of claims 1 and 7, but in encoding form rather than decoding form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1 and 7 applies equally as well to claims 10, 14, and 15.
Claim 13 lists all the same elements of claim 4, but in encoding form rather than decoding form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 4 applies equally as well to claim 13.
Claim 16 lists all the same elements of claim 9, but in encoding form rather than decoding form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 9 applies equally as well to claim 16.
Claim 17 lists all the same elements of claim 10, but in computer-readable recording medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 10 applies equally as well to claim 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482