DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 12-15 are cancelled. Claims 17-20 are new. Claims 1-11 and 16- 20 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/082656 filed on 11/22/2023, which claims priority from EP22383126.4 filed on 11/23/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 05/22/2025 and 07/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 20 use “selected from… and…” but are not written in Markush form of “selected from the group consisting of”. The applicant may change the “and” to “or” for these options.
Claim 8 is objected to for “chromogranin and islet-glucose-6-phosphatase….”, which should be “chromogranin, islet-glucose-6-phosphatase…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 8 uses recitation of “derivatives” that may apply to items found above. Applicant does not provide for a definition of derivatives that would limit it to particular defined derivations nor provide a representative number of derivative species that would provide ownership for such a genus. It appears the only derivation discussed with detail is “antigenic fragments” or “immunogenic fragments”, but derivations would encompass a larger number of added chemical groups or alterations that would alter the function of the items (e.g. peptides or proteins) in a variety of ways and with a variety of functionalities not described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7-9, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 18 are indefinite for the use of “including” in the claim in the recitations “drugs, including therapeutic proteins” and “viral vectors, including viral capsid proteins” as it is unclear if “drugs” is supposed to necessarily include therapeutic proteins and if “viral vectors” is supposed to necessarily include viral capsid proteins or if “including” as provided in these claims is being used for examples of what “drugs” or “viral vectors” may be. Applicant may simply use “therapeutic proteins” and “viral capsid proteins” to simplify and clarify these recitations. It is also unclear how all drugs or viral vectors would necessarily serve as antigens, which seems to be the purpose of this group of items.
Claims 8, 9, 19 and 20 are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the liposomes" in the claim where claim 1, on which it depends, provides for liposomes in the first population and liposomes in the second population. It is unclear if “the liposomes” in claim 16 is referring to only “the liposomes in the first population”, only “the liposomes in the second population” or both “the liposomes in the first and second populations”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation “self antigen associated with an autoimmune disease”, and the claim also recites “in particular the self-antigen is selected from…”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Applicant may delete the recitation of “in particular” to correct the issue.
In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “viral capsid protein”, and the claim also recites “in particular selected from VP1, VP2 and VP3”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "for example" (here written as (e.g. collagen type 11) or (e.g. small nucleolar protein)) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 is indefinite for having multiple recitations of “and” within the group where the only “and” should come before the last item in the group. This makes it unclear where the Markush group should end (e.g. does it end after “and islet glucose-6-phosphatase catalytic subunit-related protein” or after “and antigenic fragments…” or after “and “immunogenic fragments….” For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner will read the group as containing all of the items following “consisting of”.
Claim 8 is indefinite for use of “derivatives” as it is unclear what types of derivations this would encompass for the items presented in the group. However, Applicant does provide support for antigenic fragments of any of the members of the group and immunogenic fragments of any of the members of the group, which are a more specific type of derivative, but there is no definition by applicant that limits derivative to a certain item/type of derivation. For the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 8 is indefinite for the use of “any of the above” as it is unclear if it is only referring to the items in that group or if above can related to any limitation that appears above this recitation (even those in other claims).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN101502649A.
CN ‘649 teaches a liposome vaccine for preventing and treating influenza which encapsulates biological medicine (abstract). CN ‘469 notes that its formulation has beneficial effects including increased encapsulation of antigen (abstract). Example 4 provides for a formulation with a liposome made up of phosphatidyl serine, cholesterol and stearic acid amine in molar ratio of 7:5:3. This translates to about 66% by weight of phosphatidyl serine in the membrane. This ratio allows for Example 3 provides for use of lecithin and cholesterol for liposomes. Lecithin is primarily phosphatidylcholine (also see example 6). Claim 10 of CN ‘649 provides for materials for liposomes including phosphatidyl choline, phosphatidylserine and lecithin. Claim 9 of CN ‘649 teaches liposome diameters of 50 to 5000 nm while its disclosure also allows ranges of 100-1500 nm and 300-800 nm (English translation of CN ‘649). CN ‘649 teaches antigenic components (protein or glycoprotein) (English translation). CN ‘649 teaches additives like antioxidants (vitamin E), positive or negative charged phospholipids to prevent liposome aggregation and freeze dry agents (English translation of CN ‘649). The composition of CN ‘649 can have a range that encompasses both diameters of liposomes in the first and second liposome ranges via 50 to 5000 nm and 100 to 1500 nm. Thus, having these size ranges would allow for having populations of liposomes in both these ranges.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have been capable of adjusting the formulation to having 60% of phosphatidylserine as CN ‘649 allows for other possible membrane components, and thus, one can add other components like lecithin and change the amounts of these membrane components as desired (MPEP 2144.05). Note that 66% by weight of phosphatidylserine is a near value to 60% by weight. In regard to applicant claim 2, the amounts of particles would differ based on size distributions that fit within the ranges of CN ‘649 where CN ‘649 does provide that the average particle sizes are distributed through the range.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 17-20 in addition to Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN101502649A and Comamala WO2015107140A1.
CN ‘649 teaches the claims as discussed above.
CN ‘649 does not teach the limitations of claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 17 and 20.
Comamala teaches liposomes encapsulating autoantigens (another type of antigen). The liposome membranes have phosphatidylserine in an amount of 10-40% by weight with respect to the total membrane composition (abstract). Comamala teaches pharmaceutical or veterinary compositions with the liposomes for use in treating autoimmune diseases (abstract). The figure 3-5 legends provide for insulin peptides. Comamala teaches peptides with 5 to 100 amino acids or 8 to 50 amino acids (page 15). Comamala teaches “Other autoantigenic proteins or peptides that are associated to autoimmune diseases and may be encapsulated in the liposomes Of the invention are, for example, peptides from myelin for multiple sclerosis, such as peptides derived from myelin-oligodendrocyte glycoprotein (MOG), peptides from acetylcholine receptor for myasthenia gravis, transglutaminase for celiac disease, thyroglobulin for autoimmune thyroiditis” (page 15). Comamala teaches liposomes with PS:PC:cholesterol ratio of 0.9:0.0.9:1 to 1.1:1.1:1.4 (page 16, also see page 18). Comamala teaches different administrations of the formulation (pages 19-20). Claim 12 of Comamala provides for excipients and carriers.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have constituted liposomes by teachings of CN ‘649 and Comamala with adjustments in phosphatidtylserine:phosphatidylcholine:cholesterol ratio as seeing their liposome compositions effective for antigen delivery and utilized such liposomes to treat autoimmune diseases including those caused by insulin (a protein capable of activating autoimmune response) through administration of the antigen containing liposomes as both references provide liposomal compositions for delivery of antigens for treatment of a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the liposomal antigen as being modifiable based on the disease to be treated in the subject (e.g. viral, autoimmune or other) based on teachings of the prior art.
Claim 9 in addition to Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN101502649A and Kazemi et al (Archives of Razi Institute, Feb 2022, volume 77, pages 37-44).
CN’ 649 teaches the claims as discussed above.
CN ‘649 does not teach the antigen being a viral capsid protein.
Kazemi teaches nanoliposomes containing isolated VP1 protein of foot and mouth disease virus (abstract). Kazemi teaches the VP1 protein being prepared in a liposome with phospholipids and cholesterol (abstract). Kazemi teaches “In this study, VP1 protein, one of the most important proteins against the FMD virus in immune response, was used as an antigen containing some specific antigenic situations and also located on the FMDV capsid surface” (Discussion).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized VP1 antigens in liposome formulations seen as beneficial in CN ‘649 as they are seen as effective against viral disease (foot and mouth disease). Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in substituting another antigen for treating disease in formulations o CN ‘649 and obtaining the treatment of the disease that the antigen is designed for.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613