DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegar (US 11,226,181).
Re claim 8, Rastegar (Figs 2a and 2b) discloses a fragmentation projectile comprising: a core (112) comprising an explosive material; and an outer casing (Fig 2b) enveloping the core, the casing composed at least by a plurality of pre-formed fragments in a stacked arrangement, wherein at least one of the pre-formed fragments has a geometry optimized for a reduction of a drag coefficient (see c. 6, l. 21+ discussing aerodynamically shaped fragments).
Re claim 10, Rastegar discloses the fragmentation projectile of claim 8, wherein the casing comprises a backing layer (110) comprising at least one of an epoxy or polymer that secures the plurality of pre-formed fragments in the stacked arrangement.
Re claim 18, Rastegar (Fig 1) discloses the fragmentation projectile of claim 8, wherein the casing includes a plurality of concentric layers each comprising the pre-formed fragments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 11,226,181) in view of Tunger (DE 100 07 675 A1). Rastegar (Fig 2b) discloses an optimized fragment geometry casing for an explosive projectile device, comprising a plurality of streamlined bodies positioned around a periphery of (Fig 1) and comprising an outer casing (Fig 2b) of the explosive projectile device.
Rastegar does not disclose that the fragment geometry wherein the streamlined bodies are structured in a teardrop shaping have an ovular body characteristic of two radii of non-eqiuivalent values joined with a tail portion which extends along a single vector. Tunger (Fig 2) teaches a streamlined body (4) wherein the body is a teardrop shaping have an ovular body characteristic of two radii of non-eqiuivalent values joined with a tail portion which extends along a single vector. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the streamlined bodies in Rastegar to be teardrop shaped as in Tunger. The motivation would simply be to replace one known streamlined body with another known streamlined body. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Claim(s) 9, 11-13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US 11,226,181).
Re claim 9, Rastegar discloses the claimed invention except for optimized drag coefficient. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the drag coefficient, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re claim 11-13 and 15, In regard to the different shape(s) of the fragments in these claims. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the fragments to any known aerodynamic shape, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23. Additionally, claim 11 does not require the first and second drag coefficients to be different. See Fig 2b for hedron shape.
Re claim 17, Rastegar discloses the claimed invention except for the material of the fragments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the material to be steel or tungsten, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Limitations related to additive manufacturing are considered product-by-process limitations. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-6-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the examiner’s reference to Rastegar (US 11,226,181) does not disclose “an outer casing…envelop[es] the core [and is] composed at least by a plurality of pre-formed fragments in a stacked arrangement….” The examiner disagrees. Rastegar clearly discloses and an outer casing (Fig 2b) enveloping the core (112), the casing composed at least by a plurality of pre-formed fragments in a stacked arrangement (Fig 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641