Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations only store and retrieve information in memory, explain that these are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
1. A multi-user navigation system, comprising:
an emergency navigation device (generic electronic element) associated with an emergency vehicle, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to:
determine, based on an obtained start location of the emergency vehicle and an obtained destination of the emergency vehicle (data gathering), emergency route data representing an emergency route of the emergency vehicle from the start location to the destination (data processing to perform an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion),
transmit, via a mobile telecommunications system, an emergency route message to a plurality of navigation devices each being associated with a vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle (data communication); and
the plurality of navigation devices, wherein each navigation device is configured to receive the emergency route message which indicates that the emergency vehicle approaches (data gathering).
2. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 1, wherein the emergency route message includes a driving instruction to output via the plurality of navigation devices. (data processing)
3. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of navigation devices is configured to refine the driving instruction based on vehicle route data representing a vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle. (data processing)
4. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 3, wherein refining the driving instruction is further based on obtained environment data representing an environment of the respective vehicle. (data gathering)
5. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 1, wherein the emergency route message includes the emergency route data. (data gathering)
6. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein each of the plurality navigation devices is configured to overlay the emergency route on a displayed vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle. (data processing – GPS device)
7. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of navigation devices is configured to determine, via vehicle-to-vehicle communications provided by the respective vehicle, a cooperative driving maneuver with the other of the plurality of navigation devices in response to the emergency route message for clearing the emergency route. (data communication)
8. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 7, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is based on the emergency route message. (data gathering)
9. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on vehicle route data representing a vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle. (data processing)
10. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on obtained environment data representing an environment of the respective vehicle. (data processing)
11. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on obtained traffic data. (data gathering)
12. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 7, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver includes a driving maneuver for each vehicle for output as a driving instruction by the respective navigation device of the plurality of navigation devices. (data communication)
13. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message in a radio cell covering a current location of the emergency navigation device and in each radio cell adjacent to the radio cell covering at least a part of the emergency route. (data communication and gathering)
14. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to infrastructure devices along the emergency route. (data communication)
15. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 4, wherein the environment data is obtained from at least one of a camera and a distance measurement device of the respective vehicle. (data gathering)
16. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to other emergency navigation devices each being associated with another emergency vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle. (data communication and gathering)
17. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to a plurality of public transport navigation devices each being associated with a public transport vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle. (data communication and gathering)
18. (same as for claim 1) An information processing method for a multi-user navigation system, comprising:
determining, based on an obtained start location of an emergency vehicle and an obtained destination of the emergency vehicle, emergency route data representing an emergency route of the emergency vehicle from the start location to the destination;
transmitting, via a mobile telecommunications system, an emergency route message to a plurality of navigation devices each being associated with a vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle; and
receiving the emergency route message which indicates that the emergency vehicle approaches.
19. The information processing method according to claim 18, wherein the emergency route message includes the emergency route data. (data gathering)
20. The information processing method according to claim 19, comprising:
determining, via vehicle-to-vehicle communications provided by the respective vehicle, a cooperative driving maneuver with the other of the plurality of navigation devices in response to the emergency route message for clearing the emergency route. (data communication)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WALSH et al. (US 20210056842 A1).
1. WALSH discloses (abstract) a multi-user navigation system (FIG.1), comprising:
an emergency navigation device associated with an emergency vehicle, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to: [0023-0024]
determine, based on an obtained start location of the emergency vehicle and an obtained destination of the emergency vehicle, emergency route data representing an emergency route of the emergency vehicle from the start location to the destination (FIG.1, Table 1, [0029-0030, 0034, 0044]),
transmit, via a mobile telecommunications system, an emergency route message to a plurality of navigation devices each being associated with a vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle (FIG.1-3, Table 1, [0023-0024, 0029-0030, 0034, 0044-0045, 0070-0072]); and
the plurality of navigation devices, wherein each navigation device is configured to receive the emergency route message which indicates that the emergency vehicle approaches (FIG.2, [0023-0024, 0043, 0061, 0076-0080]).
[0070] Specifically, in operation emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 monitors for an indication of an emergency condition such as a visual flashing light or an audible siren. Accordingly, emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may include, for example, a microphone, a camera, or any other suitable mechanism for detecting an indication of an emergency condition. As described above, emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may detect for a particular frequency, decibel level, flashing light pattern, and duration of any such behavior. Alternately, emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may be manually operated or hardwired to be activated when a siren or flasher is activated. Further, emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may include a processor and memory. Emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may also include a communication interface suitable for wireless communication with alert management computing device 40. Emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 may also include location tools for determining present emergency vehicle location, present emergency vehicle trajectory, present emergency vehicle velocity, and present emergency vehicle acceleration. Such location tools may include accelerometers, gyroscopes, and global positioning tools. In some examples, emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 is in communication with software used for navigation and mapping and may receive routing information for emergency vehicle 20.
[0071] Emergency vehicle transmitter device 22 transmits an emergency vehicle alert request message 30 to alert management computing device 40, as described above and herein. In one example, emergency vehicle alert request message 30 includes at least a present emergency vehicle location and a present emergency vehicle trajectory for emergency vehicle 20. In other examples, emergency vehicle alert request message 30 may include a timestamp, an identifier for emergency vehicle 20, a present emergency vehicle speed, a present emergency vehicle acceleration, and projected information related to emergency vehicle 20 based on routing or mapping information.
2. WALSH discloses [0042, 0045] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 1, wherein the emergency route message includes a driving instruction to output via the plurality of navigation devices.
5. WALSH discloses [0030, 0042-0045] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 1, wherein the emergency route message includes the emergency route data.
13. WALSH discloses [0030, 0042-0045] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message in a radio cell covering a current location of the emergency navigation device and in each radio cell adjacent to the radio cell covering at least a part of the emergency route.
16. WALSH discloses [0009, 0023-0024, 0042, 0090] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to other emergency navigation devices each being associated with another emergency vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle.
17. WALSH discloses [0009, 0023-0024, 0042, 0090] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to a plurality of public transport navigation devices each being associated with a public transport vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle.
18. Same as for claim 1, an information processing method for a multi-user navigation system, comprising:
determining, based on an obtained start location of an emergency vehicle and an obtained destination of the emergency vehicle, emergency route data representing an emergency route of the emergency vehicle from the start location to the destination;
transmitting, via a mobile telecommunications system, an emergency route message to a plurality of navigation devices each being associated with a vehicle that is within a predetermined distance to the route of the emergency vehicle; and
receiving the emergency route message which indicates that the emergency vehicle approaches.
19. WALSH discloses [0030, 0042-0045] the information processing method according to claim 18, wherein the emergency route message includes the emergency route data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALSH et al. (US 20210056842 A1) in view of BECKER et al. (US 20170249839 A1).
However, WALSH fails to explicitly disclose:
3. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of navigation devices is configured to refine the driving instruction based on vehicle route data representing a vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle.
4. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 3, wherein refining the driving instruction is further based on obtained environment data representing an environment of the respective vehicle.
BECKER teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, [0004, 0015-0035, 0046-0048] navigation devices configured to refine driving instructions based on vehicle route data representing such vehicle which includes obtained environment data (FIG.2A-2C) around environment of such vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try using route and environment data in order to further improve emergency route instructions during emergencies.
However, WALSH fails to explicitly disclose:
6. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein each of the plurality navigation devices is configured to overlay the emergency route on a displayed vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle.
BECKER teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, overlaying route information on display with vehicle route. [0029]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try overlaying route information on device in order to provide more visual information while vehicle is in operation.
However, WALSH fails to explicitly disclose:
14. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein the emergency navigation device is configured to transmit, via the mobile telecommunications system, the emergency route message to infrastructure devices along the emergency route.
BECKER teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, wherein emergency route message can be transmitted to infrastructure devices along a route. [0016, 0042-0043]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try communicating with infrastructures in order to obtain a smarter and more versatile emergency system.
15. WALSH discloses [0035] the multi-user navigation system according to claim 4, wherein the environment data is obtained from at least one of a camera and a distance measurement device of the respective vehicle.
Claim(s) 7-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALSH et al. (US 20210056842 A1) in view of ADIREDDY et al. (US 20200207367 A1).
However, WALSH fails to explicitly disclose:
7. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of navigation devices is configured to determine, via vehicle-to-vehicle communications provided by the respective vehicle, a cooperative driving maneuver with the other of the plurality of navigation devices in response to the emergency route message for clearing the emergency route.
8. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 7, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is based on the emergency route message.
9. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on vehicle route data representing a vehicle route associated with the respective vehicle.
10. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on obtained environment data representing an environment of the respective vehicle.
11. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 8, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver is further based on obtained traffic data.
12. The multi-user navigation system according to claim 7, wherein the cooperative driving maneuver includes a driving maneuver for each vehicle for output as a driving instruction by the respective navigation device of the plurality of navigation devices.
20. The information processing method according to claim 19, comprising:
determining, via vehicle-to-vehicle communications provided by the respective vehicle, a cooperative driving maneuver with the other of the plurality of navigation devices in response to the emergency route message for clearing the emergency route.
ADIREDDY teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, [0014-0015, 0037, 0040-0042] wherein (FIG.4) navigation devices of vehicles communicate with each other, for the purpose of sharing relevant information between vehicles to determine improved vehicle routes. Shared data among vehicle devices includes traffic and environmental data [0032, 0038, 0043], for the purpose of adjusting vehicle route information as required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try communication between vehicle devices in order to obtain a means of cooperating by sharing route information as needed to improve vehicle routes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 9/3/2026