Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 after “disposed” should read “in”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agnew (9,020,730).
Agnew teaches a monitoring system comprising at least one imaging module disposed on the vehicle to acquire imaging of an area exterior of the vehicle (14a-14f); a controller 20 operatively connected to the monitoring system and to a brake control module 18 disposed in the vehicle that operates a brake system 24 on the vehicle, wherein the controller analyzes imaging received from the monitoring system to identify at least one target in the area exterior of the vehicle, and to provide a control signal to the brake control module when the at least one target is determined to be at risk (see abstract, col. 4 line 10-52); and an interlock system 10 operatively connected to the controller; the interlock system 10 comprising at least one override module 38 providing an override signal to the controller when an operator activates the at least one override module (see abstract, col. 5 line 9-32).
For claim 2 (see elements 14a-14f col. 3 line 43-56).
For claim 3 (see switches 38, 40 col. 4 line 44-52).
For claim 4 (see switches 38, 40 col. 5 line 9-32).
For claim 8 (see col. 5 line 9-32).
For claim 9 (see col. 5 line 9-32).
For claim 10 (see abstract, figure 2, col. 3 line 43-56, col. 5 line 9-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agnew (9,020,730) in view of Du et al (CN 110956110).
Agnew teaches the claimed limitations except for a computer. Du et al teaches a computer (see abstract and claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the computer on the safety system of Agnew as taught by Du et al in order to improve the accuracy of the safety system for a vehicle.
For claims 5-7 see abstract and claim of ‘110.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mower et al 12,338,669 teaches a bus boarding protection system.
Forthoffer et al 12,306,294 teaches a position sensor for a vehicle.
Agnew 6,601,669 teaches a safety interlock system for a vehicle.
Schenken et al 2012/0307064 teaches a computing device for detecting moving objects surrounding the vehicle.
/HAI H HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747