DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on5/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
This application claims priority of PCT Application PCT/IB2023/00706 filed on 11/22/2023, which claims further priority of Provisional Application 63/428000 filed 11/25/2022. Applicant's claim for the benefit of this prior-filed application is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter;
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In the instant case (Step 1), claims 1-8 are directed toward a process, claims 9-14 are directed toward a system, and claim 15-20 are directed toward a product; which are statutory categories of invention.
Additionally (Step 2A Prong One), the independent claims are directed toward a method comprising: identifying, by a device, a task to be performed at a location by a user; identifying, by the device, a monitoring device at the location; monitoring, by the device via the monitoring device, activities of the user in relation to performance of the task; capturing, by the device, data related to the activities of the user related to the performance of the task; analyzing, by the device, the captured data; determining, by the device, performance information of the user; and generating, by the device, an alert based on the performance information (Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See MPEP 2106). The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims are directed toward the abstract idea of Organizing Human Activity because the claimed limitations are analyzing tasks to be performed at certain locations and determining performance of those tasks and sending alerts based on the determinations for human users to interpret, which is managing how humans interact for commercial purposes. The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims are directed toward the abstract idea of Mental Processes because the claimed limitations are analyzing tasks to be performed at certain locations and determining performance of those tasks and sending alerts based on the determinations for human users to interpret, which can all be done in the human mind.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-14, and 16-20 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims, where any additional elements introduced are discussed below.
Step 2A Prong Two: In this application, even if not directed toward the abstract idea, the Independent claims additionally recite “by a device, by the device, a monitoring device at the location (claim 1)”; “A device comprising: at least one processor configured to; a monitoring device (claim 9)”; “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions that when executed by a device; a monitoring device (claim 15)”, which are additional elements that would not integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and are recited at such a high level of generality. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use the computer components as a tool. There is no change to the computer or other technology that is recited in the claim, and thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology.
In addition, dependent claims 2-8, 10-14, and 16-20 further narrow the abstract idea and dependent claims 3-7, 11-14, and 17-20 additionally recite “a device associated with the user (claims 3, 11, and 17); at least one device of another user (claims 4, 12, and 18); a classifier; a geographic information system; a database (claims 5, 13, and 19); a robot; a machine-readable data structure (claims 6, 14, and 20); a sensor associated with the location, a sensor associated with the user, a camera associated with the location and a camera associated with the user (claim 7)” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: When analyzing the additional element(s) and/or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se the claim limitations amount(s) to no more than: a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05). Further, Method; System Independent claims 1, 9, and 15 recite “by a device, by the device, a monitoring device at the location (claim 1)”; “A device comprising: at least one processor configured to; a monitoring device (claim 9)”; “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions that when executed by a device; a monitoring device (claim 15)”; however, these elements merely facilitate the claimed functions at a high level of generality and they perform conventional functions and are considered to be general purpose computer components which is supported by Applicant’s specification in Paragraphs 0140-0153 and Figures 1 and 8. The Applicant’s claimed additional elements are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a general purpose computer and generally link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. When viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In addition, claims 2-8, 10-14, and 16-20 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. The Examiner notes that the dependent claims merely further define the data being analyzed and how the data is being analyzed. Similarly, claims 3-7, 11-14, and 17-20 additionally recite “a device associated with the user (claims 3, 11, and 17); at least one device of another user (claims 4, 12, and 18); a classifier; a geographic information system; a database (claims 5, 13, and 19); a robot; a machine-readable data structure (claims 6, 14, and 20); a sensor associated with the location, a sensor associated with the user, a camera associated with the location and a camera associated with the user (claim 7)” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the claimed structure merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106.05). The additional limitations of the independent and dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner has considered the dependent claims in a full analysis including the additional limitations individually and in combination as analyzed in the independent claim(s). Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oleynik (US 2016/0059412 A1) in view of Nigam et al. (US 2022/0253767 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Oleynik teaches a method comprising (See Figures 1-4 and Figure 5A):
identifying, by a device, a task to be performed at a location by a user (See Paragraph 0012, Paragraph 0305, and Paragraph 0515);
identifying, by the device, a monitoring device at the location (See Figure 1, Figures 6-7, Paragraph 0013, Paragraph 0175, Paragraph 0283, Paragraph 0305, Paragraph 0350, Paragraph 0422, and Paragraph 0515);
monitoring, by the device via the monitoring device, activities of the user in relation to performance of the task (See Figure 1, Paragraph 0013, Paragraph 0175, Paragraph 0305, Paragraph 0350, Paragraph 0422, Paragraph 0515, and Paragraph 0550);
capturing, by the device, data related to the activities of the user related to the performance of the task (See Figure 1, Paragraph 0013, Paragraph 0175, Paragraph 0305, Paragraph 0350, Paragraph 0422, Paragraph 0515, and Paragraph 0550);
analyzing, by the device, the captured data (See Figure 21, Figures 52-54, Paragraph 0013, Paragraphs 0347-0349, Paragraph 0422, Paragraph 0515, Paragraph 0519, and Paragraph 0549-0550);
determining, by the device, performance information of the user (See Paragraph 0013, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0331, Paragraphs 0347-0349, Paragraph 0422, Paragraph 0515, Paragraph 0519, and Paragraph 0549);
and generating, by the device, an alert (See Figure 79, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0513, Paragraphs 0518-0519, Paragraph 0549, and Paragraph 0551).
Oleynik does not specifically disclose generating, by the device, an alert “based on the performance information”. However, Nigam et al. further teach generating, by the device, an alert “based on the performance information” (See Figure 3, Paragraph 0055, and Paragraph 0076).
The teachings of Oleynik and Nigam et al. are related because both are monitoring actions to make determinations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic learning and control system of Oleynik to incorporate the performance alerts of Nigam et al. in order to ensure that the user and machine are operating as expected to achieve expected results.
Regarding Claim 2: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 1. Oleynik further teaches:
analyzing the performance information, and determining a performance value for the task by the user (See Paragraph 0013, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0331, Paragraphs 0347-0349, Paragraph 0422, Paragraph 0515, Paragraph 0519, and Paragraph 0549);
and determining, an identity of a destination to send the alert (See Figure 79, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0513, Paragraphs 0518-0519, Paragraph 0549, and Paragraph 0551).
Oleynik does not specifically disclose determining, “based on the analysis of the performance information, a type of the alert, the determination further comprising” determining an identity of a destination to send the alert. However, Nigam et al. further teach determining, “based on the analysis of the performance information, a type of the alert, the determination further comprising” determining an identity of a destination to send the alert (See Figure 3, Paragraph 0055, and Paragraph 0076).
The teachings of Oleynik and Nigam et al. are related because both are monitoring actions to make determinations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic learning and control system of Oleynik to incorporate the performance alerts of Nigam et al. in order to ensure that the user and machine are operating as expected to achieve expected results.
Regarding Claim 3: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 2. Oleynik further teaches wherein the alert is sent to a device associated with the user (See Figure 79, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0513, Paragraphs 0518-0519, Paragraph 0549, and Paragraph 0551).
Regarding Claim 4: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 2. Oleynik do not specifically disclose the following. However, Nigam et al. further teach wherein the alert is sent to at least one device of another user (See Figure 3, Paragraph 0055, and Paragraph 0076).
The teachings of Oleynik and Nigam et al. are related because both are monitoring actions to make determinations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic learning and control system of Oleynik to incorporate the performance alerts of Nigam et al. in order to ensure that the user and machine are operating as expected to achieve expected results.
Regarding Claim 5: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 1. Oleynik further teaches wherein the analysis of the capture data further comprises: executing a classifier to determine a type of the activities of the user; executing a kinematics algorithm to determine movement information related to the activities; executing a geographic information system (GIS) algorithm based at least one the captured data; generating, based on the execution of the classifier, kinematics algorithm and GIS algorithm, a three-dimensional (3D) mapping of the activities of the user respective to the location; and storing the 3D mapping in a database (See Figure 30, Paragraph 0264, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0331, Paragraph 0343, Paragraphs 0346-0347, Paragraph 0463, and Paragraph 0478).
Regarding Claim 6: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 5. Oleynik further teaches: analyzing the task, and determining, based on the task analysis, sequential steps for performance of the task; identifying a type of robot based on analysis of the task; analyzing the 3D mapping; determining, based at least on one of the analysis of the 3D mapping, automated learning algorithms for automatically analyzing and learning the task and the sequential steps for the task, a set of instructions for the robot to automatically perform the task; compiling the set of instructions as a machine-readable data structure; and communicating, over a network, the data structure to the robot, the communication causing the robot to automatically execute the sequential steps according to a performance value provided by the 3D mapping (See Figure 30, Paragraph 0264, Paragraph 0326, Paragraph 0331, Paragraph 0343, Paragraphs 0346-0347, Paragraph 0463, Paragraph 0478, and claim 5).
Regarding Claim 7: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 1. Oleynik further teaches wherein the monitoring device comprises at least one of a sensor associated with the location, a sensor associated with the user, a camera associated with the location and a camera associated with the user (See Figure 5A, Paragraph 0330, Paragraph 0337, Paragraph 0343, and Paragraph 0392).
Regarding Claim 8: Oleynik in view of Nigam et al. teach the limitations of claim 1. Oleynik further teaches wherein the task comprises at least one of real-world and digital operations (See Figures 1-4 and Figure 5A).
Regarding Claims 9-20: Claims 9-20 recite the limitations already addressed by claims 1-8 above and are therefore rejected using the same prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892 and should be taken into account / considered by the Applicant upon reviewing this office action.
/MATTHEW D HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625