1) In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
2) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
3) Claims 4, 7, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 4, 11 and 12, it is unclear what additional limitation is being claimed. The description of "gradually increases / gradually decreases" does not appear to narrow "roughly rhombic".
As to claims 7, 19 and 20, each of these claims is indefinite because "the narrow sipe section is a flat sipe" (claims 7, 19 and 20) is inconsistent with "the narrow sipe section is a three-dimensional sipe that extends while bending in the depth direction" (claim 1).
4) The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a):
5) Claims 7, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 7, 19 and 20, the subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention (i.e. the new matter) is THE COMBINATION OF "the narrow sipe section is a three-dimensional sipe that extends while bending in the depth direction" (claim 1) AND
"the narrow sipe section is a flat sipe" (claims 7, 19 and 20). The original disclosure describe the narrow sipe section being a flat sipe or a three-dimensional sipe instead of a flat sipe and a three-dimensional sipe.
6) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):
7) Claims 4, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 4, 11 and 12 fail to further limit claim 1 because the subject matter described in claims 4, 11 and 12 ("gradually increases / gradually decreases") is required by the subject matter of "roughly rhombic" in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
8) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
9) Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankar et al (US 2024/0025212) in view of Japan 842 (JP 2013-126842).
Sankar et al discloses a pneumatic tire having a tread comprising blocks (land portions) separated by circumferential grooves and lateral grooves [FIGURE 1]. The tread includes shoulder block rows (outermost land portions) comprising shoulder blocks comprising recess 4 wherein the recess 4 comprises a sipe portion 6 and a groove portion 7 [FIGURES 2-5, 6A-6B,16, 20, 21A-21C]. FIGURE 16 of Sankar et al is reproduced below:
As can be seen from FIGURE 16, the sipe portion is a three-dimensional sipe that extends while bending in the depth direction. Maximum width Wg of the groove portion is greater than width Ws of the sipe portion [FIGURES 2, 6A, 16, 21A, TABLE 3]. The tread has a non-skid depth NSD = 6 to 10 mm. The recess 4 has a depth B = 50 to 100% non skid depth NSD. The sipe portion has a width Ws = 0.4 to 1.4 mm. The sipe portion has a depth Ds such as 1.5 to 4 mm. The groove portion has a depth E such as 2 to 6 mm. FIGURE 2 illustrates the groove portion having a depth (extension length in radial direction) greater than a depth (extension length in radial direction) of the sipe portion. The tire retains wet performance after wear. Sankar et al does not recite "roughly rhombic".
Japan 842 discloses a pneumatic tire having a tread comprising a land portion having a recess wherein the recess comprises a narrow sipe portion 20 and a widened section 24 [FIGURES 1, 2A, 2B, 2C, machine translation]. Japan 842 teaches that the widened section 24 may have different cross sectional shapes [FIGURES 12A-12H,
13I-13O, machine translation]. FIGURE 12F of Japan 842 is reproduced below:
As can be seen from FIGURE 12F, the widened section 24 has a roughly rhombic cross sectional shape. Furthermore, FIGURE 12F illustrates the widened section 24 having straight radial outer edges each inclined at an angle of about 55 degrees with respect to a width direction and straight radial inner edges each inclined at an angle of about 55 degrees with respect to the width direction. Japan 842 teaches that the tire has enhanced water discharging property [machine translation].
As to claims 1-3 and 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Sankar et al's FIGURE 16 recess such that:
each of the tire radial outer edges extends at an inclination angle of 30 to 70° with respect to a width direction in a cross-section perpendicular to an extending direction of the sipe and such that the widened section is roughly rhombic in cross-sectional view [claim 1],
each of the tire radial outer edges extends at an inclination angle of 40 to 65° with respect to the width direction in a cross-section perpendicular to the extending direction of the sipe [claim 2],
each of the tire radial inner edges extends at an inclination angle of 30 to 60° with respect to the width direction in a cross-section perpendicular to the extending direction of the sipe [claims 3, 10]
since Japan 842, also directed to a pneumatic tire having a tread comprising a land portion comprising a recess comprising a narrow sipe section and a widened section for improving drainage, teaches using a roughly rhombic cross section for the widened section [FIGURE 12F] as an alternative to other cross sections for the widened section [FIGURES 12A-12E, 12G-12H, FIGURES 13I-13O] wherein FIGURE 12F illustrates the widened section 24 having straight radial outer edges each inclined at an angle of about 55 degrees with respect to a width direction and straight radial inner edges each inclined at an angle of about 55 degrees with respect to the width direction.
As to depth (extension length in tire radial direction) of the widened section
[claim 1], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Sankar et al's FIGURE 16 recess as modified by Japan 842 such that depth (extension length in tire radial direction) of the widened section is longer than depth (extension length in tire radial direction) of the narrow sipe section since (1) Sankar et al teaches that the sipe portion (narrow sipe section) has a depth Ds such as 1.5 to 4 mm and the groove portion (widened section) has a depth E such as 2 to 6 mm and (2) FIGURE 2 of Sankar et al illustrates the groove portion having a depth (extension length in radial direction) greater than a depth (extension length in radial direction) of the sipe portion.
As to claim 9, Sankar et al teaches providing the recess comprising a narrow sipe section and widened section in an outermost land portion (shoulder block) defined by a tread edge and a circumferential groove [FIGURE 1].
As to claims 4 and 11-12, note the roughly rhombic cross section for a widened section disclosed by Japan 842 [FIGURE 12F].
As to claims 7 and 19-20, note the three dimensional narrow sipe section disclosed by Sankar et al.
Remarks
10) Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7, 9-12 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection and the reasons presented therein.
11) No claim is allowed.
12) Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN D MAKI whose telephone number is (571)272-1221. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:30AM-6PM.
/STEVEN D MAKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749
October 3, 2026