DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2022 132 388.9, filed on 12/06/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/27/2025 was received and reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 19/132,902 filed on 05/27/2025, in which claims 13-31 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14, 16, 20-23, 25, & 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalbus et al. US 20150158388 A1 (hereinafter Kalbus) in view of Mittermeier US 20140379175 A1 (hereinafter Mittermeier).
Claim 22: Kalbus discloses A user interface for a transportation vehicle, comprising: a data input; an evaluation unit; and a data output, wherein the evaluation unit, via the data input, is configured to: detect a first gesture of a user by a touch-sensitive surface of a steering wheel of the transportation vehicle; generate a first reference for the first gesture using data of the touch-sensitive surface; detect a second gesture of the user by the touch-sensitive surface; generate a second reference for the second gesture using data of the touch-sensitive surface; ascertain a sufficient relatedness between the first reference and the second reference [[0011]; The user interface further comprises a processor which is configured to detect a first gesture on a first touch pad and a second gesture on a second touch pad in a correlated manner. The processor is further configured to generate at least one control message for the vehicle control system based on the first gesture and based on the second gesture. The user interface further comprises a data interface which is coupled to the processor. The interface is configured to send the at least one control message to the vehicle control system].
Kalbus does not explicitly disclose generate a model via the data output, within the first gesture and the second gesture at least partly lie; and trigger a predefined function by the data output, in response to a third gesture corresponding to the model.
Mittermeier teaches generate a model via the data output, within the first gesture and the second gesture at least partly lie; and trigger a predefined function by the data output, in response to a third gesture corresponding to the model [[0054], [0056], & [0057]; Upon detection of a gesture event, the supervision unit 220 (for example, the control module 223) initiates the execution of a vehicle function associated with the detected gesture event. (…) The system 200 can be configured for the purpose of enabling a user to define his own gesture events and to store them as predefined gesture events in the memory module 215 of the radio key 210 and/or the memory module 225 of the supervision unit 220. (...) In particular, the configuration unit could use a display screen and the input capabilities (for example, buttons or a touchscreen) of the information and entertainment system. (...) To increase the robustness of the gesture recognition, it can be advantageous to record a plurality of versions of the desired movement, and to store a reference sequence for the gesture event, which is ascertained from the plurality of detected sequences of sensor signals (for example, as an averaged sequence of sensor signals)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus in view of Mittermeier with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle control. The combination would reduce costs and expand the vehicle key’s utility for controlling vehicle functions [Mittermeier; [0020]; Because of the capability of controlling vehicle functions on the basis of gestures, in one exemplary embodiment, the radio key does not include any mechanical buttons (in particular, no mechanical button for controlling a function in the vehicle). This has the advantage of a cost reduction and greater robustness of the vehicle key]. Simply substituting the radio key of Mittermeier with the steering wheel of Kalbus produces predictable results of cost reduction and greater control of vehicle function.
Claim 23: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated.
Kalbus discloses the user interface according to claim 22, wherein the evaluation unit is configured to: automatically output feedback to the user regarding whether the first gesture and the second gesture have a suitable relatedness [[0040]; Turning back to FIG. 1, the processor 105 is configured to detect a first gesture on the first touch pad 101 and a second gesture on the second touch pad 102. In one scenario, the processor 105 is configured to detect the first and second gestures simultaneously, i.e., at least partially overlapping in time or fully overlapping in time. However, it would also be possible that the processor 105 is configured to, first, detect the first gesture and then, second, detect the second gesture, e.g., after lapsing of a predefined time interval and/or after a visual or audible verification output has been issued to the user. Based on both the detected first and second gestures, the processor 105 may be configured to generate a control message for the vehicle control system 120].
Claim 25: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated. Kalbus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 25.
Mittermeier teaches the user interface according to Claim 22, wherein the evaluation unit is configured to: detect a predefined user input; and responsively start a configuration mode for detecting the first gesture [[0057]; The user then moves the radio key 210 in a desired manner, and the gesture detection module 211 detects an associated sequence of sensor signals. This sequence of sensor signals can then be stored as a reference sequence for the gesture event in the memory module 215 of the vehicle key 210 and/or in the memory module 225 of the supervision unit 220. To increase the robustness of the gesture recognition, it can be advantageous to record a plurality of versions of the desired movement, and to store a reference sequence for the gesture event, which is ascertained from the plurality of detected sequences of sensor signals (for example, as an averaged sequence of sensor signals)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus in view of Mittermeier with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle control. The combination would reduce costs and expand the vehicle key’s utility for controlling vehicle functions [Mittermeier; [0020]; Because of the capability of controlling vehicle functions on the basis of gestures, in one exemplary embodiment, the radio key does not include any mechanical buttons (in particular, no mechanical button for controlling a function in the vehicle). This has the advantage of a cost reduction and greater robustness of the vehicle key]. Simply substituting the radio key of Mittermeier with the steering wheel of Kalbus produces predictable results of cost reduction and greater control of vehicle function.
Claim 29: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated. Kalbus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 29.
Mittermeier teaches the user interface according to claim 22, wherein the first gesture, the second gesture, and the third gesture comprise at least one of a swipe gesture; a rotational gesture; a two-dimensional gesture; a long-press gesture; and/or a finger-spread gesture [Fig. 3, [0048]; FIG. 3 shows exemplary gesture events 301 to 310. The direction of the arrows indicates a movement direction, solid arrows stand for a high movement speed and dashed arrows stand for a slow movement speed. The gesture event 301 describes a single rapid downward movement. The gesture event 302 describes a single rapid upward movement. The gesture event 303 describes a double rapid downward movement. The gesture event 304 describes a double rapid upward movement. The gesture event 305 describes a rapid lateral movement to the right, followed by a rapid upward movement. The gesture event 306 describes a single slow downward movement. The gesture event 307 describes a single slow upward movement. The gesture event 308 describes a slow lateral movement to the left. The gesture event 309 describes a slow lateral movement to the right. The gesture event 310 describes a rapid zigzag movement downward].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus in view of Mittermeier with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle control. The combination would reduce costs and expand the vehicle key’s utility for controlling vehicle functions [Mittermeier; [0020]; Because of the capability of controlling vehicle functions on the basis of gestures, in one exemplary embodiment, the radio key does not include any mechanical buttons (in particular, no mechanical button for controlling a function in the vehicle). This has the advantage of a cost reduction and greater robustness of the vehicle key]. Simply substituting the radio key of Mittermeier with the steering wheel of Kalbus produces predictable results of cost reduction and greater control of vehicle function.
Figure 3: Mittermeier
Claim 30: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated. Kalbus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 30.
Mittermeier teaches The user interface according to claim 22, wherein the predefined function comprises at least one of: a volume change function; a skip function; a change program function; a scroll function; a window regulator function; a roof window function; a sunroof or panoramic roof function; a roof liner roller blind function; interior lighting function; exterior signaling function; a seating comfort function; and/or an accept or reject phone call function [[0016]; The at least one function in the vehicle can include one or more of the following functions: a function with respect to a lighting of the vehicle (for example, front headlights on/off; "follow me home" lighting on/off); a function with respect to external mirrors, doors, windows, or a trunk of the vehicle (for example, fold external mirrors in/out, open/close driver door, lower/raise windows, open/close trunk); a function with respect to an alarm system of the vehicle (for example, panic function); function with respect to an air-conditioning system of the vehicle (for example, raise/lower temperature in the vehicle); and a function with respect to an information and communication system of the vehicle (for example, page forward/page back in menu pages, raise/lower audio volume)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus in view of Mittermeier with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle control. The combination would reduce costs and expand the vehicle key’s utility for controlling vehicle functions [Mittermeier; [0020]; Because of the capability of controlling vehicle functions on the basis of gestures, in one exemplary embodiment, the radio key does not include any mechanical buttons (in particular, no mechanical button for controlling a function in the vehicle). This has the advantage of a cost reduction and greater robustness of the vehicle key]. Simply substituting the radio key of Mittermeier with the steering wheel of Kalbus produces predictable results of cost reduction and greater control of vehicle function.
Claim 31: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated.
Kalbus discloses A transportation vehicle comprising: the user interface according to claim 22 [[0011]; According to a first aspect, a user interface configured to control a vehicle control system is provided].
Claim(s) 13-14, 16, & 20-21: The claim(s) are directed towards a method of the recited limitations performed by the apparatus of claim(s) 22-23, 25, & 29-30, respectively. The cited portions of Kalbus and Mittermeier used in the rejection of claim(s) 22-23, 25, & 29-30 teach the same steps to perform the method of claim(s) 13-14, 16, & 20-21, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 13-14, 16, & 20-21 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 22-23, 25, & 29-30 as outlined above.
Claim(s) 15, 18, 24, & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalbus in view of Mittermeier, further in view of Kim et al. US 20190291769 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Claim 24: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated. Kalbus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 24.
Kim teaches the user interface according to Claim 22, wherein the touch-sensitive surface is arranged at a region on an impact absorber adjoining a steering wheel rim [Fig. 2, [0019]; In addition, the touch sensor can be composed of a left touch sensor located on a left-side surface of the steering wheel, a central touch sensor located on the center thereof, and a right touch sensor located on a right-side surface thereof, and a haptic icon printed on the surface can be located thereon].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus and Mittermeier in view of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle controls. The combination would avoid mistaken inputs and incorporate a user-customized interface [Kim; [0029]-[0030]; According to the present disclosure, since the gesture including the predetermined intensity and the predetermined time of the touch sensor is used, it is possible to avoid a malfunction that a touch input is made by mistake. In addition, another effect of the present disclosure is that it is possible to separately select the preferable function of the vehicle control functions and to map the specific gesture to the corresponding function, thus configuring a user-customized interface].
Figure 2: Kim
Claim 27: The combination of Kalbus and Mittermeier teach the apparatus of claim 22, accordingly, the rejection of claim 22 above is incorporated. Kalbus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 27.
Kim teaches the user interface according to Claim 22, wherein the touch-sensitive surface: has a substantially planar structure, and/or is arranged in a region of the steering wheel between an impact absorber and a steering wheel rim [Fig. 2, [0019]; In addition, the touch sensor can be composed of a left touch sensor located on a left-side surface of the steering wheel, a central touch sensor located on the center thereof, and a right touch sensor located on a right-side surface thereof, and a haptic icon printed on the surface can be located thereon].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalbus and Mittermeier in view of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle controls. The combination would avoid mistaken inputs and incorporate a user-customized interface [Kim; [0029]-[0030]; According to the present disclosure, since the gesture including the predetermined intensity and the predetermined time of the touch sensor is used, it is possible to avoid a malfunction that a touch input is made by mistake. In addition, another effect of the present disclosure is that it is possible to separately select the preferable function of the vehicle control functions and to map the specific gesture to the corresponding function, thus configuring a user-customized interface].
Claim(s) 15 & 18: The claim(s) are directed towards a method of the recited limitations performed by the apparatus of claim(s) 24 & 27, respectively. The cited portions of Kalbus, Mittermeier, and Kim used in the rejection of claim(s) 24 & 27 teach the same steps to perform the method of claim(s) 15 & 18, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 15 & 18 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 24 & 27 as outlined above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19, 26, & 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Ochiai et al. (US 20170315824 A1) discloses systems and methods are provided for training a plurality of users of a vehicle to use gestures as a short-cut for controlling vehicle functions. The methods monitor a plurality of tasks related to controlling vehicle functions completed by a unique user. For each task, the method may determine whether the task has been completed by the unique user either using a predefined gesture associated with the task, or manually, without using the predefined gesture associated with the task. For each task, the method designates the predefined gesture as being either a learned gesture or an un-learned gesture. After a predetermined time period, the method may include determining that a gesture usage history associated with the unique user includes at least one un-learned gesture. User-customized instructions that at least one un-learned gesture is available for use as a short-cut for controlling a vehicle function may be presented to the unique user.
Bennett et al. (US 20120326735 A1) discloses a sensor system for a steering wheel of a vehicle includes a first sensor disposed within a first portion of the steering wheel to detect contact with a front left surface of the steering wheel. The sensor system includes a second sensor disposed within a second portion of the steering wheel separate from the first portion to detect contact with a front right surface of the steering wheel. The sensor system also includes a third sensor disposed within the steering wheel to detect contact with a rear surface of the steering wheel. The first, second and third sensors are configured to respectively detect touching of the front left surface, the front right, and the rear surface of the steering wheel by a hand or a non-hand part of an operator of the vehicle. The first, second and third sensors can be complex impedance sensors.
Jubner et al. (US 20200348831 A1) discloses a vehicle gesture control system to improve safety and comfort during driving of a vehicle, the vehicle including an adaptive cruise control or autonomous drive arrangement configured to control velocity of the vehicle and distance between the vehicle and another vehicle, the system including a plurality of sensors configured to detect gestures performed by a driver on the surface of a steering wheel grip in the vehicle, the steering wheel grip including a circular tube surrounding a steering wheel, and a processor receiving outputs from the sensors and connected to a memory unit storing instructions for the processor to activate a plurality of features of the adaptive cruise control or autonomous drive arrangement, in response to a respective plurality of different gestures detected by the sensors, one of the gestures including movement of the driver's thumb around a lateral section of the steering wheel grip that faces the driver.
Murillo et al. (US 20110173204 A1) discloses techniques for assigning a gesture dictionary in a gesture-based system to a user comprise capturing data representative of a user in a physical space. In a gesture-based system, gestures may control aspects of a computing environment or application, where the gestures may be derived from a user's position or movement in a physical space. In an example embodiment, the system may monitor a user's gestures and select a particular gesture dictionary in response to the manner in which the user performs the gestures. The gesture dictionary may be assigned in real time with respect to the capture of the data representative of a user's gesture. The system may generate calibration tests for assigning a gesture dictionary. The system may track the user during a set of short gesture calibration tests and assign the gesture dictionary based on a compilation of the data captured that represents the user's gestures.
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664