DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19/132911 filed 5/27/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/27/25 and 2/25/26 has been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-It is unclear as to what the title “Disclosure” at end of page 1 is covering or referring to. Also, are the titles “Technical Problem”, “Technical Solution” and “Advantageous Effect” representing “Summary of Invention” as required per MPEP 608.01(d), please clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-“[Claim 3]” should be moved to page 2 to indicate that the limitations starting on that page actually belongs in claim 3. Further the term “depression” in last line of claim should be changed to “depressions” as recited in prior line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a power supply unit (generic placeholder) ………and supplying current to the electromagnet (function)” in claim 1.
-“an operation module (generic placeholder)……..and configured to selectively turn the power supply unit on or off (function)” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020200061096 (with machine translation and IDS cited art) in view of KR 1020140120694 (with machine translation and IDS cited art) and KR 101348168 (with machine translation). As to claim 1, KR’096 discloses a bicycle crank shifting device comprising: a ring gear unit (300) having direct engagement ratchets (330) arranged on an outer side thereof and gear teeth (310) formed on an inner circumferential surface thereof; a crank cover (100) having direct engagement ratchet teeth (130) formed on an inner circumferential surface thereof and a coupling shaft (110) formed thereon, the direct engagement ratchet teeth being configured to selectively engage with the direct engagement ratchets; a sun gear unit (200) mounted on the coupling shaft; a reduction gear unit (500) including an eccentric guide (510) having an eccentric hole (511) formed therein, and an eccentric gear (520) coupled to the eccentric guide, a portion of the eccentric gear being engaged with the ring gear unit and another portion being engaged with the sun gear unit (as shown in Figure 10); a chainring housing (600) rotating together with the ring gear unit, the chainring housing having one surface on which the direct engagement ratchets are arranged and an outer circumferential surface on which chainring coupling parts are formed (as shown in Figure 11) and an electromagnet (420; [0051]-[0052]) configured to selectively engage the direct engagement ratchets with the direct engagement ratchet teeth. However, KR’096 doesn’t disclose a power supply unit controlled by a control module and supplying current to the electromagnet; and an operation module connected to the control module via wireless communication and configured to selectively turn the power supply unit on or off.
KR’694 discloses a bicycle shifting device comprising a chainring housing (30) coupled with an electromagnet (250, 251) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a power supply unit (253) controlled by a control module (255) and supplying current to the electromagnet; and an operation module (via 255) connected to the control module via wireless communication and configured to selectively turn the power supply unit on or off.
KR’168 discloses a bicycle shifting device comprising a chainring housing (120) coupled with an electromagnet (5111) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a power supply unit (200) controlled by a control module (400) and supplying current to the electromagnet; and an operation module (420) connected to the control module via wireless communication and configured to selectively turn the power supply unit on or off.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electromagnet in KR’096 with a power supply unit controlled by a control module connected to an operation module in view of KR’694 and KR’168 to increase versatility of electromagnetic for various torque and speed applications which increases operating efficiency of bicycle.
As to claim 2, KR’096 discloses wherein the direct engagement ratchets are elastically supported outward in a radial direction of the ring gear unit to engage with the direct engagement ratchet teeth, and is moved in the reverse direction when power is supplied to the electromagnet, thereby releasing the engagement with the direct engagement ratchet teeth (as shown in Figure 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 3 in combination with claims 1 and 2 exactly as written)…….. wherein the chainring housing includes a base plate on which the ring gear unit is arranged, the chainring coupling parts being formed spaced apart on an outer circumferential surface of the base plate in a circumferential direction and coupled with a chainring, wherein the direct engagement ratchets are arranged on one surface of the base plate, wherein depressions are respectively formed in the chainring coupling parts, and wherein the power supply unit and the control module are arranged in the depression.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-FR 3046985 (Figure 1) discloses a bicycle crank shifting device and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a power supply unit (114) within a crank cover coupled to a chainring (5).
-The PCT written opinion as filed has been reviewed and the examiner agrees that the prior art of record meets the limitations of at least claim 1.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 29, 2026