DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the restriction to election/restriction filed on June 9, 2026. Group I (claims 65-78) has been elected without traverse. Group II (claims 79-84) have been withdrawn and cancelled. Claims 65-78 have been examined and are currently pending.
Inventorship
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 05/27/2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Response to Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on June 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 65-67, 72-75, and 77 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the term “if” which implies the claim step is optional. Replace the term “if” with “when”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 65-70 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bingesser et al. US Publication 20240129886 A1 in view of Tertinek US Publication 20230013034 A1.
Claim 65:
As per claim 65, Bingesser teaches a device comprising:
an ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0031 and 0042 “The UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises an UWB transceiver.”);
and a controller in communication with the ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0031 and 0042 “The UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises an UWB transceiver. Further, the UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises a processor connected to the UWB transceiver, such as a system on a chip (SoC), a central processing unit (CPU), or other microprocessor. Additionally, the UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises memory, such as flash memory.”),
wherein, if the controller is unable to determine the first distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and the patient support apparatus, or if the first distance is greater than a first threshold, the controller is further adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to attempt to determine a second distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and a fixed locator mounted at a fixed location within a healthcare facility (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075 “In an embodiment, the ultra-wideband transceiver is fixedly installed in a wall or ceiling of a room inside or adjacent to an access controlled area.”, “FIG. 1 shows a schematic top view of an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver 1 with multiple UWB mobile communication devices 2 located around the UWB transceiver 1. The UWB transceiver 1 is arranged in or adjacent to a physical space, for example on a wall or ceiling of a room of a building. Additionally, the UWB transceiver 1 is situated in, or next to, a defined zone Z which has a boundary B. Some of the UWB mobile communication devices 2 are in the defined zone Z, while other UWB mobile communication devices 2* are outside the defined zone Z. The defined zone Z is, depending on the embodiment, defined using a two-dimensional or three-dimensional boundary B. In an embodiment, the boundary B is defined using a threshold distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 from the UWB transceiver 1. UWB mobile communication devices 2 closer to the UWB transceiver 1 than the threshold distance are in the defined zone Z, and UWB mobile communication devices 2* further than the threshold distance are outside the defined zone Z.”, and “In FIG. 4, the UWB transceiver checks in a step S20, after determining the distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 in step S2, whether the UWB mobile communication device 2 is located within the defined zone boundary B of the ultra-wideband transceiver 1. If the UWB mobile communication device 2* is not within the zone boundary B, for example if the distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 is greater than a pre-determined threshold distance which defines the zone boundary B, then the UWB mobile communication device 2* is ignored in a step S50.”).
Bingesser does not explicitly teach the controller adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to attempt to determine a first distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and a patient support apparatus. However, Tertinek teaches a Localization with Reduced Power Consumption and further teaches, “In particular, UWB technology may be used for so-called ranging operations, i.e. for determining the distance between communicating devices.” (paragraph 0002), “a controller operatively coupled to said UWB communication node, wherein the controller is configured to switch the UWB communication node between a ranging mode of operation and a radar mode of operation in dependence on an estimated distance between the UWB communication node and the external device.” (paragraph 0003). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bingesser to include the controller adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to attempt to determine a first distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and a patient support apparatus as taught by Tertinek in order to determine how close or how far the devices are to each other.
Claim 66:
As per claim 66, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 65 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is further adapted to determine if the second distance is less than a second threshold, and if the second distance is less than the second threshold, to associate the device with the fixed locator (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 67:
As per claim 67, Bingesser and Tertinek the device of claim 66 as described above and Bingesser further teaches further comprising a network transceiver adapted to communicate with a network of the healthcare facility, wherein the controller is further adapted to send a fixed locator ID to the network if the second distance is less than the second threshold, and to not send the fixed locator ID to the network if the second distance is greater than the second threshold (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 68:
As per claim 68, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 65 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller and the ultra-wideband transceiver are adapted to act as a UWB tag when the controller is unable to determine the first distance or when the first distance is greater than the first threshold, and wherein the controller and the ultra-wideband transceiver are further adapted to act as a UWB anchor when the first distance is less than the first threshold (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 69:
As per claim 69, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 68 as described above and Bingesser further teaches when the controller and the ultra- wideband transceiver are acting as the UWB tag, the ultra-wideband transceiver is adapted to periodically transmit a discovery packet to any other ultra-wideband transceivers within range and to wait for a response from the any other ultra-wideband transceivers (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075);
and when the controller and the ultra-wideband transceiver are acting as the UWB anchor, the controller and the ultra-wideband transceiver are adapted to respond to a discovery packet transmitted by another ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 70:
As per claim 70, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 69 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein, when the controller and the ultra- wideband transceiver are acting as the UWB tag, the ultra-wideband transceiver and controller are adapted to ignore a discovery packet transmitted by another ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075);
and when the controller and the ultra-wideband transceiver are acting as the UWB anchor, the ultra- wideband transceiver is adapted to not transmit any discovery packets to another ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 72:
As per claim 72, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 65 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is further adapted to receive a fixed locator ID from the fixed locator if the second distance is less than a second threshold, and wherein the controller is further adapted to transmit the fixed locator ID using the ultra-wideband transceiver to another device if the another device is within a third threshold (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim(s) 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bingesser and Tertinek as applied to claim 65 above, and further in view of Wright et al. US Publication 20210267791 A1.
Claim 71:
As per claim 71, Bingesser and Tertinek teach the device of claim 65 as described above but do not teach wherein the device is a thermal control unit adapted to control a patient's temperature during a thermal therapy session. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “Therapy Control Unit 103 may include a physical control module 104 that provides control via electrical current to one or more heating and/or cooling devices in thermal communication via fluid lines 107, 106 with therapy pad 101. For example, Therapy Control Unit 103 may include heaters and/or coolers to deliver a temperature-controlled fluid to therapy pad 101 (e.g., fluid line 106) and receive fluid returned from therapy pad 101 (e.g., via line 107). Therapy pad 101 may include an internal fluidic channels and connectors coupling fluid line 106 to line 107, such that a closed loop may be formed from fluid line 106, through therapy pad 101 and back to Therapy Control Unit 103 via fluid line 107.” (paragraph 0073). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bingesser and Tertinek to include wherein the device is a thermal control unit adapted to control a patient's temperature during a thermal therapy session as taught by Wright in order to provide a temperature for the patient that produces results or comforts the patient.
and the thermal control unit includes:
a first fluid port adapted to fluidly couple to a first hose. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “One general aspect of the present invention includes a contrast therapy apparatus to provide controlled therapeutic treatments via a thermal pad delivering one or more cycles of thermal conditions to a body part. The apparatus may include a thermal pad or other fluid delivery mechanism with a fluidic channel having an input port and an output port; and a thermally-transmissive outer covering. The contrast therapy apparatus may also include a control unit, including: a fluid channel output port coupled to the input port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a fluid channel input port coupled to the output port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a hot-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a cold-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a hot-fluid reservoir coupled to the hot-fluid circulation loop, to hold hot fluid to be circulated in the hot-fluid circulation loop; a cold-fluid reservoir coupled to the cold-fluid circulation loop, to hold cold fluid to be circulated in the cold-fluid circulation loop; a pump to provide fluid flow in at least one of the hot-fluid circulation loop and the cold-fluid circulation loop; a temperature sensor; a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, to provide to the thermal pad a fluid flow having a predetermined temperature profile; and one or more diverting valves operative to cause the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into a cold fluid reservoir during a cold to hot transition delay period, and the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into the hot fluid reservoir during a hot cycle that follows the cold to hot transition delay period.” (paragraph 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a first fluid port adapted to fluidly couple to a first hose as taught by Wright in order to transmit fluids through different connections or ports.
a second fluid port adapted to fluidly couple to a second hose. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “One general aspect of the present invention includes a contrast therapy apparatus to provide controlled therapeutic treatments via a thermal pad delivering one or more cycles of thermal conditions to a body part. The apparatus may include a thermal pad or other fluid delivery mechanism with a fluidic channel having an input port and an output port; and a thermally-transmissive outer covering. The contrast therapy apparatus may also include a control unit, including: a fluid channel output port coupled to the input port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a fluid channel input port coupled to the output port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a hot-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a cold-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a hot-fluid reservoir coupled to the hot-fluid circulation loop, to hold hot fluid to be circulated in the hot-fluid circulation loop; a cold-fluid reservoir coupled to the cold-fluid circulation loop, to hold cold fluid to be circulated in the cold-fluid circulation loop; a pump to provide fluid flow in at least one of the hot-fluid circulation loop and the cold-fluid circulation loop; a temperature sensor; a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, to provide to the thermal pad a fluid flow having a predetermined temperature profile; and one or more diverting valves operative to cause the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into a cold fluid reservoir during a cold to hot transition delay period, and the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into the hot fluid reservoir during a hot cycle that follows the cold to hot transition delay period.” (paragraph 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a second fluid port adapted to fluidly couple to a second hose as taught by Wright in order to transmit fluids through different connections or ports.
a fluid channel fluidly coupling the first fluid port to the second fluid port. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “One general aspect of the present invention includes a contrast therapy apparatus to provide controlled therapeutic treatments via a thermal pad delivering one or more cycles of thermal conditions to a body part. The apparatus may include a thermal pad or other fluid delivery mechanism with a fluidic channel having an input port and an output port; and a thermally-transmissive outer covering. The contrast therapy apparatus may also include a control unit, including: a fluid channel output port coupled to the input port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a fluid channel input port coupled to the output port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a hot-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a cold-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a hot-fluid reservoir coupled to the hot-fluid circulation loop, to hold hot fluid to be circulated in the hot-fluid circulation loop; a cold-fluid reservoir coupled to the cold-fluid circulation loop, to hold cold fluid to be circulated in the cold-fluid circulation loop; a pump to provide fluid flow in at least one of the hot-fluid circulation loop and the cold-fluid circulation loop; a temperature sensor; a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, to provide to the thermal pad a fluid flow having a predetermined temperature profile; and one or more diverting valves operative to cause the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into a cold fluid reservoir during a cold to hot transition delay period, and the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into the hot fluid reservoir during a hot cycle that follows the cold to hot transition delay period.” (paragraph 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a fluid channel fluidly coupling the first fluid port to the second fluid port as taught by Wright in order to transmit fluids through different connections or ports.
a pump for pumping fluid through the thermal control unit. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “One general aspect of the present invention includes a contrast therapy apparatus to provide controlled therapeutic treatments via a thermal pad delivering one or more cycles of thermal conditions to a body part. The apparatus may include a thermal pad or other fluid delivery mechanism with a fluidic channel having an input port and an output port; and a thermally-transmissive outer covering. The contrast therapy apparatus may also include a control unit, including: a fluid channel output port coupled to the input port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a fluid channel input port coupled to the output port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a hot-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a cold-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a hot-fluid reservoir coupled to the hot-fluid circulation loop, to hold hot fluid to be circulated in the hot-fluid circulation loop; a cold-fluid reservoir coupled to the cold-fluid circulation loop, to hold cold fluid to be circulated in the cold-fluid circulation loop; a pump to provide fluid flow in at least one of the hot-fluid circulation loop and the cold-fluid circulation loop; a temperature sensor; a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, to provide to the thermal pad a fluid flow having a predetermined temperature profile; and one or more diverting valves operative to cause the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into a cold fluid reservoir during a cold to hot transition delay period, and the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into the hot fluid reservoir during a hot cycle that follows the cold to hot transition delay period.” (paragraph 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a pump for pumping fluid through the thermal control unit as taught by Wright in order to move fluid through the device.
a heat exchanger adapted to add or remove heat from the fluid. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “The heat transfer mechanism for wraps/pads to skin is primarily through thermal conduction.” (paragraph 0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a heat exchanger adapted to add or remove heat from the fluid as taught by Wright in order to control the temperature of the fluid.
a fluid temperature sensor adapted to sense a temperature of the fluid. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “One general aspect of the present invention includes a contrast therapy apparatus to provide controlled therapeutic treatments via a thermal pad delivering one or more cycles of thermal conditions to a body part. The apparatus may include a thermal pad or other fluid delivery mechanism with a fluidic channel having an input port and an output port; and a thermally-transmissive outer covering. The contrast therapy apparatus may also include a control unit, including: a fluid channel output port coupled to the input port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a fluid channel input port coupled to the output port of the thermal pad fluidic channel; a hot-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a cold-fluid circulation loop coupled to the output port and the input port; a hot-fluid reservoir coupled to the hot-fluid circulation loop, to hold hot fluid to be circulated in the hot-fluid circulation loop; a cold-fluid reservoir coupled to the cold-fluid circulation loop, to hold cold fluid to be circulated in the cold-fluid circulation loop; a pump to provide fluid flow in at least one of the hot-fluid circulation loop and the cold-fluid circulation loop; a temperature sensor; a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, to provide to the thermal pad a fluid flow having a predetermined temperature profile; and one or more diverting valves operative to cause the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into a cold fluid reservoir during a cold to hot transition delay period, and the hot fluid to flow out of the hot reservoir and into the thermal pad, and flow out of the thermal pad into the hot fluid reservoir during a hot cycle that follows the cold to hot transition delay period.” (paragraph 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a fluid temperature sensor adapted to sense a temperature of the fluid as taught by Wright in order to measure the temperature of the fluid.
a patient temperature sensor port adapted to receive patient temperature readings from a patient temperature sensor. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “Therapy Control Unit 103 further may include a sensor interface module 113, which may be used to monitor the application of stimulus to therapy pad 101. For example, if temperature-controlled stimulus is being provided to therapy pad 101, then sensor interface module 113 may measure one or both of: a temperature of therapy pad 101 and a temperature of a patient's body portion 102.” (paragraph 0076). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include a patient temperature sensor port adapted to receive patient temperature readings from a patient temperature sensor as taught by Wright in order to capture the patient’s temperature.
and a temperature controller adapted to control the heat exchanger in order to control the patient's temperature. However, Wright teaches a Thermal Contrast Therapy Device and further teaches, “Thermal Contrast Therapy System 200 further may include electronic controller 202. Electronic controller 202 may include several telemetric monitoring devices 204a . . . 204f (collectively, monitoring devices 204). Examples of monitoring devices 204 include temperature measurements of temperature sensitive or controlled elements such as fluidic lines 209, 210, thermoelectric (“TEC”) heat exchangers 209a, 209b, and levels of reservoirs 205, 207.” (paragraph 0092) and “In some embodiments, a heat exchanger 818 may be used to change a temperature of thermal fluid 826-827. The heat exchanger may include one or more thermoelectric modules placed in thermal communication with the thermal fluid. The functioning of a thermoelectric heat exchanger allows it to be operative to change a temperature of the thermal fluid 826-27 to a hotter or cooler temperature within a very accurate tolerance.” (paragraph 0162). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bissegeser and Race to include and a temperature controller adapted to control the heat exchanger in order to control the patient's temperature as taught by Wright in order to provide the right temperature to the patient.
Claim(s) 73-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bingesser et al. US Publication 20240129886 A1 in view of Race et al. US Publication 20230005613 A1.
Claim 73:
As per claim 73, Bingesser teaches a device comprising:
an ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0031 and 0042 “The UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises an UWB transceiver.”);
and a controller in communication with the ultra-wideband transceiver (paragraphs 0031 and 0042 “The UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises an UWB transceiver. Further, the UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises a processor connected to the UWB transceiver, such as a system on a chip (SoC), a central processing unit (CPU), or other microprocessor. Additionally, the UWB mobile communication device 2 comprises memory, such as flash memory.”),
wherein, if the controller is unable to pair with the patient support apparatus, the controller is further adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to automatically attempt to pair with a fixed locator mounted at a fixed location within a healthcare facility (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075 “In an embodiment, the ultra-wideband transceiver is fixedly installed in a wall or ceiling of a room inside or adjacent to an access controlled area.”, “FIG. 1 shows a schematic top view of an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver 1 with multiple UWB mobile communication devices 2 located around the UWB transceiver 1. The UWB transceiver 1 is arranged in or adjacent to a physical space, for example on a wall or ceiling of a room of a building. Additionally, the UWB transceiver 1 is situated in, or next to, a defined zone Z which has a boundary B. Some of the UWB mobile communication devices 2 are in the defined zone Z, while other UWB mobile communication devices 2* are outside the defined zone Z. The defined zone Z is, depending on the embodiment, defined using a two-dimensional or three-dimensional boundary B. In an embodiment, the boundary B is defined using a threshold distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 from the UWB transceiver 1. UWB mobile communication devices 2 closer to the UWB transceiver 1 than the threshold distance are in the defined zone Z, and UWB mobile communication devices 2* further than the threshold distance are outside the defined zone Z.”, and “In FIG. 4, the UWB transceiver checks in a step S20, after determining the distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 in step S2, whether the UWB mobile communication device 2 is located within the defined zone boundary B of the ultra-wideband transceiver 1. If the UWB mobile communication device 2* is not within the zone boundary B, for example if the distance d1, d2, d3, d4, d5 is greater than a pre-determined threshold distance which defines the zone boundary B, then the UWB mobile communication device 2* is ignored in a step S50.”).
Bingesser does not teach the controller adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to automatically attempt to pair with a patient support apparatus. However, Race teaches Patient Monitoring and Care and further teaches, “In an example of operation, a first patient wearable device of the patient wearable devices 104 is paired with a first paired patient device of the paired patient devices 106 using configurable pairing technology. The first patient wearable device is then affixed to a patient in a location suitable for providing accurate estimates of patient position, such as on the upper chest (or the back for uncooperative patients). In an alternative, multiple patient wearable devices of the patient wearable devices 104, including the first patient wearable device, are affixed to a patient in different locations. The technology for affixing these devices to a patient is described in more detail below.” (paragraph 0041) and “In this example of operation, the first patient wearable device wirelessly transmits patient position data (which may include all or a subset of the raw patient position data) to the first paired patient device using an RF transceiver and secure communications to the first paired patient device. In a typical implementation, the first paired patient device would be located at a bedside table of the patient, on an IV pole, within the same room, at the entrance to the room, or at some other location that enables the use of low-power transmission. As such, the first patient wearable device can be characterized as a short-range device (SRD). An SRD, described by ECC Recommendation 70-03, which is incorporated by reference, is a radio-frequency transmitter device used in telecommunication for the transmission of information, which has low capability of causing harmful interference to other radio equipment. Short-range devices are low-power transmitters typically limited to 25-100 mW effective radiated power (ERP) or less, depending on the frequency band, which limits their useful range to few hundred meters, and do not require a license from their users. Short-range wireless technologies include Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, near-field communication (NFC), ultra-wideband (UWB) and IEEE 802.15.4, which is incorporated by reference. Because the first paired patient device is located near the first patient wearable device in this example, the transmission can be via a low-power transmission protocol, which increases battery life of and decreases the heat generated by the first patient wearable device.” (paragraph 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bingesser to include the controller adapted to use the ultra-wideband transceiver to automatically attempt to pair with a patient support apparatus as taught by Race in order to facilitate communication or exchange of data between devices.
Claim 74:
As per claim 74, Bingesser and Race teach the device of claim 73 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is further adapted to not attempt to pair with the fixed locator if the controller is able to pair with the patient support apparatus (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 75:
As per claim 75, Bingesser and Race teach the device of claim 73 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is further adapted, after pairing with the fixed locator, to automatically re-attempt to pair with the patient support apparatus and to automatically unpair the device from the fixed locator if the controller is able to pair with the patient support apparatus (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 76:
As per claim 76, Bingesser and Race teach the device of claim 73 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is adapted to receive a fixed locator ID from the fixed locator when the device is paired with the fixed locator, and the controller is further adapted to send the fixed locator ID to a network using a network transceiver adapted to communicate with the network (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 77:
As per claim 77, Bingesser and Race teach the device of claim 76 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is further adapted to send the fixed locator ID to another device if the another device is within a threshold distance of the device (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Claim 78:
As per claim 78, Bingesser and Race teach the device of claim 73 as described above and Bingesser further teaches wherein the controller is configured to attempt to pair with the patient support apparatus by determining a first distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and a second ultra-wideband transceiver on the patient support apparatus (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
and the controller is configured to attempt to pair with the fixed locator by determining a second distance between the ultra-wideband transceiver and a third ultra-wideband transceiver on the fixed locator (paragraphs 0010, 0031, and 0075).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW L HAMILTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682