Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McFarland et al. (US Pat. 4,724,114).
Regarding claim 1, McFarland et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a nonwoven web having substantially uniform structure with the method comprising providing at least one stream of secondary fibrous material (could be construed as 44 and/or 92 and/or 82 from Fig. 1 for example; it is noted that it is not limited to Figure 1 and could be construed form Fig. 2 as well), at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material (32 and/or 82 from Fig. 1 for example; it is noted that it is not limited to Figure 1 and could be construed form Fig. 2 as well) and at least one stream of a softening agent (can be construed as 44 or 92 for example from Fig. 1; it is noted that it is not limited to Figure 1 and could be construed form Fig. 2 as well) and merging the at least one secondary stream of fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form a composite stream comprising secondary fibrous material, meltblown fibrous material and softening agent and depositing the composite stream onto a forming surface to form a nonwoven web [3:58-4:65].
Regarding claim 19, McFarland et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a nonwoven web having a substantially uniform structure, the method comprising providing a mat of secondary fibrous material 44 treated with a softening agent [Examples]; picking (picker roll) the mat of secondary fibrous material to form at least one combined stream comprising the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent; providing at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material; merging the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material with the at least one combined stream to form a composite stream comprising the secondary fibrous material, the meltblown fibrous material, and the softening agent; and depositing the composite stream onto a forming surface to form a nonwoven web [Fig. 1] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-18 and 20-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland et al. (US Pat. 4,724,114) in view of Nickel et al. (CA 2634040).
Regarding claims 1-3, 10 and 14-15, McFarland et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a nonwoven web having substantially uniform structure with the method comprising providing at least one stream of secondary fibrous material (could be construed as 44 and/or 92 and/or 82 from Fig. 1 for example; it is noted that it is not limited to Figure 1 and could be construed form Fig. 2 as well), at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material (32 and/or 82 from Fig. 1 for example; it is noted that it is not limited to Figure 1 and could be construed form Fig. 2 as well) and merging the at least one secondary stream of fibrous material and meltblown fibrous material and depositing the composite stream onto a forming surface to form a nonwoven web [3:58-4:65].
McFarland et al. teach using silicone for softening, but are silent regarding the claimed stream of silicone softening agent. However, Nickel et al. teach providing at least one stream of a silicone softening agent to be sprayed on the individual fibers prior to incorporation into a web (Nickel teaches application to both synthetic and natural fibers so thus applied to both the secondary and meltblown fibers) and therefore used in McFarland yields merging the at least one secondary stream of fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent (and/or to the meltblown fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent) to form a composite stream comprising secondary fibrous material, meltblown fibrous material and softening agent (the merging of the at least one secondary fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form a combined stream comprised of secondary fibrous material and softening agent and subsequently merging the combined stream with the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material to form the composite stream and/or the merging of the at least one meltblown fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form a combined stream comprised of meltblown fibrous material and softening agent and subsequently merging the combined stream with the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material to form the composite stream) in order to provide a softening agent to the fibers (to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material) in a consolidated efficient process to provide softening to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material and individually coat the fibers for better coverage. Nickel et al. teach a weight ratio of the softening agent to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [0105, 0139 and US 6,949,167 which is incorporated in Nickel et al.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silicone softening agent and process of application as taught by Nickel et al. in McFarland et al. in order to provide a silicone softening agent to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material fibers in a consolidated efficient process and individually coat the fibers for better coverage and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7-8, McFarland et al. teaches the meltblown fibrous material comprises polyolefin polymer including polypropylene or polyethylene [Examples].
Regarding claim 9, The secondary fibrous material comprise wood pulp [Abstract].
Regarding claim 11-13, McFarland et al. teach a weight ratio of the meltblown fibrous material to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [Examples].
Regarding claims 16-18, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed TS7 value. However, given the silicone softening agent is taught to provide softening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed TS7 value in order to affect the amount of softness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 20, 27 and 30-32, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. McFarland et al. teach the softening agent with the mat but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a silicone softening agent comprises providing the mat of secondary fibrous material; and merging a stream of softening agent with the mat of secondary fibrous material in order to provide a softer web with additives [0109-0110]. Nickel et al. teach a weight ratio of the softening agent to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [0105, 0139 and US 6,949,167 which is incorporated in Nickel et al.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process and silicone softening agent of Nickel et al. in MacFarland et al. in order to provide a softer web with additives and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. McFarland et al. teach the softening agent with the mat but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a softening agent comprises providing the secondary fibrous material; merging a stream of softening agent with the secondary fibrous material; and forming the merged secondary fibrous material and softening agent into the mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a softening agent order to provide a softer web with additives [0109-0110]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in MacFarland et al. in order to provide a softer web with additives and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. McFarland et al. teach the softening agent with the mat and picking the mat, but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach the mat of secondary fibrous material comprises a first mat of second fibrous material, and further comprising providing a second mat of secondary fibrous material (Nickel et al. teach using multilayer web which includes two layers) in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and therefore combined with McFarland in picking this mat yields picking the second mat of secondary fibrous material with the first mat of secondary fibrous material (as a combined mat of Nickels et al. ) to form a combined stream of the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in MacFarland et al. in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 23, McFarland et al. teach the softening agent with the mat and picking the mat, but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a third mat of secondary fibrous material, wherein the first mat of secondary fibrous material is disposed between the second mat of secondary fibrous material and the third mat of secondary fibrous material (Nickel et al. teach using a multilayer web which includes first, second and third layers and in the alternative, it would have been obvious to use three layers to improve softness, strength and achieve the desired thickness) and therefore in combined with McFarland et al. in picking yields where picking the first mat of secondary fibrous material, the second mat of secondary fibrous material, and the third mat of secondary fibrous material to form a combined stream of the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent is taught. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 24-25, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. McFarland et al. teaches the meltblown fibrous material comprises polyolefin polymer including polypropylene or polyethylene [Examples].
Regarding claim 26, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. The secondary fibrous material comprise wood pulp [Abstract].
Regarding claim 28-30, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. McFarland et al. teach a weight ratio of the meltblown fibrous material to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [Examples].
Regarding claims 33-35, McFarland is relied upon as set forth in the rejection above of claim 19 and fully incorporated herein by reference. The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed TS7 value. However, given the silicone softening agent is taught to provide softening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed TS7 value in order to affect the amount of softness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US Pat. 5,952,251) in view of Nickel et al. (CA 2634040).
Regarding claims 1-3, 10 and 14-15, Jackson et al. teach a method of manufacturing a nonwoven web having substantially uniform structure with the method comprising providing at least one stream of secondary fibrous material 134, at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material 120 and merging the at least one secondary stream of fibrous material and meltblown fibrous material and depositing the composite stream onto a forming surface to form a nonwoven web [Fig. 3].
Jackson et al. teach using additional additives, but are silent regarding the claimed stream of silicone softening agent. However, Nickel et al. teach providing at least one stream of a silicone softening agent to be sprayed on the individual fibers prior to incorporation in to the web (Nickel teaches application to both synthetic and natural fibers so thus applied to both the secondary and meltblown fibers) and therefore used in Jackson et al. yields merging the at least one secondary stream of fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent (and/or to the meltblown fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent) to form a composite stream comprising secondary fibrous material, meltblown fibrous material and softening agent (the merging of the at least one secondary fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form a combined stream comprised of secondary fibrous material and softening agent and subsequently merging the combined stream with the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material to form the composite stream and/or the merging of the at least one meltblown fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form a combined stream comprised of meltblown fibrous material and softening agent and subsequently merging the combined stream with the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material to form the composite stream) in order to provide a softening agent to the fibers (to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material) in a consolidated efficient process to provide softening to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material and individually coat the fibers for better coverage. Nickel et al. teach a weight ratio of the softening agent to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [0105, 0139 and US 6,949,167 which is incorporated in Nickel et al.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silicone softening agent and process of application as taught by Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a silicone softening agent to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material fibers in a consolidated efficient process and individually coat the fibers for better coverage and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the at least one meltblown fibrous material stream comprises a first meltblown fibrous material stream and a second meltblown fibrous material stream (streams 120 on the left and right in Fig 3); wherein merging the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material and the at least one stream of softening agent to form the combined stream comprises merging the first meltblown fibrous material stream and the least one stream of softening agent to form the combined stream (as set forth above in claim 3 and fully incorporated herein); and further comprising merging the second meltblown fibrous material stream with the combined stream and the stream of secondary fibrous material to form the composite stream [Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 5, wherein merging the at least one stream of secondary fibrous
material, the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material, and the at least one stream of softening agent to form the composite stream comprises merging the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material, the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material, and the at least one stream of softening agent together in a formation zone to form the composite stream (as set forth in claim 1 above and fully incorporated herein by reference, Nickel et al. teach silicone softening agent to be sprayed on the individual fibers prior to incorporation in to the web and therefore entails merging the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material, the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material, and the at least one stream of softening agent together in a formation zone since the silicone softening agent would have to be applied above at the streams of the fibers and the formation zone is considered to be where all the material converge in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silicone softening agent and process of application as taught by Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a silicone softening agent to the secondary fibrous material and/or meltblown fibrous material fibers in a consolidated efficient process and individually coat the fibers for better coverage and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Jackson et al. teach merging the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material, the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material, and the at least one stream of softening agent to form the composite stream comprises merging the at least one stream of secondary fibrous material and the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material to form a combined stream comprised of secondary fibrous material and meltblown fibrous material. The previous combination is silent regarding subsequently merging the combined stream with the at least one stream of softening agent to form the composite stream. However, Nickel et al. teach providing at least one stream of a silicone softening agent to be sprayed on the individual fibers prior to incorporation in to the web. Given Nickel et al. teach the silicon softening agent sprayed prior to incorporation into the web, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the silicon softening agent at the area labelled 130 in Fig.3 to apply the softening agent to the combined assemblage of the fibers so all the fibers can receive the silicon softening agent at once prior to being incorporated into the web. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the silicon softening agent at the area labelled 130 in Fig.3 to apply the softening agent to the combined assemblage of the fibers so all the fibers can receive the silicon softening agent at once prior to being incorporated into the web and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7-8, Jackson et al. teaches the meltblown fibrous material comprises polyolefin polymer including polypropylene or polyethylene [claim 7, 6:2].
Regarding claim 9, The secondary fibrous material comprise wood pulp [13:1-41].
Regarding claims 11-13, Jackson et al. teach a weight ratio of the meltblown fibrous material to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [claim 18].
Regarding claims 16-18, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed TS7 value. However, given the silicone softening agent is taught to provide softening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed TS7 value in order to affect the amount of softness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Jackson et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a nonwoven web having a substantially uniform structure, the method comprising providing a mat of secondary fibrous material 134 [Fig. 3]; picking (picker roll)and providing at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material. Jackson et al. teach using additional additives, but are silent regarding the claimed stream of silicone softening agent. However, Nickel et al. teach providing at least one stream of a silicone softening agent to be sprayed on the individual fibers prior to incorporation in to the web (Nickel teaches application to both synthetic and natural fibers so thus applied to both the secondary and meltblown fibers) in order to provide a softening agent and strength and wettability to the fibers in a consolidated efficient process and therefore used in Jackson et al. yields the mat of secondary fibrous material to form at least one combined stream comprising the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent; merging the at least one stream of meltblown fibrous material with the at least one combined stream to form a composite stream comprising the secondary fibrous material, the meltblown fibrous material, and the softening agent; and depositing the composite stream onto a forming surface to form a nonwoven web [Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silicone softening agent and process of application as taught by Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softening agent and strength and wettability to the fibers in a consolidated efficient process and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 20, 27 and 30-32, Jackson et al. teach the mat but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a silicone softening agent comprises providing the mat of secondary fibrous material; and merging a stream of softening agent with the mat of secondary fibrous material in order to provide a softer web with additives [0109-0110]. Nickel et al. teach a weight ratio of the softening agent to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [0105, 0139 and US 6,949,167 which is incorporated in Nickel et al.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process and silicone softening agent of Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softer web with additives and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, Jackson et al. teach the mat but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a softening agent comprises providing the secondary fibrous material; merging a stream of softening agent with the secondary fibrous material; and forming the merged secondary fibrous material and softening agent into the mat of secondary fibrous material treated with a softening agent order to provide a softer web with additives [0109-0110]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softer web with additives and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, Jackson et al. teach the mat and picking the mat, but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach the mat of secondary fibrous material comprises a first mat of second fibrous material, and further comprising providing a second mat of secondary fibrous material (Nickel et al. teach using multilayer web which includes two layers) in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and therefore combined with Jackson et al. in picking this mat yields picking the second mat of secondary fibrous material with the first mat of secondary fibrous material (as a combined mat of Nickels et al. ) to form a combined stream of the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 23, Jackson et al. teach the mat and picking the mat, but are silent regarding the process. However, Nickel et al. teach providing a third mat of secondary fibrous material, wherein the first mat of secondary fibrous material is disposed between the second mat of secondary fibrous material and the third mat of secondary fibrous material (Nickel et al. teach using a multilayer web which includes first, second and third layers to improve softness, strength and achieve the desired thickness) and therefore in combined with Jackson et al. in picking yields where picking the first mat of secondary fibrous material, the second mat of secondary fibrous material, and the third mat of secondary fibrous material to form a combined stream of the secondary fibrous material and the softening agent is taught. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Nickel et al. in Jackson et al. in order to provide a softer mat with additives with the desired thickness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 24-25, Jackson et al. teaches the meltblown fibrous material comprises polyolefin polymer including polypropylene or polyethylene [claim 7, 6:2].
Regarding claim 26, The secondary fibrous material comprise wood pulp [13:1-41].
Regarding claims 28-30, Jackson et al. teach a weight ratio of the meltblown fibrous material to the secondary fibrous material in the nonwoven web is in the claimed range [claim 18].
Regarding claims 33-35, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed TS7 value. However, given the silicone softening agent is taught to provide softening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed TS7 value in order to affect the amount of softness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
US Pat. 5853635 teaches streams of fibers to make nonwoven.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789