DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 20080026480).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a seal ring 10 Fig. 1, comprising: a sliding surface 20 provided with a dynamic pressure generation groove 21 that is configured to rotate and slide relative to one of a shaft 60 and a housing 70, into which the shaft is inserted, to generate a dynamic pressure; and an installation surface 50 intersecting the sliding surface and installed on remaining one of the shaft and the housing, wherein a recess 51 that is open toward a surface which is formed in the remaining one of the shaft and the housing to face the installation surface of the seal ring is provided in the seal ring.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses wherein the recess 51 is provided around an entire circumference of the seal ring.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses wherein the sliding surface 20 is separated from an installed surface 50 on which is the seal ring 10 is installed and which is included in the surface formed in the remaining one of the shaft 60 and the housing 70.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses wherein the recess 51 extends to overlap with at least a counter-sliding surface 71 of the one of the shaft and the housing 70 in an axial view.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses wherein the dynamic pressure generation groove 21 is disposed on a side opposite to the remaining one of the shaft 60 and the housing 70 with respect to a bottom surface of the recess 51.
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses wherein the sliding surface 20 and a counter-sliding surface of the one of the shaft and the housing face each other in an axial direction, and the recess 51 is disposed on a sliding surface side with respect to an axial center of the seal ring 10.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe discloses wherein the sliding surface 20 and a counter-sliding surface of the one of the shaft 60 and the housing 70 face each other in a radial direction, and the recess 51 is disposed close to a sliding surface side.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe discloses wherein the recess 51 extends to overlap with at least a counter-sliding surface 71 of the one of the shaft 60 and the housing 70 in an axial view.
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses wherein the recess 51 extends to overlap with at least a counter-sliding surface 71 of the one of the shaft 60 and the housing 70 in an axial view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the configuration of the sealing ring wherein a cross-sectional shape of the seal ring is line-symmetrical with respect to a radial line. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675