DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Indo et al. (US 2014/0360257) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0348444).
In regard to claim 1, Indo et al. disclose a fluid sampling system, comprising: a fluid sampling tool (50) comprising: a probe (58/64) configured to draw a fluid from a formation within which the fluid sampling tool is disposed during an oil and gas well operation (paragraph 29); and a spectrometer (72) configured to detect raw data relating to optical properties of the fluid, wherein the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid comprises optical absorbance at a plurality of wavelengths (paragraphs 36-37); and a controller (90) comprising at least one processor (100) configured to execute coded instructions stored in memory of the controller, wherein the coded instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to: receive the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid from the spectrometer (paragraph 39). Indo et al. do not disclose that the processor is configured to preprocess the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid; and use a density model to predict a mass density of the fluid based on the preprocessed data relating to the optical properties of the fluid.
Chen et al. disclose a fluid sampling system wherein a processor is configured to preprocess raw data relating to optical properties of a fluid (paragraph 33, as “normalized”, also see paragraphs 34, 36, 41-42 etc.), and use a density model to predict a mass density of the fluid based on the preprocessed data relating to optical properties of the fluid (see abstract, paragraphs 46, 50 at least). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the system of Indo et al. with the configuration as taught by Chen et al. in order to determine contamination of the fluid sample (paragraph 44) since combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claim 2, Chen et al. disclose wherein preprocessing the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid comprises normalizing the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid to one or more hydrocarbon frequency channels (paragraphs 33-34, as normalized to its respective detector/channel).
In regard to claim 8, Chen et al. disclose wherein the density model is trained with training data including optical absorption data, pressure data, temperature data and density data (paragraph 26 as calibrated on optical-PVT database, where as best understood this includes optical, pressure, temperature and density data).
In regard to claim 9, Indo et al. disclose wherein the fluid sampling tool comprises the controller (paragraph 39).
In regard to claim 10 Indo et al. disclose a method comprising. disposing a fluid sampling tool (50) within a wellbore; drawing a fluid from a formation within the wellbore, within which the fluid sampling tool is disposed, using a probe (58/64); detecting raw data relating to optical properties of the fluid using a spectrometer (72), wherein the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid comprises optical absorbance at a plurality of wavelengths (paragraphs 36-37); receiving, by a controller, the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid from the spectrometer (paragraph 39); and wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (100) configured to execute coded instructions stored in a memory of the controller. Indo et al. do not disclose preprocessing, by the controller, the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid; and using a density model, by the controller, to predict a mass density of the fluid based on the preprocessed data relating to the optical properties of the fluid.
Chen et al. disclose a method including preprocessing raw data relating to optical properties of a fluid (paragraph 33, as “normalized”, also see paragraphs 34, 36, 41-42 etc.), and using a density model to predict a mass density of the fluid based on the preprocessed data relating to optical properties of the fluid (see abstract, paragraphs 46, 50 at least). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the method of Indo et al. with the configuration as taught by Chen et al. in order to determine contamination of the fluid sample (paragraph 44) since combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claim 11, Chen et al. disclose wherein preprocessing the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid comprises normalizing the raw data relating to the optical properties of the fluid to one or more hydrocarbon frequency channels (paragraphs 33-34, as normalized to its respective detector/channel).
In regard to claim 17, Chen et al. disclose wherein the density model is trained with training data including optical absorption data, pressure data, temperature data and density data (paragraph 26 as calibrated on optical-PVT database, where as best understood this includes optical, pressure, temperature and density data).
In regard to claim 18, Indo et al. disclose wherein the fluid sampling tool comprises the controller (paragraph 39).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Indo et al. in view of Chen et al. ‘444 as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0320527).
In regard to claim 3, Indo et al. and Chen et al. ‘444 disclose all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 1 above, except for wherein the coded instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to: use a composition model to predict compositions of one or more components of the fluid; and use the density model to predict the mass density of the fluid based at least in part on the predicted compositions of the one or more components of the fluid.
Chen et al. ‘527 disclose a fluid sampling system wherein a processor includes coded instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to: use a composition model to predict compositions of one or more components of the fluid (paragraph 24, “fluid characterization model”); and use the density model to predict the mass density of the fluid based at least in part on the predicted compositions of the one or more components of the fluid (paragraph 24, where the same model provides density, as being “based on”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide the system of Indo et al. as modified by Chen et al. ‘444 with the fluid model capabilities as taught by Chen et al. ‘527 in order to provide more accurate density predictions by incorporating compositional information.
In regard to claim 12, Indo et al. and Chen et al. ‘444 disclose all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 10 above, except for using a composition model to predict compositions of one or more components of the fluid; and using the density model to predict the mass density of the fluid based at least in part on the predicted compositions of the one or more components of the fluid.
Chen et al. ‘527 disclose a method including using a composition model to predict compositions of one or more components of the fluid (paragraph 24, “fluid characterization model”); and using the density model to predict the mass density of the fluid based at least in part on the predicted compositions of the one or more components of the fluid (paragraph 24, where the same model provides density, as being “based on”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide the method of Indo et al. as modified by Chen et al. ‘444 with the fluid model capabilities as taught by Chen et al. ‘527 in order to provide more accurate density predictions by incorporating compositional information.
Claim(s) 4-7 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Indo et al. in view of Chen et al. ‘444 and Chen et al. ‘527 as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2014/0249876).
In regard to claims 4-7, Indo et al., Chen et al. ‘444 and Chen et al. ‘527 disclose all the limitations of these claims, except for specifying a type of model (i.e. physics-based, statistical, machine learning, or artificial neural network). Wu et al. disclose a system wherein a model for predictions can be physics based, statistical, machine learning or artificial neural network based (paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide either of the models in the system as taught by Indo et al., as modified by Chen et al. ‘444 and ‘527, to comprise at least one of these types of models since choosing among known options (for a model) with a reasonable expectation of success is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claims 13-16, Indo et al., Chen et al. ‘444 and Chen et al. ‘527 disclose all the limitations of these claims, except for specifying a type of model (i.e. physics-based, statistical, machine learning, or artificial neural network). Wu et al. disclose a method wherein a model for predictions can be physics based, statistical, machine learning or artificial neural network based (paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide either of the models in the method as taught by Indo et al., as modified by Chen et al. ‘444 and ‘527, to comprise at least one of these types of models since choosing among known options (for a model) with a reasonable expectation of success is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,631,553. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because instant claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,631,553. In other words, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,631,553 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1. Since claim 1 is anticipated by claim 3 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 3. Thus the invention of claim 3 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 is anticipated (fully encompassed) by claim 3 of the patent, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 3, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claim 3. Claims 2-18 also appear similarly encompassed by the claims of ‘553.
Conclusion
/D. ANDREWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
9/28/2026