DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hansen (US 9,166,352).
In regard to claim 1, Hansen discloses a system comprising: a production tubing (2 as in fig 2) comprising a first inductive coupler component (18 as within 8, as in fig 5, col. 3, lines 54-56, also see claim 3 of ‘352); and a string (3/5/6/9 etc. as in fig 2) comprising an electric submersible pump (3) and a second inductive coupler component (9, col. 3, lines 54-56, also see claim 3 of ‘352); wherein when the string is deployed in the production tubing, the first inductive coupler component forms an electrical coupling with the second inductive coupler component (as in fig 2).
In regard to claim 2, Hansen discloses wherein the first inductive coupler component is a female inductive coupler (8 as in fig 2) and the second inductive coupler component is a male inductive coupler (9 as in fig 2).
In regard to claim 3, Hansen discloses wherein a power cable (7A) extends along the production tubing and is coupled to the first inductive coupler component (as in fig 2).
In regard to claim 4, Hansen discloses wherein the electrical coupling of the first and second inductive coupler components allows for transfer of power from the power cable to the electric submersible pump (col. 3, lines 3-15, col. 3, lines 64-65).
In regard to claim 6, Hansen discloses wherein the first inductive coupler component remains permanently installed in a wellbore (2 as in fig 2), and the string comprising the electric submersible pump and the second inductive coupler component is retrievable for service or replacement (col. 3, lines 3-23).
In regard to claim 7, Hansen discloses the second inductive coupler component comprising a central bore (9A as in fig 6).
In regard to claim 8, Hansen discloses the string comprising an outtake (as on top of 9 in fig 2 where fluids exiting), wherein in use, production fluid flows axially through the central bore, radially through the outtake into an annulus surrounding the string, and then into a pump intake (4) of the electric submersible pump (fluid movement shown with arrows in fig 2).
In regard to claim 9, Hansen discloses wherein a motor lead extension (shown in fig 2 extending between 6 and 9) extends between and couples the second inductive coupler component and a motor (6) of the electric submersible pump (as shown in fig 2 extending between 6 and 9).
In regard to claim 10, Hansen discloses a method comprising: installing a production tubing (2) in a wellbore, the production tubing comprising a first inductive coupler component (9); and lowering a string comprising an electric submersible pump (col. 1, lines 38-50, where system as disclosed provides such) and a second inductive coupler component (9) into the wellbore until the second inductive coupler component is coaxially aligned with the first inductive coupler component (as in fig 2), thereby forming an electrical coupling between the first and second inductive coupler components (col. 3, lines 52-64).
In regard to claim 11, Hansen discloses retrieving the string comprising the electric submersible pump and the second inductive coupler component for service (col. 3, lines 3-5) or replacement while the production tubing and first inductive coupler component remain permanently installed in the wellbore (col. 3, lines 20-23).
In regard to claim 12, Hansen discloses wherein a power cable (7A) is coupled to the first inductive coupler component, further comprising transferring power from the power cable to the first inductive coupler component (col. 3, lines 62-64), from the first inductive coupler component to the second inductive coupler component, and from the second inductive coupler component to the electric submersible pump (as providing power as disclosed).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pihl (US 2022/0200343).
In regard to claim 13, Pihl discloses a system comprising: a 3-phase female inductive coupler (120 as in paragraph 17, 3-phase as in paragraphs 27-34); and a 3-phase male inductive coupler (1103); wherein when the male inductive coupler is coaxially disposed within the female inductive coupler, an electrical coupling is formed (as in fig 1, paragraph 18 at least) .
In regard to claim 15, Pihl discloses the male inductive coupler comprising a central bore therethrough (as in fig 2 as within mandrel 218).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Pihl.
Hansen discloses all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 3 above, except for the power cable, the first inductive coupler component, and the second inductive coupler component comprise three phases. Pihl disclose a system comprising a power cable (paragraph 32), a first inductive coupler component (120) and a second inductive coupler component (110), wherein each comprise three phases (paragraph 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the components of Hansen as three phase, as taught by Pihl, in order to provide appropriate power to a three phase pump since combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 11,391,096) in view of Pihl.
In regard to claim 13, Beck et al. disclose a system comprising: a female inductive coupler (308, as in fig 3); and a male inductive coupler (304); wherein when the male inductive coupler is coaxially disposed within the female inductive coupler (as in fig 3), an electrical coupling is formed (as in fig 3, col. 4, lines 56+). Beck et al. do not disclose that the female and male couplers are 3-phase. Pihl discloses three phase male and female inductive couplers (110 as within 120, paragraph 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the couplers of Beck et al. as three phase as taught by Pihl, in order to provide appropriate power to a three phase motor (such as in Pihl, paragraph 23) and since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claim 14, Beck et al. disclose wherein the 3-phase female inductive coupler (as modified) is coupled to a production tubing (as in fig 9 as coupled with 9902) and the 3-phase male inductive coupler is coupled to an electric submersible pump (as in fig 9, 914).
In regard to claim 15, Beck et al. disclose the male inductive coupler comprising a bore therethrough (as shown in fig 9, and necessary to move fluids from pump uphole).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pihl in view of Pichery et al. (US 6,644,403).
In regard to claim 16, Pihl discloses all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 13 above, except for the female inductive coupler comprising three cavities, each housing a partial magnetic circuit, and a metallic barrier sealing each cavity to provide a fluid and gas barrier to the partial magnetic circuit, although Pihl does disclose that the female coupler comprises three partial magnetic circuits (121-123 as in fig 2). Pichery et al. disclose a system comprising a female inductive coupler (9A) comprising a cavity (as in sealed enclosure, col. 6, lines 1-13) housing a partial magnetic circuit, and a metallic barrier (95A, col. 6, lines 27-32) sealing the cavity to provide a fluid and gas barrier to the partial magnetic circuit (as disclosed as sealed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to substitute the inductive coupling structure as taught by Pihl for that of PIchery et al., as including each circuit within a separate cavity sealed with a metallic barrier, since combing prior art element according to known techniques to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claim 17, Pihl discloses all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 13 above, except for the male inductive coupler comprising three cavities, each housing a partial magnetic circuit, and a metallic barrier sealing each cavity to provide a fluid and gas barrier to the partial magnetic circuit, although Pihl does disclose that the male coupler comprises three partial magnetic circuits (111-113 as in fig 2). Pichery et al. disclose a system comprising a male inductive coupler (9B) comprising a cavity (as in sealed enclosure, col. 6, lines 1-13) housing a partial magnetic circuit, and a metallic barrier (95B, col. 6, lines 27-32) sealing the cavity to provide a fluid and gas barrier to the partial magnetic circuit (as disclosed as sealed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to substitute the inductive coupling structure as taught by Pihl for that of PIchery et al., as including each circuit within a separate cavity sealed with a metallic barrier, since combing prior art element according to known techniques to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Obermeyer et al. (US 2023/0335943) also disclose a 3 phase male/female inductive coupler system (as in fig 11, at least).
/D. ANDREWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
10/7/2026