DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
All claims were reviewed for compliance with 35 U.S.C. §112 and 35 U.S.C. §101 (as set forth in MPEP 2106).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 28 May 2025 claims 1-5, 7, and 8. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozono, WO 2020/179315. Referring to claim 1, Ozono discloses an authentication system including a face authentication device that includes a processor, and a storage unit storing a control program executed by the processor (Page 11, first full paragraph), which meets the limitation of a terminal comprising at least one memory storing a set of instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions. The face authentication device receives a face verification response from a verification server, which was selected from among a group of servers (Page 9, first paragraph), that indicates the success of a face authentication process (Page 29, third to last paragraph: face authentication device reads on the claimed terminal; verification server reads on the claimed service server), which meets the limitation of receive, from a service server of a service provider selected by a user from among a plurality of service providers and having succeeded in biometric authentication of the user, an authentication success notification. Once authentication has been performed, the authentication history stored on the face authentication device is updated (Page 11, second full paragraph & Page 11, last paragraph – Page 12, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of perform control related to a history of successful biometric authentication by the service provider, in accordance with reception of the authentication success notification.
Referring to claim 2, Ozono discloses that the verification response includes the matching result, a matching score, and a user code (Page 27, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of the authentication success notification includes detailed information of an authentication processing that has been successfully performed by the service provider, and a status of authentication information used for the biometric authentication by the service provider. Once authentication has been performed, the authentication history stored on the face authentication device is updated (Page 11, second full paragraph & Page 11, last paragraph – Page 12, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to generate a history related to the biometric authentication of the user by storing the detailed information of the authentication processing and the status of the authentication information.
Referring to claim 7, Ozono discloses an authentication system include a face authentication device that includes a processor, and a storage unit storing a control program executed by the processor (Page 11, first full paragraph), which meets the limitation of a system comprising a terminal owned by the user, wherein the terminal comprising at least one memory storing a set of instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions. The face authentication device receives a face verification response from a verification server, which was selected from among a group of servers (Page 9, first paragraph), that indicates the success of a face authentication process (Page 29, third to last paragraph: face authentication device reads on the claimed terminal; verification server reads on the claimed service server), which meets the limitation of a service server of a service provider selected by a user from among a plurality of service providers and having succeeded in biometric authentication of the user, receive an authentication success notification from the service server. Once authentication has been performed, the authentication history stored on the face authentication device is updated (Page 11, second full paragraph & Page 11, last paragraph – Page 12, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of perform control related to a history of successful biometric authentication by the service provider, in accordance with reception of the authentication success notification.
Referring to claim 8, Ozono discloses that a registration device acquires the captured face image data such that the face image data is provided to the server to register the user face image (Page 5, first paragraph – third paragraph: registration device reads on the claimed control server), which meets the limitation of a control server performing management related to the biometric authentication for each of the plurality of service providers. The face authentication device receives a face verification response from a verification server, which was selected from among a group of servers (Page 9, first paragraph: Examiner notes that the source of the notification does not receive patentable weight because the functional requirement of the claim is met in that the terminal receives the notification. Such notification receipt is functionally performed by the claimed terminal in the same manner irregardless of the notification source), that indicates the success of a face authentication process (Page 29), which meets the limitation of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to receive the authentication success notification via the control server.
Referring to claim 9, Ozono discloses an authentication system include a face authentication device that receives a face verification response from a verification server, which was selected from among a group of servers (Page 9, first paragraph), that indicates the success of a face authentication process (Page 29, third to last paragraph: face authentication device reads on the claimed terminal; verification server reads on the claimed service server), which meets the limitation of receiving, from a service server of a service provider selected by a user from among a plurality of service providers and having succeeded in biometric authentication of the user, an authentication success notification. Once authentication has been performed, the authentication history stored on the face authentication device is updated (Page 11, second full paragraph & Page 11, last paragraph – Page 12, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of performing control related to a history of successful biometric authentication by the service provider, in accordance with reception of the authentication success notification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozono, WO 2020/179315, in view of Bin Shamsuddin, WO 2020/231249.
Referring to claim 3, Ozono discloses that the face authentication device displays an indication of the matching result (Figure 18C & Page 29, second fully paragraph), which meets the limitation of the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to display a message including [the detailed information of the authentication processing and] the status of the authentication information, each time the authentication success notification is received.
Ozono does not specify display the matching score and user code. Bin Shamsuddin discloses an authentication verification display that includes a verification result along with a matching score and user id (Page 16, lines 21-25), which meets the limitation of the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to display a message including the detailed information of the authentication processing and the status of the authentication information, each time the authentication success notification is received. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the displayed information of Ozono to have included the matching score and user code because Bin Shamsuddin suggests that such a display embodiment represents one of a finite number of possible display embodiments that could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success (Bin Shamsuddin: Page 16, lines 21-25).
Referring to claim 4, Ozono discloses that the authentication history information can be displayed (Page 12, last paragraph – Page 13, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to display the history related to the biometric authentication stored, in accordance with a predetermined operation performed by the user.
Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozono, WO 2020/179315.
Referring to claim 5, Ozono discloses that the face authentication machine acquires a face image of user using a camera (Page 4, second to last paragraph) such that the face image of the user is stored in a storage unit (Page 28, first full paragraph & Page 26, last full paragraph), which meets the limitation of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to store original biometric information, which serves as an original source of the authentication information used for the biometric authentication. A registration device acquires the captured face image data such that the face image data is provided to the server to register the user face image (Page 5, first paragraph – third paragraph: registration device reads on the claimed control server), which meets the limitation of transmit, [in response to a request from a control server] performing a management related to the biometric authentication for each of the plurality of service providers, the stored original biometric information to the service server of the service provider selected by the user, via the control server.
Ozono does not specify the registration device acquisition was the result of a push or pull operation. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for registration device of Ozono to have acquired the face image from the face authentication device in response to a request by the registration device for the face image because face image acquisition as a result of a pull operation represents one of a finite number of possible implementations that could have been utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to claim 6, Ozono discloses that the face image data is utilized to extract facial features for comparison against the registered face image data (Page 26, last paragraph – Page 27, first paragraph), which meets the limitation of wherein the original biometric information is a face image, and the authentication information is a feature value generated from the face image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xia, U.S. Patent No. 10,657,242, discloses a proximity-based access control system utilizing multiple authentication factors such as biometrics.
Hammad, U.S. Patent No. 11,574,312, discloses a secure authentication that utilizes authentication histories.
Fisher, U.S. Publication No. 2015/0120560, discloses transaction processing that utilizes authentication histories.
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437