DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 8/19/2026. Claims 19-36 remain pending. Claims 19 and 36 have been amended. Claims 37 and 38 are new. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite wherein each solenoid valve has a respective opening arranged in the at least one central supply line has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection over Schwarz have not been found persuasive. A new interpretation of Schwarz as stated below in the 102 rejection teaches each and every limitation including wherein each solenoid valve has a respective opening arranged in the at least one central supply line.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 20, 22-28, 30, 31, 34, 35, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwarz et al. (DE 102008060342, hereafter “Schwarz”).
Regarding claim 19, Schwarz discloses a solenoid valve unit (1) configured to distribute a pressurized fluid to individual cleaning points of a device, comprising: at least four solenoid valves (13) each having an electromagnet (14) and each being fluidically connectable via an associated outlet to one of the cleaning points (44); and a housing (12) having at least one central supply line (8, 8a, 8b, 8c) with at least one fluid inlet (45) configured to provide the pressurized fluid in the supply line, wherein the solenoid valves are joined to the housing transversely with respect to the supply line, wherein each solenoid valve has a respective opening arranged in the at least one central supply line (as shown best in Fig. 7), wherein two solenoid valves, which lie opposite each other and are arranged transversely with respect to the at least one central supply line and between which the at least one central supply line is located, form a modularly extended pair of solenoid valves (Figs. 1 and 2), a common housing portion (the portion of 12 that joins each 13 together) of which is extended either at one end or at both ends of the at least one central supply line by a housing section of a further pair of solenoid valves by a joining connection and/or an integrally bonded connection (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the individual solenoid valves are joined/connected to the housing by a joining connection and/or integrally bonded connection. (the solenoids are connected to the housing by a joining connection)
Regarding claim 22, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein a flow can pass through an electromagnet assigned to one of the outlets transversely with respect to the supply line via an associated outlet opening of the supply line. (as shown in Figs. 7-13)
Regarding claim 23, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 22, wherein the outlet opening is arranged coaxially to a passage line (the passage line leading to 44), through which the fluid can pass, through the electromagnet. (Fig. 13)
Regarding claim 24, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein a flow can pass through the electromagnets in each case via an internal valve piston, which acts as a closure body, with a passage line. (note that this is a functional limitation that the system of Schwarz is capable of doing. Therefore the limitation is met)
Regarding claim 25, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 24, wherein a spring (24) extends from the associated electromagnet into this passage line, via which spring the valve piston in an unenergized state of the electromagnet is applied preloaded against an associated outlet opening of the supply line and fluidically sealingly closes said outlet opening. (Fig. 13)
Regarding claim 26, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 25, wherein the passage line forks toward a closure section (the base section of the valve piston that contacts the valve seat) of the valve piston into at least two line sections around the closure section, wherein the closure section together with associated housing sections of the solenoid valve unit forms said line sections. (Fig. 13; see how the flow can spread around the internal cavity of the valve around where the piston moves within)
Regarding claim 27, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 26, wherein the closure section is formed rotationally symmetrically at least in sections for fluidically tight closing of the associated outlet opening of the supply line. (Fig. 13)
Regarding claim 28, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 27, wherein the valve piston is formed from a magnetic material. (para. [0046])
Regarding claim 30, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the solenoid valve unit has a central circuit board for contacting the individual electromagnets. (para. [0040])
Regarding claim 31, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the solenoid valve unit has at least one fluid delivery unit for providing the pressurized fluid. (para. [0061])
Regarding claim 34, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein at least one of the solenoid valves is not fluidically connected to any of the cleaning points of a vehicle, in order, in event of icing of the fluid in the central supply line, to enable a pressure equalization toward an environment. (Abstract)
Regarding claim 35, Schwarz discloses a cleaning device (Fig. 1) for a vehicle having a solenoid valve unit comprising: at least four solenoid valves (13) each having an electromagnet (14) and each being fluidically connectable via an associated outlet to one of a plurality of cleaning points (44); and a housing (12) having at least one central supply line (8, 8a, 8b, 8c) with at least one fluid inlet (45) configured to provide a pressurized fluid in the supply line, wherein the solenoid valves are joined to the housing transversely with respect to the supply line, wherein each solenoid valve has a respective input arranged in the at least one central supply line (as shown best in Fig. 7), wherein two solenoid valves, which lie opposite each other and are arranged transversely with respect to the at least one central supply line and between which the at least one central supply line is located, form a modularly extended pair of solenoid valves (Figs. 1 and 2), a common housing portion (the portion of 12 that joins each 13 together) of which is extended either at one end or at both ends of the at least one central supply line by a housing section of a further pair of solenoid valves by a joining connection and/or an integrally bonded connection (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 37, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the respective input for each two solenoid valves, which lie opposite each are arranged transversely with respect to the at least one central supply line. (Fig. 7)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz.
Regarding claim 21, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 20, but fails to disclose wherein the joining connection is a bayonet connection.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection between the solenoid and the housing of Schwarz to be a bayonet connection since the equivalence of a bayonet connection and any other connection between a solenoid and housing is recognized for their use in the solenoid valve art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a known connection that is simple, easy to use, and cost effective.
Regarding claim 32, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 31, but fails to disclose wherein the solenoid valve unit has at least one first fluid delivery unit and a second fluid delivery unit for providing the pressurized fluid.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the solenoid valve unit of Schwarz to include a first and second fluid delivery unit and arrange them in any manner including a series or parallel arrangement since a mere duplication of essential working part of device and rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide multiple fluid delivery units in the event that one of them fails.
Regarding claim 33, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 32, wherein the fluid delivery units are arranged fluidically in series and/or parallel to each other. (as modified above)
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz in view of Borgmeier (US 2004/0251584).
Regarding claim 29, Schwarz further discloses the solenoid valve unit as claimed in claim 28, but fails to disclose wherein the valve piston is formed from a plastic with magnetic particles, which plastic is connected to the closure section in an integrally bonded manner.
Borgmeier teaches a valve (14) is formed from a plastic with magnetic particles, which plastic is connected to the closure section in an integrally bonded manner. (para. [0053]; Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the valve piston of Schwarz to be made of plastic with magnetic particles since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a material that is durable and cost effective.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz in view of Albrecht et al. (US 2020/0317160, hereafter “Albrecht”).
Regarding claim 36, Schwarz discloses a cleaning device having a solenoid valve unit (1) comprising: at least four solenoid valves (13) each having an electromagnet (14) and each being fluidically connectable via an associated outlet to one of a plurality of cleaning points (44); and a housing (12) having at least one central supply line (8, 8a, 8b, 8c) with at least one fluid inlet (45) configured to provide a pressurized fluid in the supply line, wherein the solenoid valves are joined to the housing transversely with respect to the supply line, wherein each solenoid valve has a respective input arranged in the at least one central supply line (as shown best in Fig. 7), wherein two solenoid valves, which lie opposite each other and are arranged transversely with respect to the at least one central supply line and between which the at least one central supply line is located, form a modularly extended pair of solenoid valves (Figs. 1 and 2), a common housing portion (the portion of 12 that joins each 13 together) of which is extended either at one end or at both ends of the at least one central supply line by a housing section of a further pair of solenoid (see Figs. 1-4), but fails to disclose the cleaning device is for a vehicle.
Albrecht teaches a vehicle having a cleaning device having a solenoid valve unit. (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the device of Schwarz to be used for a vehicle as taught by Albrecht for the purpose of utilizing a solenoid valve unit of Schwarz in an alternative system such as a vehicle in which solenoid valve units are known and desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753