DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of PCT/KR2023/022023, International Filing Date: 12/29/2023, claims foreign priority to Indian patent application 202341000118, filed 01/02/2023, claims foreign priority to Indian patent application 2023 41000118, filed 12/05/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “indicating at least one no recommendation should be given”. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what the applicant intended to limit by “one no recommendation…”. The examiner suggests rephrasing the limitation to make it clear.
As to claims 5, 9 and 13, the claims are also rejected for the same reason of claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, the claim additionally recites the limitations “of the starting time attribute, the stopping time attribute, or the scope associated with the analytics”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
As to the claim(s) that are dependent on claim(s) 1, 5, 9 or 13, the dependent claim(s) are also rejected under 112(b) for the same reason of their base claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khare et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230065199 A1).
As to claim 1, Khare teaches a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) consumer in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a filter associated with a list of distinguished names (DNs) indicating at least one no recommendation should be given (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc. from the MDAS MnS producer 502 for a particular NF or NF chain providing the range of timers and the flow ID” and paragraph [0177]);
transmitting, to a MDA producer, a request message including the filter (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc…”); and
receiving, from the MDA producer, as a response to the request message, a report message including at least one recommendation identified based on the filter (paragraph [0176], “…The output may be provided when the conditions (e.g. the reporting times, filters etc.) set by the OAM are met. The output may comprise one or more recommended timer adjustments for one or more timers associated with a NF or site or inter-site communications …” and fig. 5).
As to claim 2, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one of a starting time attribute, a stopping time attribute, or a scope associated with an analytics (paragraph [0110], “NF1 sends a service request to NF2 and starts e.g. 5 seconds this timer ”).
As to claim 3, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one disallowed management object instance (MOI) (paragraph [0162], “the request may comprise a Management Object Instance (MOI). The MOI contain different parameters which may enable the OAM 500 to request the particular capabilities of the analytics”).
As to claim 5, Khare teaches a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) producer in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a MDA consumer, a request message including a filter associated with a list of distinguished names (DNs) indicating at least one no recommendation should be given (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc. from the MDAS MnS producer 502 for a particular NF or NF chain providing the range of timers and the flow ID” and paragraph [0177]);
identifying at least one recommendation based on the filter (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc…”); and
transmitting, to the MDA producer, as a response to the request message, a report message including the at least one recommendation (paragraph [0176], “…The output may be provided when the conditions (e.g. the reporting times, filters etc.) set by the OAM are met. The output may comprise one or more recommended timer adjustments for one or more timers associated with a NF or site or inter-site communications …” and fig. 5).
As to claim 6, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one of a starting time attribute, a stopping time attribute, or a scope associated with an analytics (paragraph [0110], “NF1 sends a service request to NF2 and starts e.g. 5 seconds this timer ”).
As to claim 7, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one disallowed management object instance (MOI) (paragraph [0162], “the request may comprise a Management Object Instance (MOI). The MOI contain different parameters which may enable the OAM 500 to request the particular capabilities of the analytics”).
As to claim 9, Khare teaches A management data analytics (MDA) consumer in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (fig. 3), the controller configured to:
identify a filter associated with a list of distinguished names (DNs) indicating at least one no recommendation should be given (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc. from the MDAS MnS producer 502 for a particular NF or NF chain providing the range of timers and the flow ID” and paragraph [0177]),
transmit, to a MDA producer, a request message including the filter (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc…”), and
receive, from the MDA producer, as a response to the request message, a report message including at least one recommendation identified based on the filter (paragraph [0176], “…The output may be provided when the conditions (e.g. the reporting times, filters etc.) set by the OAM are met. The output may comprise one or more recommended timer adjustments for one or more timers associated with a NF or site or inter-site communications …” and fig. 5).
As to claim 10, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one of a starting time attribute, a stopping time attribute, or a scope associated with an analytics (paragraph [0110], “NF1 sends a service request to NF2 and starts e.g. 5 seconds this timer ”).
As to claim 11, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one disallowed management object instance (MOI) (paragraph [0162], “the request may comprise a Management Object Instance (MOI). The MOI contain different parameters which may enable the OAM 500 to request the particular capabilities of the analytics”).
As to claim 13, Khare teaches A management data analytics (MDA) producer in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (fig. 3), the controller configured to:
receive, from a MDA consumer, a request message including a filter associated with a list of distinguished names (DNs) indicating at least one no recommendation should be given (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc. from the MDAS MnS producer 502 for a particular NF or NF chain providing the range of timers and the flow ID” and paragraph [0177]),
identify at least one recommendation based on the filter (paragraph [0161], “the MDAS consumer, which may be the OAM 500, may request analytics with particular conditions. The conditions may for example include particular reporting times, filters etc…”), and
transmit, to the MDA consumer, as a response to the request message, a report message including the at least one recommendation (paragraph [0176], “…The output may be provided when the conditions (e.g. the reporting times, filters etc.) set by the OAM are met. The output may comprise one or more recommended timer adjustments for one or more timers associated with a NF or site or inter-site communications …” and fig. 5).
As to claim 14, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one of a starting time attribute, a stopping time attribute, or a scope associated with an analytics (paragraph [0110], “NF1 sends a service request to NF2 and starts e.g. 5 seconds this timer”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230065199 A1) in view of ETSI TS 128 536 V14.4.1 (“TS” hereinafter, TS was cited in the IDS dated 4/17/2026).
As to claim 4, Khare does not explicitly teach attributes determined based on assurance goal.
However, in the same field of endeavor (communication networks) TS teaches at least one of the starting time attribute, the stopping time attribute, or the scope associated with the analytics is determined based on an assurance goal (pg. 17, “observationTime”).
Based on Khare in view of TS, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate attributes determined based on assurance goal (taught by TS) with network data analytics (taught by Khare) in order to continuously deliver the requested level of communication service quality to the consumer as motivated by TS (pg. 6).
As to claims 8, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 4. Please refer to claim 4 above
As to claims 12, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 4. Please refer to claim 4 above
As to claim 15, Khare teaches wherein the request message further includes at least one disallowed management object instance (MOI) (paragraph [0162], “the request may comprise a Management Object Instance (MOI). The MOI contain different parameters which may enable the OAM 500 to request the particular capabilities of the analytics”).
Khare does not explicitly teach attributes determined based on assurance goal.
However, in the same field of endeavor (communication networks) TS teaches at least one of the starting time attribute, the stopping time attribute, or the scope associated with the analytics is determined based on an assurance goal (pg. 17, “observationTime”).
Based on Khare in view of TS, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate attributes determined based on assurance goal (taught by TS) with network data analytics (taught by Khare) in order to continuously deliver the requested level of communication service quality to the consumer as motivated by TS (pg. 6).
Conclusion
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 7/25/2026