DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22, 24-28 are pending in Instant Application.
Claims 16-23, 29-30 are cancelled
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCT/CN2023/074195 filed 02/02/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2025, 05/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-14, 15, 24-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHAO et al., “SHAO” (WO 2021031662).
As per Claim 1, SHAO discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting a backscatter capability report to a network node that includes one or more backscatter modulation capabilities of the UE (SHAO, “a backscatter communication method, including: a first device obtains a reference transmit power and a power offset value, the power offset value is determined according to the capability of the electronic tag device”, “a backscatter communication method, including: a first device obtains the power control capability of a tag device; sending power control parameters to the tag device, and the power control parameters are used for the tag device to adjust the reflected power.” ), the one or more backscatter modulation capabilities including one or more frequency shift capabilities for frequency shifting a reflected signal using backscatter modulation (SHAO, “Regarding the modulation mode from the tag device to the receiver device, there are different modulation formats according to different tag capabilities. The supported modulation formats include amplitude shift keying (ASK), frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), etc. Generally speaking, due to the low cost of Tag equipment, the implementation is relatively simple, and the energy is limited, only simple or low-level modulation can be achieved”); and
communicating with the network node using backscatter modulation based at least in part on the one or more backscatter modulation capabilities of the UE indicated in the backscatter capability report (SHAO, “provides a backscatter communication method, including: a first device obtains the power control capability of a tag device; sending power control parameters to the tag device, and the power control parameters are used for the tag device to adjust the reflected power. By adjusting the reflected power, the reflected power from multiple Tag devices to the second device is controllable, thereby increasing the success rate of signal demodulation and reducing mutual interference between Tag devices”).
With respect to Claim 15, 24, 28 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a signal that triggers the backscatter capability report, and wherein the transmitting is responsive to the signal (SHAO, “when a trigger condition occurs, the Tag device may adjust the reflected power according to the adjustment step size of the power reflection factor. Wherein, the trigger condition may include that the Tag device receives the same instruction sent by the first device, for example, the instruction may be ACK/NACK, etc., indicating that under the previous power reflection factor, the information transmission failed, and the power reflection factor needs to be adjusted to reset Send the signal”).
With respect to Claim 25 is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 3, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the backscatter capability report indicates one or more of whether frequency shifting is supported at the UE, an amount of a frequency shift that is supported at the UE, two or more discrete frequency shifts that are supported at the UE, a double-side frequency shift capability, a single-side frequency shift capability, or any combinations thereof (SHAO, “Regarding the modulation mode from the tag device to the receiver device, there are different modulation formats according to different tag capabilities. The supported modulation formats include amplitude shift keying (ASK), frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), etc. Generally speaking, due to the low cost of Tag equipment, the implementation is relatively simple, and the energy is limited, only simple or low-level modulation can be achieved”).
With respect to Claim 26 is substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 4, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, subsequent to the transmitting the backscatter capability report, an interrogation signal that initiates backscatter modulated communications based on the one or more frequency shift capabilities of the UE, and wherein the communicating with the network node is responsive to the interrogation signal (SHAO, “a backscatter communication method, including: a first device obtains a reference transmit power and a power offset value, the power offset value is determined according to the capability of the electronic tag device; according to the reference The transmit power and power offset value determine the transmit power of the excitation signal sent to the Tag device; according to the transmit power of the excitation signal, the excitation signal is sent to the Tag device. Determine the transmit power of the excitation signal through the ability of the Tag device to improve the accuracy of the transmit power of the excitation signal, thereby ensuring the received power of the Tag device and the received signal-to-noise ratio of the second device, improving the signal demodulation performance and saving power consumption .”).
As per Claim 7, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the backscatter capability report further includes a requested amount of power of an interrogation signal from the network node for performing backscatter modulation with a frequency shift (SHAO, “the power offset value is determined according to the capability of the first device. Determine the power offset value through the ability of the first device to improve the accuracy of the transmission power of the excitation signal, thereby ensuring the received power of the Tag device and the received signal-to-noise ratio of the second device, improving the signal demodulation performance and saving power consumption .”).
As per Claim 9, SHAO discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the backscatter capability report further indicates one or more parameters associated with a frequency or clock stability, an expected offset between the frequency or clock and an interrogation signal frequency, or any combinations thereof (SHAO, “the power offset value is determined according to the capability of the first device. Determine the power offset value through the ability of the first device to improve the accuracy of the transmission power of the excitation signal, thereby ensuring the received power of the Tag device and the received signal-to-noise ratio of the second device, improving the signal demodulation performance and saving power consumption .”).
As per Claim 11, SHAO discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the backscatter capability report further indicates, for frequency shifting using the local oscillator, one or more of a phase noise class or the expected offset associated with generating the sinusoidal wave (SHAO, “the power offset value is determined according to the capability of the first device. Determine the power offset value through the ability of the first device to improve the accuracy of the transmission power of the excitation signal, thereby ensuring the received power of the Tag device and the received signal-to-noise ratio of the second device, improving the signal demodulation performance and saving power consumption .”).
As per Claim 12, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an indication of one or more frequency shift parameters for the communicating with the network node (SHAO, “The supported modulation formats include amplitude shift keying (ASK), frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), etc.”, “a backscatter communication method, including: a Tag device receives a power control parameter sent by a first device; the Tag device adjusts the reflected power according to the power control parameter. By adjusting the reflected power, the reflected power from multiple Tag devices to the second device is controllable, thereby increasing the success rate of signal demodulation and reducing mutual interference between Tag devices.” ).
As per Claim 13, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the backscatter capability report indicates a frequency hopping capability of the UE for frequency shifting the reflected signal from the UE using backscatter modulation (SHAO, “the first device hops and sends the excitation signal according to a fixed frequency pattern, and the first frequency and the second frequency in the frequency pattern”, “in backscatter communication, since the excitation signal is usually a narrowband signal, there is a problem of performance degradation due to frequency selective fading. In order to reduce the influence of frequency selective fading and improve uplink performance, a frequency hopping transmission scheme is often used to obtain frequency selective gain.”).
As per Claim 14, SHAO discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the frequency hopping capability includes an indication of one or more of a switching gap time supported at the UE, a number of frequency hops supported at the UE, one or more hopping patterns supported at the UE, or any combinations thereof (SHAO, “if the second device does not receive the reflected signal of the Tag device for N consecutive times, the second device instructs the first device to switch to the next frequency point to send the excitation signal, the current frequency point and the next frequency point”, “the first device switches the frequency point and repeatedly sends the excitation signal, and the next frequency point and the current frequency point”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 10, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAO et al., “SHAO” (WO 2021031662) in view of CUI et al., “hereinafter CUI” (U.S. Patent Application: 20250287345).
As per Claim 5, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1,
however SHAO does not disclose the backscatter capability report indicates that a frequency shift capability at the UE is enabled or disabled.
CUI discloses the backscatter capability report indicates that a frequency shift capability at the UE is enabled or disabled (CUI, Para.383, the target device may transmit a first indication message to an anchor device, and the first indication message is used to indicate whether to enable or disable frequency shifting, or used to indicate a way to perform backscatter communication or a frequency shifting processing approach, such as performing backscatter based on an original frequency of a carrier signal or before performing backscatter performing frequency shifting on a frequency of a carrier signal first. Optionally, in a case where the anchor device does not receive indication information transmitted by the target device, the anchor device is implicitly indicated not to perform frequency shifting, or in other words, to disable frequency shifting.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in SHAO with the teachings as in CUI. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a wireless communication method which includes: receiving, by a target device, a plurality of backscatter signals transmitted by each of a plurality of anchor devices, where the plurality of backscatter signals have different frequencies; and determining distance information between the target device and each anchor device according to phase information of the plurality of backscatter signals transmitted by each anchor device, where the distance information between the target device and the plurality of anchor devices is used to determine location information of the target device. (CUI, Para.5).
As per Claim 6, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1,
however SHAO does not disclose determining one or more of an energy state or an available power at the UE; and requesting to disable communications with the network node using frequency shifted backscatter modulation based at least in part on one or more of the energy state or the available power at the UE.
CUI discloses determining one or more of an energy state or an available power at the UE; and requesting to disable communications with the network node using frequency shifted backscatter modulation based at least in part on one or more of the energy state or the available power at the UE (CUI, Para.383, the target device may transmit a first indication message to an anchor device, and the first indication message is used to indicate whether to enable or disable frequency shifting, or used to indicate a way to perform backscatter communication or a frequency shifting processing approach, such as performing backscatter based on an original frequency of a carrier signal or before performing backscatter performing frequency shifting on a frequency of a carrier signal first. Optionally, in a case where the anchor device does not receive indication information transmitted by the target device, the anchor device is implicitly indicated not to perform frequency shifting, or in other words, to disable frequency shifting.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining SHAO and CUI as set forth in claim 5 is equally applicable to claim 6.
With respect to Claim 27 is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 8, SHAO discloses the method of claim 1,
however SHAO does not disclose the backscatter capability report indicates that the UE performs frequency shifting of the reflected signal from the UE using a square wave generated at the UE or a sinusoidal wave generated using a local oscillator of the UE
CUI discloses the backscatter capability report indicates that the UE performs frequency shifting of the reflected signal from the UE using a square wave generated at the UE or a sinusoidal wave generated using a local oscillator of the UE (CUI, Para.122, In terms of waveform, the radio wave used as a carrier signal may be a sine wave, a square wave, a triangle wave, a pulse, a rectangular wave, or the like).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining SHAO and CUI as set forth in claim 5 is equally applicable to claim 8.
As per Claim 10, SHAO discloses the method of claim 9,
however SHAO does not disclose wherein the backscatter capability report further indicates, for frequency shifting using the square wave, one or more of a jitter range or the expected offset associated with generating the square wave.
CUI discloses the backscatter capability report further indicates, for frequency shifting using the square wave, one or more of a jitter range or the expected offset associated with generating the square wave (CUI, Para.122, In terms of waveform, the radio wave used as a carrier signal may be a sine wave, a square wave, a triangle wave, a pulse, a rectangular wave, or the like).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining SHAO and CUI as set forth in claim 5 is equally applicable to claim 10.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449