Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tada (JP H08332423; translation attached) in view of Braun (US 3447551).
Regarding claim 1, Tada discloses a unit for upright and inverted attitudes (item 20, figure 1) attached to a cylinder part (item 113, figure 1) of a discharge device (item 10, figure 1), the unit for upright and inverted attitudes comprising:
an upright-attitude inlet (items 24 and 22, figures 1 and 2) into which a content liquid in a container main body (item 14, figure 1) is able to be introduced into a content liquid inlet (item 144, figure 1) during an upright attitude of the discharge device (figure 1; ¶ [0037]);
an inverted-attitude inlet (items 34 and 134, figures 3 and 4) into which the content liquid in the container main body is able to be introduced into the content liquid inlet during an inverted attitude of the discharge device (figure 3; ¶ [0038]);
a relay port (intermediate portion of item 24, item 26, figure 1; ¶ [0032]) that is able to communicate with the content liquid inlet (¶ [0037]), the upright-attitude inlet (¶ [0035]), and the inverted-attitude inlet (¶ [0038]);
a first switching (item 28, figure 1) abutting an upright-attitude valve seat (item 32, figure 1) and configured to cut off communication between the inverted-attitude inlet and the relay port during the upright attitude of the discharge device (¶ [0036]);
a second switching valve (item 29, figure 1) abutting an inverted-attitude valve seat (item 33, figure 1) and configured to cut off communication between the upright-attitude inlet and the relay port during the inverted attitude of the discharge device (¶ [0038]);
at least one prevention part of a first prevention part and a second prevention part (item 30, figure 1).
However, Tada does not expressly disclose the second prevention part being configured to prevent the first switching valve from entering a second path.
Braun discloses an upside-down aerosol dispensing valve (figure 1) wherein a second prevention part (end of item 32, sealed by item 38, figure 6; col. 3, lines 30-36) configured to prevent the first switching valve (item 40, figure 6) from entering a second through which the content liquid is directed toward the relay port path (item 48, figure 1) from the inverted-attitude inlet (item 44, figure 1) during the inverted attitude of the discharge device (figure 6; col. 4, lines 12-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to modify the second prevention part of Tada to be configured to prevent the first switching valve from entering a second path as taught by Braun in order to prevent flowing liquid from lifting the valve towards its seat or cause it to flutter (see Braun col. 4, lines 28-33).
Regarding claim 4, Tada discloses the unit for upright and inverted attitudes according to claim 1, but is silent on an escape recess.
Braun discloses a second escape recess (item 64, figure 6) being configured to allow the first switching valve (item 40, figure 6) to enter therein (col. 4, lines 12-16) and separate the first switching valve from the second path on a side opposite to the upright-attitude valve seat (col. 4, lines 28-33) and in a direction crossing an opening direction of the inverted-attitude inlet during the inverted attitude of the discharge device (figure 6; col. 3, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to modify the unit for upright and inverted attitudes of Tada to include an escape recess as taught by Braun in order to keep the first switching valve out of the flow path from the inverted-attitude inlet to prevent flowing liquid from lifting the valve towards its seat or cause it to flutter.
Regarding claim 5, Tada discloses the unit for upright and inverted attitudes according to claim 1, wherein
the upright-attitude valve seat is directed upward (item 32, figure 1; ¶ [0036]),
the inverted-attitude valve seat is directed downward (item 33, figure 1; ¶ [0035]).
However, Tada is silent on the at least one prevention part is formed in a tubular shape extending in the upward/downward direction.
Braun discloses the at least one prevention part is formed in a tubular shape extending in the upward/downward direction (item 32, figure 1) and faces at least one valve seat … in the upward/downward direction (item 36, figure 1), and at least one switching valve (item 40, figure 6) enters an inside of the eat least one prevention part and is accommodated therein when the at least one switching valve is separated from the at least one valve seat in the upward/downward direction (col. 4, lines 12-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to form the second prevention part of Tada as a tubular shape extending in the upward/downward direction as taught by Braun in order to keep the first switching valve out of the flow path from the inverted-attitude inlet to prevent flowing liquid from lifting the valve towards its seat or cause it to flutter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-3 and 6-8 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record do not teach a unit for upright and inverted attitudes comprising “the first prevention part … protrudes upward from a top wall of the covering portion” as within context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record do not teach a unit for upright and inverted attitudes comprising “a guide portion configured to guide the second switching valve attempting to enter the inlet portion toward a back surface of the first prevention part” as within context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record do not teach a unit for upright and inverted attitudes comprising “the first prevention part is provided at a position facing the inverted-attitude valve seat in the upward/downward direction and where the second switching valve enters thereinto and is accommodated therein during the upright attitude of the discharge device” as within context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art.
/NOAH JACOB ARIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 October 23, 2026